English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2007, 23:30   #1
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Tell me about Aladdin 4d...

Im sure I mentioned this sometime before but im interested in getting back into 3D modelling on my amiga, I no longer have my copy of Cinema 4D so was considering the excellent looking Aladdin 4D.

Does anyone have experiance with A4D?

It it worth 30 pounds of my hard earned cash?

Can anyone sugest a better alternative?

Cheers all, Mick.
Mick_AKA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 January 2007, 04:21   #2
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
I want to know also!
superBuster is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 09:21   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Imagine 5.2

awsome.... proggy
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 13:08   #4
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Tis a bit more expensive though, and will it run ok with my 030/50 128mb?
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 13:25   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Most certainly ...

For the sake of mentioning it Lightwave is also a good option as is POV if you can find a decent front end / designer....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 14:05   #6
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Is there any chance you could post a shot of the interface on Imagine 5.2?
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 14:17   #7
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
I never tried Alladin 4D but I can recommend Lightwave. You could even export your models to Maya or XSI
Lightwave modeler can be in PAL and Piccasso emulation. The Layout needs a patch only available for version 4 to be seen on graphic card.
Lightwave offers great tools and a good raytracing with good antialiasing. Shame they never included a UV editor.
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 20:29   #8
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
now I also wnat to se the imagine 5.3 interface.... I stated 3d on sculpt/animate and then turbo silver stoped at imagine 4.x wonder where it went from there.
superBuster is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 20:35   #9
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
Superbuster are you in 3D still today ?
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 20:39   #10
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
yeah, i now do it for a living. Right now at work here in LA.. Mostly Maya at this point. Still have all my amiga stuff from back then! Still love vista pro!
superBuster is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 20:43   #11
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
hey sounds good, with what company do you work with?
I am in London, doing post production for commercials mainly.
I used to know many 3D op who started on Amiga but never met any here really
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 20:59   #12
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
I work for Stony Imageworks. Not sure they want me chatting on forums! Where are you?
superBuster is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 21:06   #13
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
Lol I am at Glassworks, it s late enough here to be tolerated
where are you from originaly?
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 22:05   #14
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Had no idea there were a few of us working in 3D, unfortunately I have a very boring job so I wont comment on it lol
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 22:28   #15
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
Well 3D can be a hell of a lot boring and painful.
But I am not surprised, most guys I met when i was student and even today at work actually had an Amiga and started 3D on it...
I suppose it s the same with many job related to computer and multimedia.
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 11 January 2007, 23:20   #16
superBuster
superFreak
superBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: planet earth
Age: 45
Posts: 157
Send a message via AIM to superBuster
hey tony I'm form germany, but I'm american... long story, NOT millitary. I know some people that started on the amiga but not everyone, I think I am the only guy that still own as amiga here at sony.
Hell, I just found an old mac 7600 (120mgz PPC) in front of my house... pluged it in and it's running... (score) that this is SHIT compared to my 4000, could not do the stuff I did with imagine in infini-d or what erver it was back then! Hard to remember just how much better the amiga was back then... OMG what happend!
superBuster is offline  
Old 12 January 2007, 02:39   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
I have to admit,

Imagine 5.3 is fantastic... i dont know why pulse ever stopped supporting it on the miggy.... its got great configureable interface (wich is also RTG!!!|) and well if ya used imagine... you all know its good (and bad) points...

the texture engine has been delt a serious overhaull... (wich it needed) but all the ease, and functionality is there....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 January 2007, 02:40   #18
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
If the mods say its okay, I will zone it... ( i may have lightwave as well not sure on version though...)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 January 2007, 14:09   #19
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
That would be awesome
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 12 January 2007, 14:17   #20
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,620
If it is no longer sold/supported then it's fine
BippyM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aladdin 4D New Name / New Ownership Pyromania Amiga scene 0 26 February 2012 22:29
Aladdin 4D zevs request.Apps 8 04 October 2009 23:54
Aladin (not Aladdin!) Galaxy request.Old Rare Games 5 24 January 2008 21:30
Aladdin 4D's future Pyromania Coders. General 9 05 June 2007 10:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21171 seconds with 14 queries