English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 July 2019, 20:50   #61
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Click Add harddrive with the drive connected, quit, attach winuaebootlog.txt.
Thanks Toni. The logs are attached for both drives.

In each instance the drive is seen by Windows Disk Management, showing the correct size (340MB or 540MB), whereas WinUAE does not show the drives as expected.

They are both Caviar and came from the same Team17 A4000, so are of great interest. Thanks!
Attached Files
File Type: txt Caviar 2340 winuaebootlog.txt (37.0 KB, 25 views)
File Type: txt Caviar 2540 winuaebootlog.txt (37.0 KB, 19 views)
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 21:33   #62
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,943
Drive metadata (identity data) seems to be correct but any read attempt fails with error code 1117 (ERROR_IO_DEVICE: "The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error.").

Perhaps the adapter handles CHS-only drives only partially, for example fails to translate read/write accesses correctly.

Interestingly SCSI ATA passthrough works (at least it appears to work). So far I haven't heard about USB adapter that supports ATA passthrough. Which adapter do you have? I need to find one

Only using ATA passthrough would fix this problem.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 July 2019, 21:49   #63
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Perhaps the adapter handles CHS-only drives only partially, for example fails to translate read/write accesses correctly.
Okay, can you recommend one with an Amazon link that would be more successful?

Quote:
Interestingly SCSI ATA passthrough works (at least it appears to work). So far I haven't heard about USB adapter that supports ATA passthrough. Which adapter do you have? I need to find one
Interesting! This is the one.

Quote:
Only using ATA passthrough would fix this problem.
Pardon my n00bness to this side of things, but how exactly could I do that? Or in other words how can I get these drives into WinUAE?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 03 July 2019, 22:00   #64
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,943
It looks familiar (similar shape but different name). It is possible I didn't have old enough test drives when I tested this stuff previously.

I'll do some more tests later this week.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 July 2019, 17:46   #65
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,943
I found the adapter, it is Delock ("61486 Converter USB 3.0 to SATA/IDE with backup" says at the bottom) but it does not support SCSI ATA passthrough. So that explains why there is no SAT read/write support yet in WinUAE..

Code:
opening device '\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic&prod_ata#atapi_device&rev_#20170302&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'
device id string: 'Generic ATA/ATAPI Device 20170302'
IOCTL_SCSI_PASS_THROUGH_DIRECT: A1.08.0E.00.01.00.00.00.00.EC.00.00. failed 00000079
"Generic ATA/ATAPI Device 20170302".. sounds like crap..

At least your adapter returns the identification of the mounted drive, not some generic string = firmware isn't absolute minimum design..

EDIT: I did more tests with different drives: It refuses to do anything with CHS-only drives. If drive is later (LBA supported), drive name appears and even SAT works. Which won't help this situation..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 04 July 2019 at 18:01.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 July 2019, 19:13   #66
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,079
Ok thanks for digging deeper.

So.... Basically speaking, what can I do to get this working in WinUAE?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 19:22   #67
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,943
Simplest solution probably is to find some Linux PC with mainboard IDE ports and use dd to image the drive.

Or perhaps Windows XP + 3rd party native chipset driver (not built-in MS IDE drivers) with mainboard IDE ports.

Or real Amiga + some other HD where to fit the image. (Serial transfer would take ages)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 July 2019, 19:27   #68
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,079
Ok thank you!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 19:44   #69
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 52
Posts: 103
I used Ubuntu Linux to backup my SCSI Amiga Drives.
It's pretty easy.

RC
rcman is offline  
Old 04 July 2019, 19:57   #70
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,943
SCSI unfortunately has nothing to do with this issue. SCSI rarely has compatibility problems, even if drive is ancient and controller is new.

Old IDE drives are special case because no USB adapter seems to support ancient CHS-only drives (without ugly adapter specific hacks). Even many mainboard IDE drivers (at least Windows drivers) don't support them.

EDIT: Different IDE ports using different chipsets can also work differently in this situation.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 06 July 2019, 23:37   #71
scuzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: New Forest
Posts: 153
Interesting what hoops you jump through these days to grab stuff for the emulator.

For me I have my Amigas networked and I do use Parallel and Serial networks also. The Serial is called Aminet interestingly enough. Anyway, my Amigas are also kitted out with SCSI via Blizzard/GVPKITS and Squirrels. The beast that manages all my hard drive copying is Graham an A1200 inside an A1500 case. Looks crude but the machine has the easiest system of disk swapping and that is literally I sit the HD on the Blizzard box and connect the IDE to the buffered interface. Generally I just break disks down into 100MB chunks and save stuff to ZIPs or I use Samba and my PCs networked to the Amiga and copy stuff that way. Files are never that large and I have ZIPs mounted on PCs also. SCSI is just added to the chain and copied same way ZIP or network.

Just thought I would throw that in. Kinda unrelated cus I never use an emulator given that I have real Amigas running all the time so no need. In the end you are only trying to access data I would have thought... sorry no idea how the emulator works.

I keep my Amiga archive on an A4000/040 with a massive hard drive and also have copies of the repository on PCs, Zips, CDs, USB sticks and external drives and they are all networked so I can find anything almost instantly.

Quite honestly I would have loved to get my hands on those drives. Would have taken me all of a morning to copy them to PC.

Good luck, and when you are done and if you are thinking of chucking the old drives away then I would be more than happy to have a play. I have several of those Western Digital hard drives. Not bad drives in truth. Quite popular in the day.

Caviar 2850

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuz...210618_726.jpg

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuz...210618_724.jpg

Graham the 1200 in the 1500

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuz..._020718_40.jpg

A very slow Aminet serial network. Does work but really slow.

http://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuz...ust18_0101.htm

Anyway just ignore me.. rambling.

scuzz
scuzz is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 14:11   #72
sTe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 48
yeah if you can dd image the disks that would be awesome. Great video btw, looking forward to the next part(s).
sTe is offline  
Old 08 July 2019, 14:23   #73
k0x
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Ostrava
Posts: 79
@Starglider - just make image of those drives under linux asap. Ican help you with that. Just pm me.
k0x is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE and USB harddisk ziosante support.WinUAE 5 18 November 2007 17:31
Amiga Harddisk not recognized by WinUAE Walter Ralegh support.WinUAE 3 25 March 2007 13:36
Mounting Native PC(formatted) harddisk as a Harddisk for WinUAE/E-UAE Zetr0 support.Hardware 10 01 June 2006 14:04
Using an Amiga harddisk with WinUAE abelthorne support.WinUAE 3 01 June 2005 23:08
winuae harddisk sound prob Marcuz support.WinUAE 0 21 August 2002 21:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09444 seconds with 14 queries