English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2018, 21:44   #2861
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Ciao Peter if you are interested in AROS, the info.datatype has been created that allows you to modify the graphic part of the native Amiga icons (Glow Icons and PNG) with the excellent ZunePaint; the OS4 icons are unfortunately not seen well

I asked the developer of ZunePaint the possibility to save in the same format, hopefully well, at the moment they can be saved in PNG

http://aros-exec.org/modules/newbb/v...orumpost110020

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 10 October 2018 at 22:17.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 10 October 2018, 23:24   #2862
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
Thanks for the info, Carlo. But I must admit that I'm not an icon designer, due to my lags of creativity, skills and my lazyness. I did never ever create a single good looking icon.

There are already two TrueColor icon editors for OS4 available which support OS4 and PNG icons, but I never really used them yet except for some compatibility tests to check my icons.

On OS 3.9 I have the icon.datatype installed, which can load OS 3.5 icons and OS4 icons, which have been converted by my lib. PNG icons are never a problem, since any png.datatype can load them. PPaint can also handle icons, even with both images.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 October 2018, 23:42   #2863
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post

There are already two TrueColor icon editors for OS4 available which support OS4 and PNG icons, but I never really used them yet except for some compatibility tests to check my icons.
Yes, I use Icon Editor OS4 to reduce the icons to be used on AfA OS, see screenshots

Even I am not a graphic artist sometimes I enjoy cutting out some images and creating icons Dual-PNG for some games but nothing more,my two children are good at the same time 3D graphics (started with DeluxPaint)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 17 October 2018 at 08:49.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 00:09   #2864
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
I've tested with Ken's Icons v4, that are PNG TrueColor icons and they need, of course, much much longer for uncompressing and color reduction than OS 3.5 ColorIcons. ....

Maybe, I should try to switch off the color reduction of the 1. image for OS4 and PNG icons in HAM6/8 mode to get more speed.
I've just tried that with TC020 and HM020 now and it gives indeed a speed boost of 20-25 % for each image. Unfortunately, I can not do it without the color reduction for the 2. image, because that is always required by WB for icon dragging. But maybe it works 40-50 % faster with DOpus5, which has its own dragging routines. However, there are still a lot of small difficulties that have to be solved.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 21:45   #2865
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
Update to icon.library 46.4.504:

This update brings a big speed improvement for TC020, HM020 and hm020, because I've disabled the slow color reduction for OS4 and PNG icons wherever possible when Hi/TrueColor, Ham8 or HAM6 screens are used. Some modes are loading icons twice as fast from the Ram Disk now. The only slow thing is when Workbench updates icons which have been moved around. Please report any problems.

On DOpus5 it's recommended to use my "DOnoColormapping" command and enable the "custom dragging routines" for best speed. If you want to use other monitor drivers for HAM like SuperPlus, HighGFX or Xtreme, I would recommend to install my MemTrailer patch in case that FreeMem() Gurus are caused by DOpus5. http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/MemTrailer

The speed improvements for loading icons from hard-disk are, of course, not as big as from Ram Disk and 3.1.4 seems to be slower than OS 3.9 (no sorry, the "idle"-slider in WinUAE was moved to the right).

Strange silence, nobody seems to notice any speed boost.
I would be glad to get some feedback from real Amiga users concerning their experience with TrueColor and HAM modes.

Last edited by PeterK; 21 October 2018 at 16:01.
PeterK is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 23:19   #2866
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Then Peter took the test with icon.library 46.4.504 but it is also the same with previous versions, for the test I used a compressed icon archive so that AfA-OS could manipulate it, find the icon archive cha05e90_icons_2012 HERE

With icon.library 020 (Damaged icon border after copying icon)

With icon.library TC020 (disappears graphic icon after copying icon)

Withicon.library 020 andicon.library TC020 (associated icon "tool" no start)

With icon_lib.exe (no problem everything works)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; Today at 01:57.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old Yesterday, 00:12   #2867
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
Sorry Carlo, but I think I cannot help you much.

The 68020 version can only save in the OS 3.5 icon format, and that has no alpha channel and soft borders like the TC020 supports it.

On my system with AfA and my TC020 installed no icons are disappearing when I move them per drag&drop into RAM:. That's probably caused by your special "RemLib" solution with both libraries.

I need your tinysys.zip archive with the "bad" tool to test it here.

Last edited by PeterK; Yesterday at 00:28.
PeterK is offline  
Old Yesterday, 01:08   #2868
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Quote:
On my system with AfA and my TC020 installed no icons are disappearing when I move them per drag&drop into RAM:
No ! it only happens with those icons shown, with other OS4 icons this does not happen

Quote:
I need your tinysys.zip archive with the "bad" tool to test it here.
You do not need "tinysys.zip" it does so with "all" the "exe" files that do not have an icon

What AfA-OS do you use? you're sure your icon.library is working, as proof check on Dopus4 to click on an OS4 icon, if your icon.library is used you will see the perfect icons otherwise they will be colorless
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:31   #2869
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
None of the cha05e90_icons_2012 icons ever disappeared on my AfA 4.8 with my TC020 installed and icon_lib.exe disabled. Carlo, please use KeepPlanarImages in your startup-sequence and not KillPlanarImages if you want to display these OS4 icons with your buggy AfA_OS.

If tools without an icon should always be executed then add the tooltypes "CLI" and "DONOTPROMPT" to ENVARC:Sys/def_tool.info. AfA may use a different deficon than icon.library.

Please don't expect me to start calling "RemLIb" where it makes no sense from a technical point of view. Nice, if that trick works for you, but that's more like an accident, good luck, not a serious solution and results are unpredictable.

Last edited by PeterK; Yesterday at 13:57.
PeterK is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:28   #2870
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
After careful tests solved the enigma, the problem also occurs on AfA_WB1.4:

Problem icon "Tool"= Guilty exe.datatype (shame because it is very useful, I have to try other versions if there are)

Missing icons "problem"= Guilty ASyncWB

Now deleted exe.datatype and ASyncWB everything works perfectly with AfA-OS + icon.library TC020

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; Today at 01:56.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:43   #2871
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,330
No, AsyncWB and exe.datatype 40.2 are always installed on my system and they are not guilty. It's more likely that they are just not working correctly under your special "RemLib" solution with icon.library and icon_lib.exe running partially at the same time, but we have to blame the user for that problem and not these innocent tools.
PeterK is offline  
Old Yesterday, 13:52   #2872
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,578
Yes, it is definitely the mixture that is "explosive" I will experience something else, important that now everything works well for me, I'm just sorry for "exe.datatype" very helpful.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15948 seconds with 16 queries