English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

View Poll Results: Scanlines for 720x576 games - should I stick with the old or the new method?
Old 3 11.54%
New 11 42.31%
Not sure really 3 11.54%
Don't use scanlines 9 34.62%
Voters: 26. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2018, 20:00   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
DamienD's WinUAE Collection - [720x576] Old vs New Scanlines

Quote:
Originally Posted by WallyGR View Post
Thanx Damien! I am eager to try the new update

Sorry for bringing this up again but...
If we know which games are 640*480 and which are 720*576, I THINK we can work out a scanline configuration for each resolution and apply it in accordingly...can't we?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I can definitely tell you how to work out which games are 640x480 or 720x576

Just use Notepad++, "Search" --> "Find in Files", then for "Find what:" enter "gfx_width_fullscreen=720". This gives you a list of all 720x576 configurations...

I did play round with creating a custom "scanlines" like mask and things looked ok when used with only 720x576 games and there was no tearing as opposed to when setting "1:2".

When I'm home tonight I'll give you details to see what you think
Sorry for the delay WallyGR, been busy doing other tasks...

Here's what I came up with, again it's by no means perfect but; at least the scanlines are consistent and there's no tearing.

To test you need to do the following:
  • Download the attached and extract into "C:\WinUAE\Plugins\masks".
  • Load a game that has a resolution of 720x576 applied.
  • Select "Filter", next to "Masks", change "None" --> "720x576_Scanlines.png".
  • Under "Extra Settings" select "Scanline opacity" and set as "0".
The big question is, does the above look better than the current settings for 720x576 games?
Attached Files
File Type: rar 720x576_Scanlines.rar (2.8 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by DamienD; 11 October 2018 at 22:00.
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 23:50   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
DamienD's WinUAE Collection - Old vs New Scanlines

Yeah all good man

To be honest; I'm very interested in what people who keep scanlines on i.e. the default setting in my collection; think about post #1288.

I've been testing numerous 720x576 games and think that I may swap to this... but I would really like people to test / give feedback first as it's quite a big change and will affect all of you so...

Feedback please
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:20   #3
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,134
Scanlines Test

New



Vs

Old


New looks better more brighter and less dull with that scanline feel.
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 03:42   #4
dragon57
Registered User

dragon57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 15
Another vote for the new way.
dragon57 is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 08:41   #5
WallyGR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 9
Damien I would love to participate in a scanlines testing.

Believe it or not, I cannot play games in LCD if a (correct) scanline shader or effect is not present.

Best way to test is in monochrome light coloured screenings (eg a light blue workbench screen)
WallyGR is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 09:23   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Scanlines Test

New



Vs

Old


New looks better more brighter and less dull with that scanline feel.
Unfortunately the old way doesn't look like this though, wish it did as then I wouldn't be messing around...

When you take screenshots it's before the 720x576 "scaling" so the scanlines are even; just like when in "Windowed" mode.

Have a look at the old way when in "Fullscreen" and you'll notice that the scanlines are not even at all.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 09:27   #7
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,134
Can you throw up a workbench desktop old and new?
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 09:33   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
You can't capture this in a screenshot unfortunately...

Best way to see the old method / uneven scanlines is to start a 720x576 game and immediately pause emulation while the grey screens are flicking through. You'll then see what WallyGR has been talking about.

You don't really notice that much when in-game screens are present unless you look really hard.

Afterwards do the same with the new method to compare.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 10:33   #9
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 3,134
Oh well I gave it a try and...

Deluxe Galaga [AGA] - Grey loading screen

New


Old


New - Looks more even....

But that's an opinion from a guy who generally plays with no scanlines
ransom1122 is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 11:04   #10
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 756
Not easy to see something without playing with the orientation of the screen
malko is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 11:08   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransom1122 View Post
Oh well I gave it a try and...

Deluxe Galaga [AGA] - Grey loading screen

<snip>

New - Looks more even....

But that's an opinion from a guy who generally plays with no scanlines
This screen is too dark to see anything.

Best to pause emulation on a very light grey, pure white or light blue screen to see the issue.

Anyway, again, you cannot capture this in a screenshot... the scanlines look even there.

You can only see it when in "Fullscreen" mode.
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 23:34   #12
speshady
Registered User

speshady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: currently in Glasgow but from Derbyshire/England
Age: 45
Posts: 30
Sorry, i prefer the old. New appears to look blockier than the old.
Maybe its just my eyesight though...
speshady is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 01:12   #13
dax
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 14
New is better. Thanks for the improvement, Damien
dax is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 09:26   #14
WallyGR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 9
Silly question ahead:
I cannot find the "new". Damien can you post an old and a new config of a 720*576 game so I can test and post workbench pictures tested in 1080p display?

Thanx!

EDIT:SORRY I HAVE JUST NOTICED THERE WAS AN ATTACHMENT!

Last edited by WallyGR; 13 October 2018 at 10:51.
WallyGR is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 11:40   #15
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,048
can i download old mask somewhere to be able to compare?
in first post there is only the new one attached.
honx is offline  
Old 13 October 2018, 18:04   #16
Specksynder
Registered User
Specksynder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Apolidia
Posts: 415
New.
Specksynder is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 14:15   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by speshady View Post
Sorry, i prefer the old. New appears to look blockier than the old.
Maybe its just my eyesight though...
I know what you mean, the new scanlines are like double scanlines but it's the only way I could get them to look consistent.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 14:16   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by honx View Post
can i download old mask somewhere to be able to compare?
in first post there is only the new one attached.
I didn't use any masks previously, just the scanlines via "Filters" set at 50% opacity.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 19:02   #19
WallyGR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 9
The 1000 Miglia game is excellent for testing scanlines.
After the boot,the game displays a red screen with the (crack?) team info where you are stuck unless you press the mouse button.

I have tested all available masks, and Damien's is the best choice.

Surely not the perfect scanlines BUT WAY BETTER than the uneven thing that comes with the default settings (that is excellent for 640*480 games).

I have tested in a 1080p display.

I vote the New config and I will be very happy if Damien can post a new set of configs for the 720*576 games.
WallyGR is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 22:10   #20
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I didn't use any masks previously, just the scanlines via "Filters" set at 50% opacity.
okay, that's similar to what i'm using (40% opacity).
honx is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DamienD's WinUAE Collection DamienD project.MAGE 1305 Yesterday 12:35
Scanlines offset in WinUAE lbg83430 support.WinUAE 2 25 September 2018 13:02
Modifying WinUAE's scanlines line mode mark_k support.WinUAE 24 18 November 2013 21:07
Scanlines don't work in new mini WinUAE dreamkatcha support.WinUAE 0 27 July 2003 17:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08691 seconds with 17 queries