English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 April 2010, 14:11   #1
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 400
Heroes of the Lance & Dragons of Flame

Hi,

I'd be happy to see both these SSI games WHDified as they seem to be really picky about the hardware they run on. At the moment it would seem that I'd need to buy an A500 to be able to play these on a "real thing" so I'd be happy to supply both games to whoever could make the WHDLoads instead.
mk1 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 April 2010, 15:59   #2
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I had requested Heroes of the Lance here late 2008, but I don't think there are enough capable programmers free. Maybe if one of the coders could somehow be tricked into getting hooked on the game?

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=487883&postcount=27
Calgor is offline  
Old 06 April 2010, 09:30   #3
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 400
Yeah, those games are rather bad gameplay wise but I still think they deserve the WHDload treatment. I'm sure it's not a big task as you could make them run almost with degraders etc.
mk1 is offline  
Old 06 April 2010, 10:28   #4
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I actually liked Heroes of the Lance gameplay and music intro wise. Especially going for the jumps over cliffs. Smiley was not for they are bad.
Calgor is offline  
Old 27 August 2011, 22:03   #5
Hillsy_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 242
I was just recently playing this on the PC, the intro music came on then...all silent throughout the game. Then I was reminded, Heroes of the Lance was also an Amiga game..but then I looked and no WHDLoad version, I was surprised! I didn't know Dragon of Flame wasn't there too. Damn, oh well..add another to the wishlist for WHDfied..

+1 Heroes of the Lance WHDLoad Version.. and I might as well join the crowd and say
+1 Dragon of Flame WHDLoad Version.

I hope these get the WHDLoad treatment someday, and for any of those who do undertake the task I salute you.

Now where are my Heroes ADF's.. Might aswell dig out the old Dragon of Flame too..
Hillsy_ is offline  
Old 20 September 2011, 19:09   #6
TTD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Copenhagen/Denmark
Posts: 136
Send a message via MSN to TTD
Would love to see a WHDLoad version of this game, that is working.
TTD is offline  
Old 06 February 2012, 02:20   #7
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
just bumping this heehhe i remember a buddy bought Heroes Of The Lance and i borrowed it the same day and beat it in 2 hrs. But still a good game. Would love to see a whdload version of this. sooooo BUMP BUMP please somebody...

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 28 April 2012, 05:57   #8
desiv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,178
Funny, I was going thru some disks I'd picked up a bit ago, and one of them was Dragon's of Flame..
And I realized, I hadn't tried it yet...

Now, I have some "uniquely equipped" Amigas.

So, I try it in my Amiga 500...
What's unique? He has a DKB MegaCHIP for 2M CHIP and a homebrew non-autoconfig 8M Fast RAM card.
So I try the game.. GURU.. Hmm

OK, I try it on my Amiga 1000. He has 512k CHIP standard, but also a homebew non-autoconfig 4M Fast RAM card AND a homebrew non-autoconfig CF/IDE sidecar drive.
So I try the game, and I get some words... Color changes, and.. NOTHING..

I research, and it doesn't like too much CHIP (someone said)..
So I get a degrader and try the A500 again, tell it half a meg CHIP...
I get letters.. and a color change and nothing..

OK, what's up with the A1000? It should probably work there...
Ah.. I have a KickWork floppy, which has the kickstart, which is patched and then it boots (same floppy) and loads the IDE driver and passes control to the CF/IDE..
SO.. I get my standard Kickstart floppy. Boot. OK..
Dragon's of Flame disk.. letters.. and ... GAME!!!!

Still not sure why it didn't like my A500 (DKB Megachip, even tho I degraded?), but it likes the A1000 with a standard kickstart..

Don't think I'll bother trying on my A1200.. ;-)

And actually, I died REALLY FAST not knowing what I was doing.. Not sure I'm too impressed with that game..

And... It's VERY picky..

:-)

desiv
desiv is offline  
Old 28 April 2012, 13:39   #9
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
Would love to see a whdload version of this. sooooo BUMP BUMP please somebody...
I am currently working on WHDLoad patches for both games. They'll hopefully be finished soon.
StingRay is offline  
Old 30 April 2012, 13:04   #10
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
@ StingRay



Look forward to it.
Calgor is offline  
Old 30 April 2012, 23:57   #11
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
awesome!!!!!
done yet.. done yet????



lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 02 May 2012, 08:36   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
I just got Dragons of Flame working when I arrived at work. Heroes of The Lance is not yet working due to an access fault which I need to fix.
StingRay is offline  
Old 02 May 2012, 15:34   #13
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 46
Posts: 1,230
It's great to see you're back here !

Hope you'll think to me too
lolafg is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 20:44   #14
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
I have finished the Heroes of the Lance patch and just sent it to Wepl. Should be available on the WHDLoad site soon.

Dragons of Flame patch is almost finished too but there are some graphics errors left to fix.
StingRay is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 22:26   #15
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,020
Hi StingRay, I get this error when trying to run your Heroes of the Lance slave.
Code:
DOS-Error #218
(device (or volume) is not mounted)
on locking "SOURCES:WHD_Slaves/HeroesOfTheLance/
Never seen that error message before.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 22:33   #16
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
Hmm, looks like there's the debug version of the slave in the archive. I'll fix that, thanks for reporting!
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 06:23   #17
xaind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney / Australia
Posts: 99
I ran the install and played the game through to completion. Everything works very well (I re-assembled the slave to get rid of the debug issue).

I really like how you've done such a thorough job - QuitKey, Manual protection removed and the new multiple-saves system. A truly excellent piece of work.

Thank you very much also for releasing the source.
xaind is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 10:32   #18
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by xaind View Post
I ran the install and played the game through to completion. Everything works very well (I re-assembled the slave to get rid of the debug issue).
That's nice to hear! And it's one of the reasons that I always release my patches with source, if there are problems people can play with the source to fix them like you did here. Cool!
I sent the release version of the slave to Wepl yesterday, should hopefully be available on the WHDLoad site soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xaind View Post
I really like how you've done such a thorough job - QuitKey, Manual protection removed and the new multiple-saves system. A truly excellent piece of work.

Thank you very much also for releasing the source.
Thanks for your kind words. I actually release all my WHDLoad patches with full sources. Now I'll have to fix the graphics bugs in Dragons of Flame and then that one is finished too.

Thanks a lot for your feedback, much appreciated.
StingRay is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 17:26   #19
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Happy

Testing on Amiga 600 030 33mhz, works perfectly so far.

I have a small improvement suggestion. Using JoyFire2 to bring up the game menu like Spacebar would be really useful.

Good job.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 22:37   #20
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,886
Good idea indeed. Will be implemented some time in the future.
Thanks for testing and feedback.
StingRay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heroes of the Lance & Dragons of Flame mk1 support.Games 5 24 March 2010 20:58
Heroes of the Lance xaind HOL contributions 1 07 January 2010 15:31
Stuck on Dragons Of Flame Andrew support.Games 2 04 February 2002 19:24
Dragons of Flame CRSV` support.WinUAE 1 18 January 2002 00:14
Heroes of the lance... keil81 support.Games 3 16 December 2001 12:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08919 seconds with 13 queries