English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2009, 03:33   #21
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
it was simple, once i'd worked out the palette values in raw data (e.g. 0F FF being pure white), i was able to search for them in the game data (using the AR3 on my a500 to test "on the fly")

setting all values to pink/black meant i could check for anything that was being changed /missed - such as the shop data. locating that wasnt too hard either once i knew what the values had changed to.

then i extracted all the value that were stored, caluclated what they would be "doubled" and add that to the whdload patch. I'm still in the process of adding other things to it as well, and i have yet to find the 2 colours required for the hardware sprites. (a grey and a red)

edit - if i dont post much on this in the next few days it is because my laptop psu has gone down and i'm conserving the battery until the replacement arrives! looks like im back on the a1200 for actual work on it!
figuring out the first value 0F FF seems laborious/hard you went through a lot of hex?
Anyway well done
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 14:05   #22
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
$0FFF was just an example - obviously there were no FFF values because everything was < $0777


it's very easy to find a complete set of palette entries when you rip a picture with AR3 and load it in dpaint. Searching for the the right memory / file-offset address took minutes. - no manual searching required.

The only bit that took any real length of time was calculating the doubled-values.

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 08 November 2009 at 14:12.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 14:16   #23
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Ok -Sorry for questions ive never been able to alter the palette of a game- You ripped the Picture with AR3 this gave you a Perfect IFF with all corect palette how did you then figure out the RAW values of the colours used in the picture?

Edit:The RAW values you then searched for?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 14:40   #24
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
i opened dpaint (in ecs mode), loaded the picture (see screenshots above) and wrote down the value for the first few entries (using the pallete screen) .... really wasnt any more complex than that!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 14:52   #25
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Thanks for your replys ill check it out
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 18:11   #26
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Midnight Resistance WHDload Slave Update

Sorry dude ive done the obvious ripped the picture with ARIII - picture attached bellow - how do I get the HEX value for the brown for example to search memory for the brown value?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image5.png
Views:	266
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	23209  
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 18:22   #27
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Sorry dude ive done the obvious ripped the picture with ARIII - picture attached bellow - how do I get the HEX value for the brown for example to search memory for the brown value?
Pick the brown color in D-Paint ("," key) and convert the decimal RGB values to hex.
StingRay is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 18:50   #28
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Pick the brown color in D-Paint ("," key) and convert the decimal RGB values to hex.
Ok this will give me a six figure HEX -RGB -Thankyou

Edit:Brown = $503010
Ill search for this string

Last edited by Retro1234; 08 November 2009 at 19:00.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 19:57   #29
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
actually brown would be $0531 in this case. there is always a lead zero, with the RGB value filling 2 bytes.


if you boot dpaint in an OCS/ECS mode (just set uae to non-AGA) you'll find it a lot easier, as you'll have the proper values, and not the AGA ones, so less "calculation" is needed.

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 08 November 2009 at 20:02.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 20:06   #30
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
here are the values i patched (in) for the first 4 colours;

Code:
		PL_L	$955E,$00000A62	
		PL_L	$9562,$08640A86
so the originals (which you can search for) would be;
0000 0531 0432 0543
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 20:12   #31
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,435
Im using Dpaint 4 OCS and this is giving me the correct values -
Thanks again HH for your help, very intresting stuff -Im intrested in anything like this
Lesson 2 finding keyboard routines
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 20:21   #32
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
look around $68 and you will find reference to some memory locations to start looking in for keyboard routines (doesnt always work, but it's where i start - you can thank BippyM and StingRay for giving me tips like that!)
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 22:29   #33
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW View Post
Thanks.
Hmm...
Broken site? Gives me a "This site is not redirecting properly" error in Firefox. Had to use IE to view it. Hrmphhh...

Maybe a bad web server config? Took one whole minute to load; then surprisingly it worked in Firefox too. Odd.

Last edited by andreas; 10 November 2009 at 18:15.
andreas is offline  
Old 08 November 2009, 22:30   #34
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
Broken site? Gives me a "This site is not redirecting properly" error in Firefox. Had to use IE to view it. Hrmphhh...
Works fine here with Firefox.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:36   #35
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
TCD has kindly posted in the Zone for me the latest version

1.5 Beta 3
- bug in brigtness patch fixed (thanks StingRay for highlighting my flaws!)
- loading / saving of highscores added for both versions.

enjoy
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:42   #36
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,851
Great, a highscore saver. What's next (besides the jump button support)? Some extra levels?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:46   #37
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Trainer! Trainer!
TCD is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:48   #38
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
trainers and 2nd button planned.... possible cd32 pad support (i.e. including a jump button, pause etc) if i can get some assistance in doing it right.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:48   #39
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,851
For the convenience, true. But there is a cheat for unlimited continues.

http://hol.abime.net/2468/cheatcode
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 09 November 2009, 00:53   #40
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
/me ponders the irony of the "blueday" cheat!

i was actually thinking of something other than continues. check out the really impressive Thyrone trainers on the angels' crack ADF
Hungry Horace is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midnight Resistance, which is the best version? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 49 19 April 2010 20:44
Winuae + Midnight Resistance yourmum90 support.WinUAE 19 26 January 2010 17:24
Midnight Resistance Highwayman request.Old Rare Games 3 18 December 2006 16:31
Issue with Midnight Resistance... DamienD support.Games 38 04 November 2005 18:56
WHDLoad Midnight Resistance v1.3 jrom support.Games 8 28 August 2002 11:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11124 seconds with 16 queries