English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 12:48   #2761
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
no need to remove the bga, the problem lies with the BGA chips that have become too big for the boards they sit on as shown by the xbox 360 and other video equipment. Withthe heat that these boards are subjected to the board will bend and flex and cause the chip to "pop" and once they have popped you get an intermittent error or plug in your hdmi cable and see the familiar "No signal" message.

Most of the time you can simply get some rosin flux and then do a gradual reheat of the board which will reseat it or you can give it the full monty and remove, reball and replace it.

Stay away from unleaded solder as this is part of the problem, The other main cause of electronic failure is the big electrolytic capacitors that pop and then one day your TV doesn't turn on etc and either just clicks or pops. There are a lot of TV's that people throw away due to this problem so buying broken TV's for a song is worth it, even if you cant fix it the video/power/aux boards are worth money
Got to love some leaded reballing action.
Always wanted to do BGA.
I love the process. It's amazing to watch.
There is an IR heater at work but it hardly gets used. So sad.
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old Yesterday, 13:29   #2762
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by ooBumbleBeeoo View Post
Got to love some leaded reballing action.
Always wanted to do BGA.
I love the process. It's amazing to watch.
There is an IR heater at work but it hardly gets used. So sad.
Hmmmm. Reballing graphics chips is a very contentious subject. Some people say that putting the cards in an oven will fix the cracks in the solder balls... but this is total BS because a standard oven does not get hot enough to meld solder. I could go on ranting about this forever.
plasmab is offline  
Old Yesterday, 14:06   #2763
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Hmmmm. Reballing graphics chips is a very contentious subject. Some people say that putting the cards in an oven will fix the cracks in the solder balls... but this is total BS because a standard oven does not get hot enough to meld solder. I could go on ranting about this forever.
Go on Steve! Do a Rab-C for us 😉
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old Yesterday, 14:41   #2764
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by ooBumbleBeeoo View Post
Go on Steve! Do a Rab-C for us 😉
No need... someone already has...

[ Show youtube player ]
plasmab is offline  
Old Yesterday, 16:00   #2765
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
No need... someone already has...

[ Show youtube player ]

That's a good rant.
Some people are crazy.
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old Today, 02:50   #2766
amigadude
Registered User

amigadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Bradford UK
Posts: 40
Solved my LED 'problem'

Wired like supaduper said http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=2141

Couple of bends in the LED legs leaves it looking like:


Just pushed through 1 of these handy holes already in the case and hotglued:

the fact I used jumper wires means it's easy to detach/re-attach the wires to the LED

Bright enough for me, sorry about the crappy cropped video still...
amigadude is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
amigadude
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello and help identifying my expansion board! edd_jedi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 April 2010 12:52
Can anyone identify this RAM expansion board?? PowerPie5000 support.Hardware 66 02 August 2009 13:04
WTB: A1200 Expansion Board robheaton MarketPlace 17 11 June 2009 09:49
an expansion board toolkit --might be useful to you giannis_vassili support.Hardware 1 14 June 2008 20:51
Wanted: A1200 expansion board Freckle MarketPlace 0 30 August 2004 16:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.97416 seconds with 14 queries