English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2018, 10:50   #1
profo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Question Older Laptop as emulation machine?

Hello and best wishes for the new year to all of you.

I may get an older Notebook, it would be an Fujitsu Amilo PI 3660 with an I
ntel Core 2 Duo T6600, Geforce GT240M, 4GB Ram and with Win10 x64 Home.

At the moment it sits there with a defective HDD so i cant test a thing.

What do you think, could this run the latest Winuae and Dosbox ECE ( http://blog.yesterplay80.net/dosbox-ece-en/ ) or is the machine already outdated and to slow for the newest WinUAE´s (using mostly A500 or A1200, maybe ClassicWB with WHDload)?

Another Option would be to run a light Debian (?) with E-UAE or FS-UAE on it, but i would like to use WinUAE because it is by far the most advanced Emulator (Thank you, Toni), also on Windows i know how to handle things like drivers for and stuff, i dont have much experience with Linux.

Thank you for your opinions and comments in advance.

best regards
prof
profo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 January 2018, 21:47   #2
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,973
You can emulate Amiga games on a Raspberry Pi 3, I think your laptop will not have much trouble with it Dosbox neither, I ran both emulators on waaaay slower hardware back in the day.
gimbal is offline  
Old 13 January 2018, 00:04   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 56
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
You can emulate Amiga games on a Raspberry Pi 3, I think your laptop will not have much trouble with it Dosbox neither, I ran both emulators on waaaay slower hardware back in the day.
Should be fine if you are using emulators like the above, where it would struggle is with more recent hardware based emulators like for PS2 or even Gamecube.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 19 January 2018, 19:16   #4
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #Confefe
Age: 45
Posts: 2,311
I emulated gamecube on old hardware without much trouble. (old HP with duo core processor, 2 GB memory nad 512 some old 500 something video card. (can't even remember)

Since then I upgraded emu computer to i5 processor, the same junky video card and 4GB memory.
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best machine for PPC emulation Marmotta support.WinUAE 21 03 March 2016 14:49
Datatypes in older(every) software... Michael Sykes support.Apps 6 21 December 2014 19:01
AmigaMini.... emulation machine. asm1 Amiga scene 1 16 August 2014 12:24
CD32 emulation keyboard layout laptop how support.WinUAE 1 27 April 2010 17:41
TBBoAH gets older... Shoonay News 0 03 January 2005 21:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13393 seconds with 14 queries