English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 August 2005, 05:47   #1
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 1,417
Slow/Fast RAM difference

What exactly is the difference between what WinUAE terms slow and fast ram.

I note that what I have always considered fast RAM is referred to as slow RAM in WinUAE.

Back in the Amiga days, RAM was only ever referred to as Chip or Fast RAM - I don't ever remember seeing reference to slow RAM.

I always thought the distinction was Chip RAM = mem used by processor and custom chips; fast RAM = mem for exclusive use by processor.

Your Amiga came only with chip RAM, and most RAM expansions were detected/advertised as fast RAM. (although you could run patches to turn one sort into another (chip up to the max limit allowed by your Agnus chip) or mod the mobo.
Galaxy is offline  
Old 25 August 2005, 07:01   #2
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,549
I don't emulate, but could it refer to 16 bit vs 32 bit memory perhaps?
DrBong is offline  
Old 25 August 2005, 08:33   #3
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,064
Slow RAM is RAM that is on the Chip RAM bus, but is treated like Fast RAM allowing only the CPU to access it (although accessed like Chip RAM because it's on the Chip RAM bus). For example, the A501 trapdoor expansion is Slow RAM.

Edit: hopefully someone can clarify if I've worded it incorrectly.
adolescent is offline  
Old 25 August 2005, 09:10   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,212
Address space is also different, 0xc00000-> when real fast is 0x200000->

Thread moved.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 15 December 2017, 22:21   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,966
Even if it is an old thread, looking at the options available under FS-UAE, I came to the same question and found a quite good explanation here.
Hope it is useful for someone else .
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE slow in fullscreen but fast in windowed mode carls support.WinUAE 12 03 March 2013 14:38
Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 nkarytia support.Hardware 10 16 September 2011 14:37
[SAS/C] Making malloc() allocate in fast RAM instead of chip RAM? 8bitbubsy Coders. General 3 07 August 2011 08:06
A1200 2Meg Slow and 4Meg Fast. Which one? Claw22000 project.ClassicWB 8 22 March 2009 09:22
32-bit FAST RAM vs. ZII FAST RAM polbit support.Hardware 16 28 January 2007 21:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06738 seconds with 15 queries