English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2012, 17:35   #1
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
FastAta1200 MKIV + Red Screen

When I'm copying a large file (larger than 10mbs) or unlha such a file, after some seconds (10 or 15) mouse pointer freezes, Amiga locks up and hdd light gets stuck to on. After I reboot from such a state, I get a Red Screen loop and I have turn the Amiga off and on.

1) Could this be related to "ata3.driver resident" messing something inside the ROM when it reboots the system a second time after Blizkick?

2) Could it be a heating problem?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 18:42   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
are you using it in pio-4?
roy bates is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 19:06   #3
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
yes
ancalimon is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 19:46   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 39
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Maybe a contact problem in the rom sockets?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 19:59   #5
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Maybe a contact problem in the rom sockets?

got in there before me steve.


af you set it back to pio-3 and the problem goes away then you have two options:

1,live with it in pio-3 or
2,replace the rom sockets on your motherboard for rom sockets with "round" pins


this is a well known problem with fastata's the rom socket on the 1200 takes flat pins and the pins on the fastata are round,which makes for bad contact at the high speeds(any pio over 3) that this is capable of
roy bates is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 20:49   #6
ancalimon
Supernormal

ancalimon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul / Turkey
Age: 37
Posts: 1,229
Where do I find these round sockets? Are the ones sold by Amigakit round?
ancalimon is offline  
Old 02 January 2012, 21:13   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 50
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ancalimon View Post
Where do I find these round sockets? Are the ones sold by Amigakit round?

i do beleive they sell round 40 pin sockets on request.
roy bates is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 600 not booting... Yellow screen, and Red screen when turning PSU off jbenam support.Hardware 34 20 March 2011 23:10
Fastlane Z3 red screen Rod_cl support.Hardware 4 09 October 2007 19:56
A1200 red screen!! stainy support.Hardware 7 09 February 2006 12:00
a4000 red screen + more thinlega support.Hardware 13 28 April 2005 09:20
red screen? someamigauser support.Hardware 2 02 October 2002 08:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06920 seconds with 13 queries