English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2019, 01:12   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
Games that are better from ADF than WHDLoad

Hi All,

I have recently been playing Golden Axe on my A1200 and I noticed that the game is noticeably better running off gotek than WHDload:

* It runs faster (to be expected because WHDload slows the machine down for compatibility if I understand correctly?).
* The sound is noticeably better - this really surprised me - the WHDload version sounds about half-quality compared to the adf (real floppy on my A1000 sounds crappy just like WHDload). It's like the samples have gone from 8-bit to 16-bit on the adf version (yes, I know this isn't actually possible).

Final fight also has missing title music in the WHDload version (and again, slows down more).

Has anyone else noticed this?

Are there any other games known to play (sound?) better from disk images?
Marchie is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 01:37   #2
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,812
Dragon Ninja, ADF Has music, Whdload Doesn't.

Correct me if I'm wrong?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 01:47   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,208
I could name many but can't be bothered...

WHDLoad is great and all that; and enables people with real A1200's / higher spec Amiga's to play older OCS / ECS games but... it comes at a cost:
  • Sometimes crazy amounts of RAM are required for games that would usually run with 512KB - 2MB Chip / 4MB Fast RAM max; otherwise the game won't even start or has "screen flashing".
  • Loads way too fast so you miss cool tunes etc.
  • Missing title screens / other parts; off the top of my head, "Pinball Prelude (Disk 1 - Past)" / "Pinball Prelude (Disk 2 - Present)" / "Pinball Prelude (Disk 3 - Future)".
Personally I stick to ADFs + "native" installs and only use WHDLoad if major bug fixes have occurred which are not in the disk / native versions... but I have that luxury as I only emulate these days, so can switch to any Amiga model / configuration very easily.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 03:23   #4
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mullingar
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Dragon Ninja, ADF Has music, Whdload Doesn't.

Correct me if I'm wrong?
Beta version in the zone has the music
lmimmfn is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 05:41   #5
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 498
I'm curious as to how or why the adf would have better music than the original disk? (floppy on an A1000/1.5meg compared to adf on A1200/10meg)
Marchie is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 08:12   #6
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
I'm curious as to how or why the adf would have better music than the original disk? (floppy on an A1000/1.5meg compared to adf on A1200/10meg)
Perhaps the low pass filter on the audio output is enabled when running from the original disk and disabled when running from the version you have on adf.
MickGyver is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 12:05   #7
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 762
The final fight missing music has been fixed now. Make sure you download the 1mb version.
Superman is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 12:13   #8
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,443
open a mantis ticket when this happens. It's just a memory issue most of the time.
jotd is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 16:42   #9
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 148
The Settlers. - Level codes don't input (keyboard doesn't input the code)

Theme Park AGA - Grinds to a halt after 5 minutes.
sneckburger is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 17:36   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,385
I'm not sure about Settlers, but Theme Park has its own HD installer anyway. I played that from hard drive back in the day without any issues.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 17:39   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,208
Yup, The Settlers has it's own HD installer too and that's what I use

Quote:
Originally Posted by HD notes
HD install is on disk 1.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 18:39   #12
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,861
Only if there are still bugs in a WHDLoad slave. A perfekt WHDLoad patch is always better than a tedious disk image with trackloader.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 19:20   #13
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 206
I've noticed that with 'The Settlers' and 'K240' WHDLoad versions when saving a game the screen tends to flash a lot and sometimes the save will fail for me anyways.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 19:22   #14
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,861
Which slave version for Settlers? Stingrays v1.6 slave works fine for me (no more keyboard input/save game issues). Black Flashes during the first save in a save slot is normal. The second time you save (same slot) it's smooth.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 27 November 2019 at 20:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 19:28   #15
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 206
Yeah the latest version 1.6, though I did have a fastATA connected which might be the cause.

When saving these games does the screen normally flash?
wiz12 is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 19:34   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,861
Yes, WHDLoad is doing some switches to the OS while creating a new save in a slot. If you save again in the same slot it's much faster than.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 20:05   #17
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,443
don't report whdload issues here anyway. Check if the issue exists in mantis, and if not, create one.

I'm aware of Theme Park issues, but I couldn't reproduce them.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 November 2019, 15:58   #18
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 565
I only had trouble with Dune 2, and Whdload version run very slow on my A500 + Aca 500+.
Once I installed the Adf version, game run much much faster.

Other games - perfect so far

Actually, I couldn't run Birds of Pray, and it says it needs 020 processor... I think it should run on 68000. But haven't tried to download any other version, so it might be an easy fix (just downloading some other version)
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 28 November 2019, 16:43   #19
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,568
Original BoP just requires 1 MB, works on A1000, 500 etc, OCS/ECS. It's a 1991 game.
zipper is offline  
Old 28 November 2019, 20:42   #20
Photon
Moderator

Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
Hi All,

I have recently been playing Golden Axe on my A1200 and I noticed that the game is noticeably better running off gotek than WHDload:

* It runs faster (to be expected because WHDload slows the machine down for compatibility if I understand correctly?).
* The sound is noticeably better - this really surprised me - the WHDload version sounds about half-quality compared to the adf (real floppy on my A1000 sounds crappy just like WHDload). It's like the samples have gone from 8-bit to 16-bit on the adf version (yes, I know this isn't actually possible).

Final fight also has missing title music in the WHDload version (and again, slows down more).

Has anyone else noticed this?

Are there any other games known to play (sound?) better from disk images?
WHDLoad is always better, as long as the slave has no issues starting or finishing the game (on your Amiga model). If they have issues, report them on here on EAB.

Looks like you've found some with issues, but always check on whdload.de if you're running the latest slave version, so you're not running a pack someone made in 2011 or so.

Not all games are WHDified, and if you find one ask for it to be. Hopefully some of the WHDHeroes can donate some of their time to make it so.

Sometimes there are improvements in the WHDLoad version, like getting the latest version of each game (where the author fixed and released this version), mission disks that you never saw before, etc.

Then there's the same expectation from getting a loading screen as in modern games. Sometimes from after seeing the intro, sometimes from completing something in the game, "I did it! What's coming next...?"

In defense of the floppy, I would say also that having a gaming Amiga ready with 50 curated floppy games and picking out a disk to play can be faster and simpler than booting into WB and navigate to the game, at least if you have hundreds or thousands of games installed.
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad and ADF couterparts amiga_Forever support.Games 4 15 February 2017 13:26
WHDload and ADF PaulG support.Hardware 11 05 April 2016 06:05
Convert whdload to adf or floppy locksmith project.WHDLoad 3 16 November 2015 22:53
adf to whdload? empardopo support.Other 22 27 December 2013 00:15
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09182 seconds with 13 queries