English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 June 2019, 22:48   #21
ExiE
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: T/C
Posts: 120
I want that Firebird daughterdboard for A4000D
ExiE is offline  
Old 10 June 2019, 23:04   #22
thebajaguy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia / United States
Posts: 49
My only query/heads up is to be careful of mapping Kickstart into the 1MB $A00000-AFFFFF space, as some 'extended' Kickstart solutions may choose to do. That range is still AutoConfig I/O space based upon the Hardware Reference Manual (3rd Edition). Best to stick to F8/E0 (standard 512 / Extended 512), then put the rest (arguably) above 16MB where I've read the other 2MB of a 4MB Kickstart tends to go anyway.

Still, nice work.

I didn't see anyone beg for a clock port header somewhere, but then again, space for it might be tight.
thebajaguy is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 00:21   #23
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,782
I don't have anything to add that hasn't been said already so great work! Though someone did say that too. Also I think that 3A or 5A are not really enough for 3.3V supply with some PCI cards especially if certain 3.3V only PCI boards are combined. ATX connector fixes that but that doesn't help since the A3000 PSU footprint doesn't really work for an SFX or ATX PSU, unless you recase them.

*EDIT* OK I thought of one. Put a 4-pin AUX-Out from Paula (CD-Audio style) on the motherboard and an AUX-IN (CD-Audio style) like the A4000.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 04:24   #24
kirk_m
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mandeville USA
Posts: 177
WOW, just WOW.
kirk_m is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 10:26   #25
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Incredible work!

Can you use donor chips from an A1200? Or does it have to be an A4K?

Would definitely like to buy one.
zero is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 11:38   #26
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 81
Interesting! Will it fit into a 3000/4000 case or would it be for a tower install only?
quantum8 is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 11:40   #27
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
Incredible work!

Can you use donor chips from an A1200? Or does it have to be an A4K?

Would definitely like to buy one.
The AGA chipset + CIAs can come from an A1200. The Super DMAC is A3000 specific, the Ramsey/Buster are A3000/4000. In this application the Ramsey should come from an A3000, as you will have a very difficult time finding a Super DMAC-04 to go with the generally available Ramsey-07.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 12:32   #28
SimonV
Registered User

SimonV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Antwerp
Posts: 216
Wouldn't the DSP as used on the Delfina Flipper or maybe the like on Amiga kit's Prism be a better choice ? Someone has drivers for those chips that maybe can be adapted by themself if you ask them before you decide to use them.
SimonV is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 13:10   #29
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrz View Post
connectors for fans in 2019?? for what? for a 30 w computer ?
or for a 030 cpu which don't even need a heatsink

It's better to have an option than not to have it, isn't it?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 14:49   #30
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonV View Post
Wouldn't the DSP as used on the Delfina Flipper or maybe the like on Amiga kit's Prism be a better choice ? Someone has drivers for those chips that maybe can be adapted by themself if you ask them before you decide to use them.
The DSP3210 was used in a prototype A3000 with AGA chipset at Commodore. It was also used in some Macs so there is a bit of software support for it.
zero is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 15:58   #31
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
This is absolutely cool. Cooler than the coolest thing ever, and then some

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The AGA chipset + CIAs can come from an A1200. The Super DMAC is A3000 specific, the Ramsey/Buster are A3000/4000. In this application the Ramsey should come from an A3000, as you will have a very difficult time finding a Super DMAC-04 to go with the generally available Ramsey-07.
I wonder if A3660 will be running fine with SCSI on this board, as I failed to get the two to work flawlessly on my A3000/25.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 18:06   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
I wonder if A3660 will be running fine with SCSI on this board, as I failed to get the two to work flawlessly on my A3000/25.
Difficult to say.. Did you try sourcing various dmac/ramsey combos? Apparently some sdmac02/ramsey04 combinations might work where others do not. I have never tried this myself, however.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 18:57   #33
DofD
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Victoria, Canada
Age: 51
Posts: 134
Totally incredible work!

Will PCI busmastering between the PCI slots be supported? The thought is for the support for PPC cards the Ragnorok or Killer M1/K1 cards.
DofD is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 21:20   #34
1NOM155
Registered User

1NOM155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 57
nice work Hese congrats
1NOM155 is offline  
Old 11 June 2019, 22:00   #35
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 139
That's amazing Hese
AJCopland is offline  
Old 12 June 2019, 12:43   #36
Ordyne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Newark
Posts: 4
Excellent work Hese! Will be interesting to see the DSP used.
Ordyne is offline  
Old 12 June 2019, 20:52   #37
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Difficult to say.. Did you try sourcing various dmac/ramsey combos? Apparently some sdmac02/ramsey04 combinations might work where others do not. I have never tried this myself, however.
No, I did not. Got some feedback from SpeedGeek that made me ditch the whole idea and just use Deneb.
tnt23 is offline  
Old 13 June 2019, 10:36   #38
Effy
http://www.amigaclub.be/
Effy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Belgium
Age: 51
Posts: 677
Send a message via MSN to Effy
Highest respect for what you accomplished
Effy is offline  
Old 13 June 2019, 12:10   #39
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt23 View Post
No, I did not. Got some feedback from SpeedGeek that made me ditch the whole idea and just use Deneb.
Out of interest, what did he say? I don't want to go on a wild goose chase myself either if I end up in this situation at some point. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 13 June 2019, 16:15   #40
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Out of interest, what did he say? I don't want to go on a wild goose chase myself either if I end up in this situation at some point. :-)
It was something about DMAC+Ramsey replacement being overrated, as it never helped to avoid some Ramsey bug with regards to CLK90 (I may be vaguely incorrect here, need to find exact quotes from him). The overall impression I've got was that I certainly might invest into latest and bestest DMAC and Ramseys possible, but still would end up with buggy SCSI DMA.
tnt23 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AA3000 on A1K forum - the AGA A3000 trixster Amiga scene 32 14 June 2019 12:38
[SWAP or For Sale] My Voodoo 3 3000 PCI 16 MB (fully working for your Indivision AGA jurassicman Swapshop 1 21 May 2019 18:06
Looking for an aga demo that has a1200 motherboard picture ElectroBlaster request.Demos 4 29 January 2011 22:44
Amiga 3000 amicrawler support.Other 2 15 September 2009 23:06
Wanted: Amiga 3000 Motherboard Kristian95 MarketPlace 0 06 June 2008 20:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08935 seconds with 13 queries