English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2019, 18:24   #1
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
Amiga OS4.1 on Virtual Box?

Hey all, have Virtual Box provisioned for some virtual machines such as Linux, Ubuntu, Zorin, and even Windows 98 so I can play some old PC Format games without using dosbox.

Is it possible to have AmigaOS4.1 running on a virtual machine? I have it currently set up with WinUae but it seems slow and glitchy.

Cheers

Louk
Louk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 18:57   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,281
VirtualBox does not change the CPU architecture of the host machine, and as OS4 needs PowerPC to run on, this unfortunately can't work. You need full emulation which is always much slower.
ajk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 18:58   #3
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
ah that is a shame, thank you. My pc is pretty fast (16 gb ram etc) and is fine for audio production, what set up would you say is ideal to run it on on my PC?
Louk is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 20:17   #4
cloverskull
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: California
Posts: 50
The only way to run OS4 right now is WinUAE or FS-UAE. If you're using Windows, I'd use WinUAE.
cloverskull is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 21:57   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,008
There would be a way, with Amilator you can run OS4.1 on Virtual Machine, to me it worked with VMWare Player or run OS4.1 and AfA-OS, of course it works better on WinUAE

Amilator has a Linux boot base that in turn runs

VMware Player (PenDrive live): Amilator AFA OS
[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 23:02   #6
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 983
There is a work in progress to run AmigaOS4.1 under QEMU but using the Sam460 version.
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 August 2019, 23:28   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamelito View Post
There is a work in progress to run AmigaOS4.1 under QEMU but using the Sam460 version.

Yes


[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 August 2019, 00:49   #8
Louk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 78
Fantastic I will give it a go thanks!
Louk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Memory on Amiga? Nightfox support.Other 7 04 December 2017 05:19
virtual cd-drive on amiga ? kas1e support.Apps 14 13 December 2012 16:17
Amiga 3.9 on WinVista Virtual PC maclac New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 01 June 2007 01:35
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
OS4 update - A late xmas present from the OS4 team Paul News 1 28 December 2004 20:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06929 seconds with 14 queries