English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 May 2018, 04:15   #1
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
WinUAE and the Microsoft Surface

I own a Surface Pro 4, and it's just now occurred to me that I could conceivably install Amiga Forever on this thing and play Lemmings with a touchscreen interface, which has been a dream since basically forever.

The question is, though, do WinUAE and Amiga Forever play nice with touchscreen devices like the Surface? Does anybody have any experience in this area? Or am I flying blind?
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 26 May 2018, 08:49   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,908
Unfortunately it is not possible without game specific hacks.

Touch screen/drawing tablets send absolute coordinates (absolute pixel position) but mouse is relative device ("mouse moved 5 units left from previous position", there is no origin or absolute start position and software's mouse movement unit to pixel mapping can be anything or even dynamic (mouse acceleration).

Generic conversion between different devices is not possible if program takes over the system (like most games). Only fix is game specific patches that directly inject absolute coordinate to game's internal mouse (x,y) position variables.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 May 2018, 17:06   #3
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,845
Surface Laptop would work but it’s not a tablet.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 29 May 2018, 09:43   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,633
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Install TabletPro (lets you use whole screen as mouse).
Set WinUAE to windowed mode (with no borders) and align so, you have a one line gap top or bottom (allows it to not take over every control, forcing you to reset if you dont).


It works great. You can even use tablet pros onscreen xbox controller if needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromania View Post
Surface Laptop would work but it’s not a tablet.
Surface is a tablet, with the option to attach keyboard.
FOL is offline  
Old 29 May 2018, 13:20   #5
Leo42
Senior Member
Leo42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris
Posts: 124
Quote:
Surface is a tablet, with the option to attach keyboard.
There are several Surface types:
- Surface Pro is a tablet that can have a keyboard attached
- Surface Book is a laptop (with a touchscreen) that can have its screen detached & work as a tablet
- Surface Laptop is a laptop with a touchscreen (screen cannot be detached from the keyboard)

There are ports of ScummVM to devices with touchscreens (like smartphones, gaming devices), I wonder how they implemented the mouse moves.

@Tony wouldn't it be possible to have WinUAE send a mousemove + mouseclick once the user taps somewhere on the screen ? This way WinUAE could have basic support for these touch devices, at least for basic Workbench operations.
Leo42 is offline  
Old 30 May 2018, 21:09   #6
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 39
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo42 View Post
...basic support for these touch devices, at least for basic Workbench operations.
Workbench and system friendly software works fine with tablet input. I used it with my wacom for example and it works just fine in DPaint,XiPaint or ArtEffect(no working pressure support yet afaik).

It's only software that bangs the HW directly, like most games, that won't work with tablet or touchscreen input.

Workbench or better input.device can handle the data and translate it to a valid pointer position but most games just ignore it because they expect mouse data.

The problem is that the tablet has to know the resolution of the screen to tell the pointer to go to position x:1220,y:783 for example with one corer of the sceen as 0 for x,x and a mouse is just telling the pointer go 1 pixel left,right,up or down. Most(all) Amiga games expect the latter one.

But that mentioned input wrapper and a borderless window mode for the emulator sounds like it may work.
From how I understand it the Windows and Amiga mouse have the same position in that scenario even if both use different resolutions. So where ever you toch the screen the mouse will be at this very position inside the emulation window,too.

Last edited by Michael Sykes; 30 May 2018 at 21:15.
Michael Sykes is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating large DirectDraw surface fails mark_k support.WinUAE 17 30 August 2017 22:20
How to stop WinUAE going to Microsoft site? Minuous support.WinUAE 2 23 April 2011 10:26
Magnetic surface duration Another World project.SPS (was CAPS) 1 10 September 2008 20:10
A1200 or how to test for a faulty surface mount 8520? gizmomelb support.Hardware 14 10 February 2007 12:01
Socketed vs Surface mounted mobos Firthy2002 support.Hardware 6 06 September 2004 20:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06419 seconds with 13 queries