English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2008, 05:10   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Silly OCS/ECS/AGA display question

Stupid questions time

Please see this auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Amiga-Video-Adapter-to-PC-monitor-VGA-MultiSync-new_W0QQitemZ170260750993QQihZ007QQcategoryZ98928QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


This is the phrase that confuses me:
“If you don't have a such 15 khz monitor, you can use the adaptor only for the Amiga 1200 / 4000”

What exactly does this mean? Do AGA machines output at a higher frequency? I didn’t know that!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 05:51   #2
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
yep, A1200/4000 can use productivity "driver" or DBL_NTSC or DBL_PAL (you need the VGAonly "driver" on the monitors drawer, too).

Only useful to Workbench and applications who uses the same WB resolution. Don't work with games and applications who use their own screen mode (normally 15kHz).

Those "drivers" forces AGA chipset to generate a 31kHz screen mode. Slow as hell, of course.
rkauer is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 05:54   #3
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
yep, A1200/4000 can use productivity "driver" or DBL_NTSC or DBL_PAL (you need the VGAonly "driver" on the monitors drawer, too).

Only useful to Workbench and applications who uses the same WB resolution. Don't work with games and applications who use their own screen mode (normally 15kHz).

Those "drivers" forces AGA chipset to generate a 31kHz screen mode. Slow as hell, of course.
Perfect answer, thanks Rkauer!

I already knew you could force Workbench to do 31kHz, but of course with the seller saying what they did it seemed very cofusing.

This means heaps of A1200 owners will buy his product & find it's not doing what they hoped it would...dishonesty on his part I say!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 06:15   #4
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,033
Hmm, it does exactly what he says it will do. I have a couple of these type of adapters already and they are needed if you want to hook up a vga monitor multisync or otherwise to the 23 pin video connector on the amiga.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 06:40   #5
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
It's in the wording man, maybe because he's German, or maybe just because he doesn't think dumbasses like me will get confused

BTW, I have an old-as-the-hills monitor at home I'd like to try & have scoured Aminet for schematics...to no avail. Anyone got a schematic to make on of these?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 10:38   #6
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@fingers

As far as I am aware my friend they are passive, simply a cable convertor.
So using pinouts for the Amiga 23 pin & std VGA connectors, you should be able to wire one up quite easily.

Don't forget the piccies

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 11 September 2008, 11:35   #7
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Cool man, leaving on an interstate trip tomorrow, but I've already got the 23 pin connector, so will look for the pinouts & chuck something together next week

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chaos Engine 2, AGA vs. OCS/ECS? rsn8887 Amiga scene 16 17 November 2012 15:12
Using an LCD/TFT display with an OCS/ECS/AGA Amiga Photon support.Hardware 1 15 August 2009 00:28
OCS/ECS , AGA Diffrencies Kyon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 10 June 2009 11:43
Question about AGA display data fetches FrenchShark Coders. General 7 30 December 2007 16:40
ecs ocs games on aga memothejanitor support.Apps 4 16 June 2007 04:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06715 seconds with 13 queries