English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 April 2020, 22:53   #41
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 673
Sounds good Geezer. DRS is an interesting addition, but I also love the game just as it is, so perhaps make it an option?

Lots of bonus points if you add supports for 360 wheels, haha!
There are none that I know of for amiga, but you could always build your own
(I'm doing three for my 3 player super sprint mame cab)

Edit: For me an interlace screenmode would always be a turn off for any game. I could get around it with flickerfixers but many can't.
If supporting optional hires interlace no flicker would be possible, even with the slower chip ram and 31khz requirement, it would be a huge plus. (I don't suppose you'd consider adding RTG support)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	360.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	542.2 KB
ID:	66957  

Last edited by fgh; 20 April 2020 at 23:01. Reason: interlace
fgh is offline  
Old 20 April 2020, 22:54   #42
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sunny Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 619
There's hardly anything happening on screen in the coinop... surely an A500 version would be a breeze
DanScott is online now  
Old 20 April 2020, 23:01   #43
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 155
DRS sounds clever and super fun!
If this will be released maybe it could be possible for others to create alternative tracks?
Track editor.
nikosidis is offline  
Old 20 April 2020, 23:26   #44
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
DRS sounds clever and super fun!
If this will be released maybe it could be possible for others to create alternative tracks?
Track editor.
I would certainly release the specs for someone to build a track editor if they wanted to, it wouldn't be too difficult.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanScott View Post
There's hardly anything happening on screen in the coinop... surely an A500 version would be a breeze
I doubt I'd have enough DMA slots in hi-res.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 21 April 2020, 22:58   #45
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Here I've now got some basic drone car capability working.

I'm simply recording each car into a data file and then replaying it, I can change the speed of how fast each replay is done and select the car it is applied to.


- I have a bug with the Green drone for some reason
- The sprite priorities are working for the drones I just didn't bloody record them in the files.

[ Show youtube player ]
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 09:51   #46
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,075
It's taking shape!! impressive in such a short span of time!
jotd is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 10:59   #47
nikosidis
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: oslo/norway
Posts: 155
Yes, are you working full time on this
nikosidis is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 11:04   #48
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikosidis View Post
Yes, are you working full time on this
No, I'm able to do it in a very short space of time because I have most of the routines already done from other games or projects.

Currently doing about an hour or two each evening between 7 and 10pm.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 11:19   #49
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,775
^
malko is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 11:47   #50
fryguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hjo, Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 852


i played this a lot on C64, the music on the c64 version was pretty cool too imo.
fryguy is offline  
Old 22 April 2020, 13:02   #51
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 605
Amazing stuff and you are a fast worker...
Havie is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 20:06   #52
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Here's an update on the collision detection stuff I've been doing on Super Sprint.

I did a voice over on this one.

[ Show youtube player ]

I'm not sure if I'm over complicating the collision detection. It works in two passes, a car mask is checked with the crack layout to determine if it is on terrain on or not, then a second check is done to work out the direction of travel and where on the track the car is.

I couldn't really think of any other way to do it. I'm open to suggestion though.

Graeme
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 21:40   #53
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,075
you mean for computer cars right? make the computer cars home to the closest homing point of an undrawn line across the circuit. Cars must not take a shortcut because someone pushed them and they missed a mandatory loop (well, in supercars 2 they "cheat" like that but not sure for super sprint, and not sure how much they can be pushed)

Not really a problem either way. Say points are numbered 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 ... a car starts aiming point 0 then once it's reached it aims point 1, ... and so on. If it can't choose it will choose the lowest ranking point besides the previous ones already met in this lap. If there's a problem and the closest 2 points are 4 and 3, okay, you missed point 2, but you choose point 3 in order to avoid to go backwards to much. Reset the met points at each lap.

Anyway, keep it simple, or it will be impossible to debug/tune.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 21:56   #54
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
you mean for computer cars right? make the computer cars home to the closest homing point of an undrawn line across the circuit. Cars must not take a shortcut because someone pushed them and they missed a mandatory loop (well, in supercars 2 they "cheat" like that but not sure for super sprint, and not sure how much they can be pushed)

Not really a problem either way. Say points are numbered 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 ... a car starts aiming point 0 then once it's reached it aims point 1, ... and so on. If it can't choose it will choose the lowest ranking point besides the previous ones already met in this lap. If there's a problem and the closest 2 points are 4 and 3, okay, you missed point 2, but you choose point 3 in order to avoid to go backwards to much. Reset the met points at each lap.

Anyway, keep it simple, or it will be impossible to debug/tune.
No, i purely mean the player cars for collisions and what they do when they react at different speeds/angles.

The computer cars i know how to do.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 22:16   #55
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,075
ah right!

You can check the corners of the car. 2 corners hit the scenery: clean bounce, only 1 corner: deviate maybe check if solved with deviation. Fast-check several angle & speed scenarii (but not too much) to see if it solves. The circuits should be "convex" enough so a solution can be found most of the time.

At some point if car is too fast and bouncing can't be solved make it explode like in the original game.
jotd is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 23:00   #56
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
ah right!

You can check the corners of the car. 2 corners hit the scenery: clean bounce, only 1 corner: deviate maybe check if solved with deviation.

Fast-check several angle & speed scenarii (but not too much) to see if it solves. The circuits should be "convex" enough so a solution can be found most of the time.
Checking two corners of car with a sprite mask against a semi circle on any angle is probably beyond my maths capability, i know sine, cosine and tangent and that’s about it. I’ll keep on the path the method i have and see how i fair.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 26 April 2020, 23:11   #57
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,075
I mean: if only one corner is outside bounds, deviate, else bounce. But sometimes such solutions are easier to describe than to implement. I think I did that in my Supercars 3 remake, but I used a lot of geometry stuff in Java. Not the same tools, not the same CPU usage either.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 April 2020, 00:48   #58
DanielAllsopp
Registered User

DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 81
I actually used your SC3 route and track information when I attempted a port to iOS of SC2. I even wrote a track editor for macOS too.

[ Show youtube player ]

That’s a pretty old demo too, the last code I had had the CPU cars running against two possible routes with decisions being made on random numbers based on a number of parameters such as speed, position, nearest neighbour car etc.

I had a lot of fun coding that; reading these comments brings a lot of memories back about figuring everything out. Obviously my C skills are better than my ASM skills.
DanielAllsopp is online now  
Old 27 April 2020, 00:53   #59
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 4,075
awesome! Looks slick. Hoping that you're finishing that sometime. CPU cars aren't the hardest, you seem to have a lot already done. No need for 2-player

In C it's more work than in Java, though. But if I had to go back I would have written everything in C++/SDL...
jotd is offline  
Old 27 April 2020, 01:06   #60
DanielAllsopp
Registered User

DanielAllsopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Northumberland, UK
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
awesome! Looks slick. Hoping that you're finishing that sometime. CPU cars aren't the hardest, you seem to have a lot already done. No need for 2-player

In C it's more work than in Java, though. But if I had to go back I would have written everything in C++/SDL...
Yeah, it's just on the back burner at the minute. Hopefully it'll see the light of day some day soon. Life tends to get in the way of things at the minute
DanielAllsopp is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASM Brain Teaser... doing my head in. mcgeezer Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 07 March 2019 16:48
super sprint motor sound turrican3 support.Games 3 03 November 2014 08:21
[REQ] Super Sprint angel_killah project.Sprites 6 21 April 2012 07:26
Super Sprint - Atari ST Conversion Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 83 12 March 2012 21:34
Super Sprint & Oids ??? BeelzebubUK request.Old Rare Games 10 30 January 2002 21:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09607 seconds with 14 queries