English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 August 2015, 23:12   #1
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
CD32+SX32, possible power mod.

I have always experienced my CD32/SX32 combo somewhat unstable, it will randomly just reboot for no appearant reason, often enough to be annoying, but not often enough to be obviously faulty. Lately I have read that the power lines through the expansion riser may not be enough to power the board well enough, and considering that my SX32 Pro is fully featured, with 030+882@50MHz and 32MB RAM as well as a 250GB disk, I can imagine that this may be a problem with my system. So, I am thinking of adding a wire or two from the PSU port directly to the SX32. Thoughts? Maybe this mod has been done by others before?
kolla is offline  
Old 09 August 2015, 20:36   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,713
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I have always experienced my CD32/SX32 combo somewhat unstable, it will randomly just reboot for no appearant reason, often enough to be annoying, but not often enough to be obviously faulty. Lately I have read that the power lines through the expansion riser may not be enough to power the board well enough, and considering that my SX32 Pro is fully featured, with 030+882@50MHz and 32MB RAM as well as a 250GB disk, I can imagine that this may be a problem with my system. So, I am thinking of adding a wire or two from the PSU port directly to the SX32. Thoughts? Maybe this mod has been done by others before?
What PSU are you using, as I had one recently, randomly not booting.
Turned out to be the PSU not powerful enough.
FOL is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 00:09   #3
Nibbler
namm namm AMIGA

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 40
Posts: 734
I would go for a Compact Flash Card, instead of a Harddisc.
That should get rid of you´re Power problem.

( it did it for me, and a CF is better anyways )

Just a hint, you decide.
Nibbler is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 08:52   #4
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 149
An original Amiga psu has not enough power for a SXpro. I recommend you a PSU with a powerfull and stable 5V rail. Be aware that most of the new ATX PSU are focusing on the 12V rail.
AMike is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 09:21   #5
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
and a CF is better anyways
Is it? care to explain your reasons why you think this?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 11:08   #6
AMike
Registered User
AMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: near Vienna/Austria
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
Is it? care to explain your reasons why you think this?

Less power consumption than a harddisk.
AMike is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 11:38   #7
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,210
And less retention too. Roughly 5 years switched off and it will have lost it's data.
alexh is offline  
Old 10 August 2015, 23:30   #8
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 663
I've got one of my first hard disks I had in 1995 it's now 20 years old it still works fine without errors. Mechanical hard drives are tried and tested over decades and are still reliable, i'd trust one of them with my data over CF any day of the week. It might save a tiny amount of electricity running a CF hard drive but it's a myth people have bought into that they are better than mechanical hard drives in my opinion.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 00:33   #9
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
I use a have used both original PSU and via molex on an AT PSU, it makes no difference. Replacing the disk is an option I am considering. I have replaced the disk over the years and I expect the current disk draws much less than the first disk, behaviour has been steady though. I am thinking of pulling power directly from the power socket to the power pins on the IDE socket.
kolla is offline  
Old 11 August 2015, 00:37   #10
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 648
I connected the +5V on the SX32 HDD connector directly to the +5V feed of the CD32. This fixed most of my stability issues with the SX32 Pro. I don't have any good photos at the moment of this mod.

Cleaning the edge connector with IPA and the 'shuttleboard' with contact cleaner also help. Check the two 1000uF capacitors inside the CD32, a lot of them were fitted backwards and fail. I have not re-capped any of my Amigas, including the CD32, though I changed the aforementioned PSU caps as they had failed, being installed backwards.

You need a 30W+ PSU for a SX32 Pro, the CD32 original will not work.
Stedy is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 00:30   #11
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Thank you Stedy, that is exactly my plan. I will check the caps. As for PSU, did at some point buy DC-DC adapters, maybe from you, so I can fit a PicoPSU inside, just never got around to actually doing it. Hopefully in a few weeks when I am home again. It's amazing what one year backpacking, far away from my stuff, can do with inspiration
kolla is offline  
Old 15 August 2015, 00:45   #12
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
I also intend to get a plibbox for my CD32/SX32, use a ribbon cable from the SX32 parallel port and mount the arduino somewhere inside, so the CD32 gets a nice little ethernet port
kolla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 Keyboard with SX32 Gordon support.Hardware 12 11 May 2009 20:13
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 20:36
CD32+Sx32 ->How to boot with CD32 mode Rochabian support.Hardware 10 04 February 2007 14:33
CD32, SX32 Etc LuKeY MarketPlace 4 21 April 2006 16:31
sx-1 or sx32 for cd32 ggizmotigger MarketPlace 0 14 February 2006 01:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07674 seconds with 15 queries