English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 August 2019, 16:44   #101
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
How come the oscillator is disabled? I did it the same as Commodore they have the tristate pin connected to ground? or was that a mistake in their schematics?

Yeah the schematics I did aren't pretty but I went for function over appearance, I'm better at laying out.

About the RTC but if you look at the schematics and footprint on the PCB's they expect 20 pins whereas the chips themselves are 18pin and some of the pins are mixed up... although the fact they didn't fix it later suggests you're right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xyzzy1 View Post
How far do the power and ground planes protrude in to the edge connector?
The ground goes nearly all the way in, I routed power manually. Why?

Last edited by Mick; 21 August 2019 at 17:00.
Mick is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 17:10   #102
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
The only problem with "A600 reborn" is it sounds like it's finished lol, I'm not even sure if it will fit inside a case without issues at this point. I'll end up with a pitch fork waving mob after me if someone spends a few hundred quid on PCB's and there's an oversight with dimensions or hole diameters or AmigaPCB was just inaccurate. The whole point of releasing it is so people can build on what I've done and/or fix any mistakes, basically to encourage more development because they don't have to do all of the donkey work and can just be creative instead. I don't have any problem with people using my work if it's for the good of the community and not just personal profit (by selling extortionately priced PCB's).

Last edited by Mick; 21 August 2019 at 17:27.
Mick is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 19:58   #103
xyzzy1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
The ground goes nearly all the way in, I routed power manually. Why?
I remember reading something about the inner power planes being shorted when the edge connector is bevelled. Checking assorted cards I have lying around, some have no power plane in the edge connector area, others have it coming out only half-way.
xyzzy1 is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 20:05   #104
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
i didn't know that I just figured the extra copper inside would give the connector more strength, if it's confirmed I'll fix it. I'm sort of learning on the job.
Mick is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 20:45   #105
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick View Post
The only problem with "A600 reborn" is it sounds like it's finished lol, I'm not even sure if it will fit inside a case without issues at this point. I'll end up with a pitch fork waving mob after me if someone spends a few hundred quid on PCB's and there's an oversight with dimensions or hole diameters or AmigaPCB was just inaccurate. The whole point of releasing it is so people can build on what I've done and/or fix any mistakes, basically to encourage more development because they don't have to do all of the donkey work and can just be creative instead. I don't have any problem with people using my work if it's for the good of the community and not just personal profit (by selling extortionately priced PCB's).

for 5 boards, 4 layer the cost would be ~$100 CAD total and then add shipping and custom fees, (10 boards would be ~$140 totaal). 2 layer would be ~$45 CAD total for 5 board

edit; price is based on bard size ~ 330mm x 200mm

Last edited by kipper2k; 21 August 2019 at 20:53.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 23:19   #106
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
for 5 boards, 4 layer the cost would be ~$100 CAD total and then add shipping and custom fees, (10 boards would be ~$140 totaal). 2 layer would be ~$45 CAD total for 5 board

edit; price is based on bard size ~ 330mm x 200mm
Did you allow for an Electroless Nickel Immersion Gold (ENIG) finish?
The memory expansion connector needs hasrd gold fingers for reliability, this pushes the cost up.

5 PCB with ENIG finish, shipped to UK + VAT + handling fees ~£106
10 PCB with ENIG gfinish, shipped to UK + VAT + handling fees ~£142

5 standard PCBs, shipped to UK + VAT + handling fees ~£95
10 standard PCBs, shipped to UK + VAT + handling fees ~£128

@Mick

How about 'A600 revived' for this PCB design and the reborn for the tweaked one?

Keep the power planes 2mm from the bevelled edge of the expansion connector, that should leave enough room.

For a reborn design, I'd drop the RAM exmpansion slot and add the extra 1MB chip and provision 4/8MB FAST RAM in the space. 4 SRAM chips would work nicely
Stedy is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 01:06   #107
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
I just see what I'm doing as a sort of springboard for others who know more to tweak/improve upon what I've done and I'll update my version as I learn more myself. I don't know about name I thought Open A600 was alright because it's self explanatory.

I think it needs a disclaimer for now saying that it's not been tested and to use files at their own risk and maybe point people here to share any feedback or issues they've found/fixed so others can follow? I'd hoped it might become a sort of community project where people will be like "hey I did a version of the board with xxxxx here's the files if anyone likes it or I'll sell you a PCB for cost of PCB and postage". That sort of thing. The person who replaces the keyboard controller will probably have the most popular board lol.

Last edited by Mick; 22 August 2019 at 01:18.
Mick is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 08:55   #108
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
I've updated the files the ground plane now stops short of where the expansion connector pins start so they don't even overlap now.

Thanks for pointing it out xyzzy1, one step closer to perfection.
Mick is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 19:23   #109
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395


Mick is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 22:35   #110
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 648
The PCB outline fits nicely inside the case.

MT6 needs to move slightly, maybe 1.5mm to the left and 1.5mm down, see the second photo. Not sure about this, the CAD data matches my measurements but not the case. Ooops.

I'm getting there with the edits to remove the U12/U13 power net mess, it takes a bit of time. Will then check the layout/tracking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Open_A600_testfit_1-hd.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	249.9 KB
ID:	64190   Click image for larger version

Name:	Open_A600_testfit_2-hd.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	244.5 KB
ID:	64191  
Stedy is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 22:49   #111
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
That's a good idea I didn't think of that.

It looks like 9 pin ports could do with moving down a bit as well? I think the external ports need to fairly precise to fit inside the metal shielding don't they? if I could get a board with some of the through hole stuff desoldered I could have it all exact within about an hour. I'm concerned about hole diameters of some of the custom footprints as well as positions of external connectors. I'll move MT6 and re-uplaod in a sec.

edit: it needs a bit of re-routing.

Last edited by Mick; 22 August 2019 at 23:00.
Mick is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal: Amiga schematics michaelz support.Other 25 15 March 2017 13:13
First Amiga 600 FPGA Accelerator - Vampire 600 majsta Hardware mods 736 18 July 2016 18:31
aminet Clean schematics Amiga Classics cosmicfrog support.Hardware 14 12 March 2016 20:03
Amiga 2000 keyboard schematics Brannigan support.Hardware 11 10 February 2014 08:24
What if DCE donated Amiga Hardware Schematics? Yoto Retrogaming General Discussion 47 15 May 2012 15:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08277 seconds with 15 queries