English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2017, 20:17   #81
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 197
New gary adapter board

The new board came in and it works great. The system is now 100% stable with 1.0MB chip and 1.5MB slow. See attached picture. I also attached the full KiCad project for those who want to tinker with it.

The SO pads are indeed a bit short for hand soldering. With a bit of patience it is doable though. I did not anticipate anything other than turned pins for the IC socket. I used turned pins and they fit great.

If anyone is interested drop me a PM. I have more boards left.

Just to be clear, this rev C Gary adapter is only needed when you want 1.0MB chip and 1.5MB slow. If you only want 1.5MB slow the original rev B adapter works good enough.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mini501c_gary_adapter.jpg
Views:	712
Size:	407.9 KB
ID:	53625  
Attached Files
File Type: zip MiniA501c_gary_adapter.zip (103.3 KB, 343 views)
Mathesar is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 07:56   #82
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,267
Great stuff :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 03 July 2017, 16:05   #83
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
The new board came in and it works great. The system is now 100% stable with 1.0MB chip and 1.5MB slow. See attached picture. I also attached the full KiCad project for those who want to tinker with it.

The SO pads are indeed a bit short for hand soldering. With a bit of patience it is doable though. I did not anticipate anything other than turned pins for the IC socket. I used turned pins and they fit great.

If anyone is interested drop me a PM. I have more boards left.

Just to be clear, this rev C Gary adapter is only needed when you want 1.0MB chip and 1.5MB slow. If you only want 1.5MB slow the original rev B adapter works good enough.
Yes I would like one Do you think we can splice the base board and your adapter into one gerber so people can get them made for peanuts? Because 10x10cm boards are dirt cheap.

Next challenge: An A500+ gary adapter to allow the first 2 drams to be chip ram and the next 2 to be slow ram. I don't know if it's even possible to have slow ram on the 500+.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 06 July 2017, 15:29   #84
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
I noticed the 512KB version of this on Ebay, great work it's very interesting to see the progress hopefully the full blown version will become available for sale.

One thing I wondered is that is there any reason to have more than 512KB of slow memory? I understand that some old software needs it for compatibility reasons but would you not be best of with as little slow memory as possible and install real fast memory instead? or is there software that specifically needs more than 512KB of slow memory?

Last edited by Mick; 06 July 2017 at 15:36.
Mick is offline  
Old 06 July 2017, 15:55   #85
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,267
I doubt there is anything that would really need more than 512k of Slow RAM, but then again if you can expand it as far as possible with the minimum of effort, why not. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 06 July 2017, 16:22   #86
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,921
Yes, 1MB chip+1.8MB slow+8MB fast is better than 1MB chip+0.5MB slow+8MB fast.

If the computer has fast mem, this will always be used ahead of slow mem since it has higher priority when talking OS friendly stuff. I don't know if maybe Action Replay can take advantage of using the upper slow mem since a game is very unlikely to utilize this?
demolition is offline  
Old 06 July 2017, 16:41   #87
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 395
I see, I suppose as well then it was useful for A500 owners in the days when fast memory was super expensive. I used to have a 500+ with 2MB chip so the whole fast/slow memory thing mostly passed me by.
Mick is offline  
Old 07 July 2017, 18:06   #88
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
I doubt there is anything that would really need more than 512k of Slow RAM, but then again if you can expand it as far as possible with the minimum of effort, why not. :-)
For me the main attraction of this RAM board is the DIY element. You can make this board from some recycled SIM sticks and a few TTL chips. And that is just fun

Most fast RAM boards are way more complicated and also often need some CPLD's or GAL's programmed.
Mathesar is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 01:41   #89
emiespo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 22
Hi there,

This project is awesome, I would buy the 1meg version, but first I have one question: would a version with 2meg fast + adapter + 1 meg chip work in A500+ with an A590 board with 2 megabytes installed? Or the other FAST RAM would have an address collision?

My goal is to have a WHDLoad box as close as the "original thing" as possible, thanks! :-)
emiespo is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 08:18   #90
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,267
The trapdoor Fast RAM is in a different part of the address space, so it would work ok together with the 590.
Jope is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 12:59   #91
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiespo View Post
Hi there,

This project is awesome, I would buy the 1meg version, but first I have one question: would a version with 2meg fast + adapter + 1 meg chip work in A500+ with an A590 board with 2 megabytes installed? Or the other FAST RAM would have an address collision?

My goal is to have a WHDLoad box as close as the "original thing" as possible, thanks! :-)
The adapter doesn't work in a A500+ though, even Mathesar's improved one. It's meant only for a normal A500.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 10 July 2017, 13:12   #92
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,267
Ah, didn't think it through.

Yet another gary board needed. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 18:08   #93
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteAU View Post
EDIT: More RAM details: The memory you are searching for is 72-pin, so try that as a search term on Ebay. Technically, the chips are called SOJ42, 1M x 16. You can identify them visually, they are the bigger/longer chips. If you count 21 pins on one side (42 total), it's a winner.
//Pete.
I have the PCB with gary adapter and want to solder this memory expansion. Now, i've ordered some old rams...21 pin (42 total) ...this should be the correct one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ram_a.JPG
Views:	489
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	53793  
katarakt is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 03:04   #94
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
I have the PCB with gary adapter and want to solder this memory expansion. Now, i've ordered some old rams...21 pin (42 total) ...this should be the correct one?
They look perfectly good. 8 rams per Simm? You are lucky.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 13:31   #95
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Thanks for reply. Yes 8 rams per 16MB-simm (front 4, back 4 = total 8), so each ram should be 2MB ...is this 1X32 ? Are you sure they will work? ...i first thought i bought the wrong simms. I've only checked that they have 21 pins (42).
katarakt is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 13:48   #96
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
..is this 1X32 ?
No, it's 1M x 16.

Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Thanks for reply. Yes 8 rams per 16MB-simm (front 4, back 4 = total 8), so each ram should be 2MB ...is this 1X32 ? Are you sure they will work? ...i first thought i bought the wrong simms. I've only checked that they have 21 pins (42).
That's right, each chip is 2MB (1Mx16-bit). You're using exactly the same SIMM as mine, just a different brand of chips on board.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170721_213622.jpg
Views:	340
Size:	153.0 KB
ID:	53811  
PeteAU is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 17:31   #97
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Excellent!

A few questions:

1. How does it work if i want to disable the memory expansion with gary adapter? On the memory expansion there is an enable switch, i think to disable it...so...if i'm disabling the memory expansion, is the gery adapter disabled too? Someone said after disabling his memory expansion his amiga still shows 1,5mb whether the memory expansion is disabled or not.

2. Next question, can you provide the eagle files only from the memory expansion without the gery adapter? This would be fantastic, so everyone can use the rev.C gary adapter and rev B from the memory expansion and can choose if he only wants the memory expansion without the gary adapter (gary adapter is not always needed).

3. C12 you wrote 4,7 uF tantalum capacitor but in eagle layout there is written 100nf ...so what is correct? If 4,7uF tantalum is correct, you should change this part to 1210 because 0805 is very rare for this component, can't get this for cheap money.

Last edited by katarakt; 23 July 2017 at 19:55. Reason: added 3.
katarakt is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 15:15   #98
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
Excellent!

A few questions:

1. How does it work if i want to disable the memory expansion with gary adapter? On the memory expansion there is an enable switch, i think to disable it...so...if i'm disabling the memory expansion, is the gery adapter disabled too? Someone said after disabling his memory expansion his amiga still shows 1,5mb whether the memory expansion is disabled or not.

2. Next question, can you provide the eagle files only from the memory expansion without the gery adapter? This would be fantastic, so everyone can use the rev.C gary adapter and rev B from the memory expansion and can choose if he only wants the memory expansion without the gary adapter (gary adapter is not always needed).

3. C12 you wrote 4,7 uF tantalum capacitor but in eagle layout there is written 100nf ...so what is correct? If 4,7uF tantalum is correct, you should change this part to 1210 because 0805 is very rare for this component, can't get this for cheap money.
1. JP4 on the adapter can disable it.

2. I didn't make such a file. Maybe one day I'll join Mathesar's adapter and the original board into one gerber. Removing the adapter doesn't save you any money though, 10x10 boards tend to be the same price as 10x5.

3. Put in a >= 2.2uF ceramic. I think I measured that 1uF isn't enough, but 2.2uF was more than enough.
PeteAU is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 19:40   #99
katarakt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 110
Ok, thanks PeteAU

It's totally still confusing because BOM #61 and BOM RTC#14 are different to some eagle layout infos.

In eagle sch layout there says C11 is tantal (without value) and C12 is 100nf and RTC info #14 says tantal C12 ???

Would be great if you can give us a corrected detailed BOM, what means "* Lots of 100nF 0805 X7R capacitors" ?....can i use everywehre 100nf except the ones you wrote in parts list for RTC?

I'm still confused

....so here is the not correct old complete "BOM" from #14 and #61:


* Lots of 100nF 0805 X7R capacitors

For 512K:
* 1 x 1Mx16bit SOJ42 DRAM
* 1 x 56pin (2x28) 2.54mm double row right-angle header (or 2x40pin and cut it)

For A500+ 1MB:
* one more DRAM

For Gary Adapter:
* more DRAMs (any number you want)
* 1 x 74F139 (surface mount) (or maybe 74LS139 is fast enough)
* 2 x 74F00 (surface mount) (or maybe 74LS00 is fast enough)
* 3 x 3-pin jumper headers
* 3 x jumpers
* 2 x 24-pin DIP sockets
* 2 x round pin strips
* Wires and some 2 and 3-pin 2.54mm connectors of your choice (see my photos from previous page).

The parts list for RTC:

U4: OKI M6242B (I got some second hand ones from AliExpress for $2)
Y1: 32.768KHz MC306 crystal
C10: 100K 0805 resistor
C13: 100nF 0805 capacitor
C12: 4.7uF 10V 0805 tantalum capacitor
R1, R2, R3: 10K 0805 resistor
R4, R5: 330-470 0805 resistor
D1: BAT721C or BAT54C diode
C14,C15: 22pF 0805 capacitor
Battery Holder: Some cheap ebay one.

Alternatively, get a RTC-62421/72421 and you can leave off Y1, C14, C15. It makes it simpler.
katarakt is offline  
Old 25 July 2017, 05:53   #100
PeteAU
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
* Lots of 100nF 0805 X7R capacitors
There's enough pads to put 1, 2 or 3 decoupling caps for each DRAM chip. I'm not going to scientifically measure how many you need, but probably 2 per chip is plenty.
So populate C1, C2, C4, C5, C7, C8, C21, C22 with 100nF.


Quote:
Originally Posted by katarakt View Post
The parts list for RTC:

U4: OKI M6242B (I got some second hand ones from AliExpress for $2)
Y1: 32.768KHz MC306 crystal
C10: 47K-100K 0805 resistor (yes a resistor!)
C13: 100nF 0805 capacitor
C12: >=2.2uF 10V 0805 tantalum or ceramic capacitor
R1, R2, R3: 10K 0805 resistor
R4, R5: 220-470 0805 resistor
D1: BAT721C or BAT54C diode
C14,C15: 22-27pF 0805 capacitor
Battery Holder: Some cheap ebay one.

Alternatively, get a RTC-62421/72421 and you can leave off Y1, C14, C15. It makes it simpler.
Ignore the eagle file, the above BOM is good. Even C10 as a resistor is right.
PeteAU is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modern Trapdoor RAM killed my A500 Silwuff New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 15 August 2016 09:29
Homemade A500 trapdoor expansion? cabal Hardware mods 5 01 December 2014 21:44
WTB: two(2) A500 trapdoor slot covers papa_november MarketPlace 0 25 December 2008 09:17
Trapdoor expansion options for A500 Impakt support.Hardware 7 20 March 2008 06:05
A500 Plus Trapdoor Expansion TheCorfiot support.Hardware 10 14 March 2008 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09859 seconds with 14 queries