English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 September 2018, 13:59   #1141
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Note that not using cache and having too many config files: unsupported configuration. If it takes too long: not my problem.
I know and am totally cool with how things are
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 17:45   #1142
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,051
Running from internal SSD on Intel Core i7-7820HK @2.9GHz with 16GB RAM:

Uncached configs (complete DamienD set): 38 seconds to start.
Cached: 7 seconds.

I can live with that, but damn it feels longer.
Dunny is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 17:52   #1143
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,794
It should be almost instant if cached. Do you have both Paths panel cache options enabled?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 07 September 2018, 18:01   #1144
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
Running from internal SSD on Intel Core i7-7820HK @2.9GHz with 16GB RAM:

Uncached configs (complete DamienD set): 38 seconds to start.
Cached: 7 seconds.

I can live with that, but damn it feels longer.
That's weird; on my Acer Aspire 5951G (i5-2410M 2.3GHz) laptop from 2011, it only takes 6 seconds to start WinUAE without "Cache Configuration files" ticked.

Edit: home now and tested with "Cache Configuration files" ticked; WinUAE takes 3 seconds to start.

Last edited by DamienD; 07 September 2018 at 20:00.
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 September 2018, 22:41   #1145
speshady
Registered User

speshady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: currently in Glasgow but from Derbyshire/England
Age: 45
Posts: 27
WinUAE and using your config, files etc.. loads almost instantly (must be 1 second at most).
Both those Cache check boxes have always been ticked ever since ive had WinUAE installed.
speshady is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 00:47   #1146
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by speshady View Post
Both those Cache check boxes have always been ticked ever since ive had WinUAE installed.
Hmmm, not with my collection it hasn't... I've always disabled "Cache Configuration files" in the registry and in the .INI file I've provided i.e. it's been set as:

Code:
"ConfigurationCache"=dword:00000000
and

Code:
ConfigurationCache=0
It's never been a problem for me i.e. 6 seconds to load from an old 2011 laptop is good in my view considering there are 2501 configurations / titles / sshots to scan through...

I didn't realise others were waiting very long periods when running from internal HDDs otherwise I would have posted the solution earlier.

I only recently noticed the issue myself when running everything from a USB 2.0 stick and turning this on was absolutely necessary
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 11:32   #1147
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,051
Yes, both boxes ticked. Second run of WinUAE is instant (as expected due to OS caching) but on first run after a reboot, it can take some seconds to start. I'm not complaining, not at all.

And yes, better methods for categorising games would be excellent. As it is, my games are mixed in with my general machine configs making things difficult to find. I should sort them into subfolders ideally.
Dunny is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 11:57   #1148
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
And yes, better methods for categorising games would be excellent. As it is, my games are mixed in with my general machine configs making things difficult to find. I should sort them into subfolders ideally.
If you've added your own general machine configs to my collection then you could always do something like this
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 13:48   #1149
speshady
Registered User

speshady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: currently in Glasgow but from Derbyshire/England
Age: 45
Posts: 27
Dont think i used your WinUAE ini setup, just your configs, games etc.
It was already ticked prior to using your collection.


Im wondering if they are ticked by default from a fresh WinUAE install?
speshady is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 14:00   #1150
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by speshady View Post
Im wondering if they are ticked by default from a fresh WinUAE install?
As far as I can remember, no.
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 19:43   #1151
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,794
Configuration caching is enabled by default. Boxart isn't (because it can cause very long scan if user directory structure is something unexpected..)

Configfile quick search and directory quick select features added. Hopefully they make some sense
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 08 September 2018, 21:34   #1152
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Configfile quick search and directory quick select features added. Hopefully they make some sense
I've moved related posts out of here to this thread: Different/better way to categorize config files
DamienD is offline  
Old 08 September 2018, 22:35   #1153
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Added a new "help topic" in post #2 related to the discussion over the past few days about enabling "Cache Configuration files":

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

What to do if my collection / WinUAE takes ages to start from your internal HDD or USB device:

... http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1132
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 14:59   #1154
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Given the news that phx has now released his ultra cool game Trap Runner, I've had to add this into my collection immediately!!!



...I know this isn't the "final" version as yet, but will just replace whenever that's ready

So, please do the following:
  • Download / extract the attached into "C:\WinUAE".
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Edit: ooops, I named the disk incorrectly i.e:

"Trap Runner (2016)(Night Owl Design)[Function 2018 - Party Version].adf" as opposed to "Trap Runner (2018)(Night Owl Design)[Function 2018 - Party Version].adf"

Fixed now...

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last edited by DamienD; 19 September 2018 at 21:50.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 September 2018, 16:00   #1155
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Oh, forgot to mention...

Besides Trap Runner, Frank has made many cool games over the years for the Amiga; such as:

... Solid Gold
... Sqrxz
... Sqrxz 2 - Two Seconds Until Death
... Sqrxz 3 - Adventure for Love
... Sqrxz 4 - Cold Cash

If you enjoy any of these games then you should also donate as I have via https://www.paypal.me/phxhf.

People like this need our support
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 September 2018, 03:06   #1156
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,095
Trap Runner is a cool game, it is very much a Giana Sisters style. Nice graphics and gameplay, great Music.

Some things for thought.. Maybe a Sound effect when you jump might improve the game. and also if possible when you hit a boulder with a critter on it the critter dies, Other then that game is perfect.

Nice one @phx
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 19:35   #1157
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
After the discussion in this thread: Shadow of the Beast freezes on end

...time to update the .ADFs in my collection

Thanks to everyone who provided information, tested and offered to fix files

I've also removed the bogus cheat from the .TXT file that was included in the <gamedir>...

So, please do the following:
  • Delete the directory "C:\WinUAE\Games\Shadow of the Beast".
  • Download / extract the attached into "C:\WinUAE".
Attached Files
File Type: rar Shadow of the Beast.rar (1.28 MB, 38 views)
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 September 2018, 00:12   #1158
zoodah
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norfolk, USA
Posts: 28
Many thanks for all the updates, Damien.
zoodah is offline  
Old 15 September 2018, 19:16   #1159
sonic88
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
Great work @DamienD!

Do anyone know if there is a way to add a custom key for Warp speed in the configs since I miss the paus/break key on my Wireless HTPC keyboard?
sonic88 is offline  
Old 15 September 2018, 20:21   #1160
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,179
Heya sonic88,

To be honest I've never had to do anything like that.

...but you could try creating a new host file as detailed here from OsabaKoldo: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1121

In terms of warp mode, take a look at this recent thread: BOOST key

I'm sure by using a combination of both things above you should be able to achieve what you're after without having to adjust all configurations
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
SiDeSaLaD
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[DamienD] WinUAE v3.2.2 - Games "DAT File" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 29 10 February 2016 00:02
DamienD's SNES DVD... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 282 03 November 2008 09:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12436 seconds with 16 queries