English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2010, 20:25   #101
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
its does not work even when I put it 'unmodified'.
The old drive (Epson SMD-300) has some jumpers on the back, looks like is set as device 0 ..

chris
xc8 is offline  
Old 11 February 2010, 20:55   #102
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Then put it to device 1 (ds1) and it will work.
rkauer is offline  
Old 11 February 2010, 22:09   #103
xc8
no c= no fun
xc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Then put it to device 1 (ds1) and it will work.
the new drive is already DS1 (like all the pc floppies). I meant the old one (EPSON) seems to be DS0, as there is one jumper header [0 - 1 -2 -3] and its on 0.


chris
xc8 is offline  
Old 12 February 2010, 16:32   #104
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Where did you found DS0/DS1 on Mitsumi Newtronics D359T6? I'm searching for it.

Albeit it is a shame that a HD-ready floppy unit will go just 880kb.
Here's two pics that may help you with two diferent D359T6 PCB i found them on the web, hope this helps.
It's in German but the pics speak for themselves, i'll try to photograph mine and post it later on.



paulo_becas is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 14:34   #105
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 462
Problem with Samsung SFD-321B Rev T1; Rev T3 and Rev A

I've just noticed a big problem with the Samsung drives.
They aren't able to write a floppy.
I've tried with all the samsung drives i could find and they all have the same problem.
I can format disks without a problem but when i tried to copy some floppys they become unreadable.
Does anyone experienced the same problem???
I've tried to copy with X-copy and with Amiga Explorer through my PC and the result is the same.
The floppy's are ok, i've formatted them after trying to write them with this drives and made a copy with my PC catweasel MK4 and they work fine, so the problem is with this floppy drives.

If anyone experienced this problem and fix it please tell me how.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 24 March 2010, 00:37   #106
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 662
@Paulo becas

How are you generating the RDY logic?

If you do not source this signal correctly, XCopy will fail when you copy disks.
Stedy is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 18:19   #107
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stedy View Post
@Paulo becas

How are you generating the RDY logic?

If you do not source this signal correctly, XCopy will fail when you copy disks.
I've done everything like the pictures above, it's very strange that every single Samsung drive i've changed has the same problem.
I've double check it and i even modified another one that i had and get the same result.
paulo_becas is offline  
Old 12 July 2010, 17:59   #108
bretmac
 
Posts: n/a
Sony MFP920 Z/131 drive mod for Amiga

Paulo/all,

Sony MPF920 Z/131 drive - where are you finding the READY Signal from?

I have modified one by moving the CHNG signal to the correct PIN.

I found one post (sorry lost it) that showed a RDY signal however it's not right.... (on the oscilloscope it's jumping around all over the place).

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo_becas View Post
Here´s a list of drives i´ve modified so far.

Samsung SFD-321B Rev T1; Rev T3 and Rev A
Alps Electric DF354H090F
Mitsumi Newtronics D359T6
NEC FD1231T
Sony MPF920 Z/131
Panasonic JU-257A606P

The Samsung drives are pretty easy to modify, the others aren´t hard but Alps Elctric and NEC need you to be very steady to solder them.

I´ll post some images soon for your info.

I tried to modify diferent drives just to see where i could go.
Bottom line, if you find the right place to modify in each PCB their all pretty much the same.

They are all as DF0
 
Old 12 July 2010, 20:30   #109
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretmac View Post
Paulo/all,

Sony MPF920 Z/131 drive - where are you finding the READY Signal from?

I have modified one by moving the CHNG signal to the correct PIN.

I found one post (sorry lost it) that showed a RDY signal however it's not right.... (on the oscilloscope it's jumping around all over the place).

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks
Check out this thread, it has the info on the z/131 and a few others.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43265
kipper2k is offline  
Old 12 July 2010, 21:11   #110
bretmac
 
Posts: n/a
Kipper, great link, but no sign of a mod specific to the MPF920-Z/131...

Tried a mod on a mitsumi drive (easy since rdy clearly marked on pcb). To test the ready line I simply:

power up the drive
assert ds0
assert motor on

rdy goes low, then I stop the motor with my thumb. drive detects spin has stopped and deasserts the rdy line.

trouble is I cannot seem to find a pad on the Z/131 that shows this same characteristic... unless I am doing something wrong...?
 
Old 12 July 2010, 21:42   #111
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretmac View Post
Kipper, great link, but no sign of a mod specific to the MPF920-Z/131...

Tried a mod on a mitsumi drive (easy since rdy clearly marked on pcb). To test the ready line I simply:

power up the drive
assert ds0
assert motor on

rdy goes low, then I stop the motor with my thumb. drive detects spin has stopped and deasserts the rdy line.

trouble is I cannot seem to find a pad on the Z/131 that shows this same characteristic... unless I am doing something wrong...?
isn't the e/131 the same as the Z/131, there is a pic in that thread of one. If not i can take a look at a z/131 i have and check it out.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 July 2010, 12:05   #112
bretmac
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Kipper,

3 pictures attached of an unmodified MFP920-Z/131 Sony drive

See what you think....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2247.jpg
Views:	1352
Size:	509.2 KB
ID:	25824   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2248.jpg
Views:	1503
Size:	541.6 KB
ID:	25825   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2249.jpg
Views:	813
Size:	494.1 KB
ID:	25826  
 
Old 13 July 2010, 21:02   #113
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by bretmac View Post
Hi Kipper,

3 pictures attached of an unmodified MFP920-Z/131 Sony drive

See what you think....

Hi,

this board is almost identical to the Z/121, some of the pads are in a different area slightly.

Do the mod as shown in my thread as for the Sony Z/121 (use the HiRes pic) ...

Only one minor difference, On the square IC, follow the trace from pin 34 of the square IC to where it goes to the other IC (Pin 18) which is the 3rd pin up on the left side of that IC. Connect the wire from pin 34 of the floppy header to the solder pad just to the left of pin 18.


And thats it.

Remember, the Amiga will not recognise 1.44mb floppy discs, cover the tabs and it will work fine
kipper2k is offline  
Old 13 July 2010, 22:11   #114
bretmac
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Kipper,

Hmm... exactly like the mod I originally mentioned in my first post.

Pin 18 looks near as dammit the INDEX signal. It is *NOT* RDY.

On a 2 channel scope it is going low at exactly the same time as the INDEX signal.... Using this mod works by chance since the signal goes low at some point....


We're back to square one....any help much appreciated.
 
Old 23 July 2010, 13:37   #115
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
hello, can i have the "Samsung SFD-321B" modification pic plz ?
Anemos is offline  
Old 25 July 2010, 15:51   #116
elspero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: .
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anemos View Post
hello, can i have the "Samsung SFD-321B" modification pic plz ?
What board revision do you have?

Rev WT-05:
http://i32.tinypic.com/59wro0.jpg

Other boards may have the points in different places, but the mod is the same:
Solder DS0 instead of DS1.
Desolder resistor from DC and put it in RDY.
Solder pin 2 of floppy connector to point of DC that goes in the IC.

Last edited by elspero; 25 July 2010 at 15:57.
elspero is offline  
Old 26 July 2010, 00:06   #117
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
yep,i have rdy make one and working fine,soon my photo mod..
thanks a lot
Anemos is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 06:52   #118
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
I can confirm that the modification from post #18 from this very thread will work perfectly with an YE-Data YED-FC701WH, which is almost the same board of the YED-702D-6037D.

Researching a bit more the modification I did using the El Piloto's guide I stumble on a minor problem: besides it works flawlessly inside the Amiga, you can't use more than one drive, no matter what: any external drive will not work at all.

So the mod is good only for people with just one drive.
rkauer is offline  
Old 28 July 2010, 17:44   #119
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,074
Well.. here is my mod ,i follow "narmi" pic,
and working fine tow revision of Samsung SFD 321B, the SS-02 and KC-04
no test yet the Revision WT-02, WT-04

The revision SS-02


The mod..
Anemos is offline  
Old 21 August 2010, 17:57   #120
bretmac
 
Posts: n/a
As a follow up to my floppy thread I've done a whole load more research on Amiga Floppies at http://www.bret-mcgee.me.uk. Take a look, you might find it useful.

Any questions I'll try to answer.

Cheers
Bret
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 5.25-inch floppy disks and drives mips support.Hardware 24 03 May 2013 21:40
List of Amiga compatible PC floppy drives Olecranon support.Hardware 12 05 October 2011 18:38
Amiga floppy drives cinemawareman Amiga scene 5 17 March 2011 16:40
replacing amiga floppy drives with hard drives Gordon support.Hardware 2 06 March 2007 01:44
Copying Amiga disks using Floppy drives on a PC. hamster support.Hardware 20 24 June 2006 11:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11684 seconds with 16 queries