English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2020, 00:37   #101
Leander
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Catania
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thanks arti, this one works great

Could you possibly add the border fix to this version though like you did with "hode_m68k.zip"?

I intermittently get parts of the screen repeated like with the original file:


Damien, to apply this update to your HDF package i only have to copy over HeartOfDarkness floder or i need to install some other libraries?
Thanks in advance
Leander is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 11:48   #102
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leander View Post
Damien, to apply this update to your HDF package i only have to copy over HeartOfDarkness floder or i need to install some other libraries?
Thanks in advance
If you want to use the latest IX version then see arti's post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
IX version if still doesn't work for someone. Need ixemul 63.1.
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 12:22   #103
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoicb View Post
hello everyone.
I tested on my Vampire1200 and it flies on game, videos and loading.
Here is a FB video of 1st lvl gameplay : https://www.facebook.com/1307568055/...3675616380924/

and a google drive video of 2nd level video and some gameplay:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11kE...ew?usp=sharing
Wow, the Vampire seems to handle it perfectly.
Thanks for the videos mate
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 20:16   #104
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 580
Latest noix build.
If you play on WinUAE set width to 800 and multipiler to 3 for best screen.
XBR filtering works aswell.
arti is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 21:49   #105
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
Latest noix build.
If you play on WinUAE set width to 800 and multipiler to 3 for best screen.
XBR filtering works aswell.
Thanks arti, just tested

I think I might stick with the IX version though; as the screen size is larger than any other version for me in WinUAE i.e:

IX Version:



NoIX Version:

DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 09:14   #106
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 580
That's how both versions look for me with 800 and multipiler 3:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	noix.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	145.7 KB
ID:	69840  
arti is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 12:21   #107
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Hmmm, I can't use any multipliers with RTG as they are greyed out.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 13:53   #108
arti
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 580
In hode.ini I mean.
arti is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 15:25   #109
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
In hode.ini I mean.
Ah ok

Thanks, I'll give that a try after lunch.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 16:01   #110
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Heya arti,

I must be doing something wrong...

I set these in the "hode.ini" file:

Code:
scale_factor=3
width=800
Unfortunately when starting the game (IX version), I get this:
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 16:25   #111
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by arti View Post
That's how both versions look for me with 800 and multipiler 3:

With 800 and Multipiler 3 the image is better centered, with WinUAE RTG option "Always center" much better, see the second part of the video.

The only problem is that with 800 and Multipiler 3 the game on WinUAE is slower.


http://eab.abime.net/zone/HeartOfDar...ultipiler3.avi
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 17:07   #112
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Yeah wow, that is slow...

I can't get this to work anyway, see the post above your last reply Carlo: post #110.

What are you guys going that I'm obviously missing?
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 17:54   #113
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,354
Damiano will have modified some other parameters, take the original "hode.ini" file and modify only:

scale_factor=3
width=800
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 20:04   #114
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Damiano will have modified some other parameters, take the original "hode.ini" file and modify only:

scale_factor=3
width=800
No Carlo, I only modified these as mentioned in my post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Code:
scale_factor=3
width=800
I've also ticked "Always centre" from under "RTG boards".

Anyway, looks like the game is too slow with these settings so no big deal...

Best to leave how it is, uncentred which running very well
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 20:27   #115
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
LOL, maybe the game is a little too fast...

Problem is you need "JIT" and "Fastest possible" ticked or it crawls.

Try playing the start of "Level 4 - Space Island"... I can't get past the initial 2 x screens

Watched the PS1 playthrough and it's runs at a slower speed making it simple.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 20:32   #116
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Check this in your hode.ini file.

frame duration in milliseconds (original is 80ms, eg. 12.5hz)
frame_duration=80

At 50 that it comes with, it is unplayable fast in UAE, but helps a little on my slow ass amiga.
Mad-Matt is online now  
Old 01 December 2020, 20:37   #117
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Check this in your hode.ini file.

frame duration in milliseconds (original is 80ms, eg. 12.5hz)
frame_duration=80

At 50 that it comes with, it is unplayable fast in UAE, but helps a little on my slow ass amiga.
Good call Mad-Matt

80 definitely makes this part easier, but it's a little too slow.

Guess I just need to find that sweat spot between 50 and 80, so I'll try 65 first
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 21:09   #118
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
So have tried 60, 65, 70 and 80.

To me "70" seems best, and at similar speed to what I viewed the PSX version walkhrough at (47:50)

[ Show youtube player ]
DamienD is offline  
Old 03 December 2020, 17:21   #119
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,187
One last little niggle.

This is quite evident when you have the magic rock power i.e. can shoot green fireballs.

The issue is that when quickly pressing <Fire> button, more often than not, it charges; as if you've held down the <Fire> button.

It's especially bad when playing from keyboard; but slightly better when using a joypad.

It makes the game quite hard...

Just wondering if the code for the "charge fireball" could be made a second longer; as this would probably address the issue?

Last edited by DamienD; 04 December 2020 at 13:35.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Sega CD --> Amiga] Heart of the Alien Retroplay News 177 29 August 2019 23:42
Pools Of Darkness mai HOL data problems 0 24 June 2009 19:02
darkness voyager volton request.Modules 0 06 December 2008 11:31
amiga open-heart surgery rattus support.Hardware 12 01 March 2003 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17200 seconds with 15 queries