English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Old 28 April 2006, 15:48   #1
Flink

AmigaOS 4.0 + AmigaONE

Hi all!

I'm a software developer and I work mainly on the Mac. I'd like to
contribute to the new AmigaOS 4.0 and start writing some cool apps, but I'm having trouble finding information and places were I can buy an AmigaONE board and AmigaOS 4 to build a new Amiga...

Has anyone here jumped on the new Amigas PowerPC based platform? Can someone guide an old and fervorous Amiga user and evangelist?

Thanks!

Old 28 April 2006, 16:01   #2
Parsec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flink
Has anyone here jumped on the new Amigas PowerPC based platform?
I'd be interested in hearing about people's experiences on this too. I'm not quite sure of the case for the Amiga PPC, personally I'd rather have a classic Amiga for compatibility with all the old software and use a PC for the other stuff including Amiga emulation of course - but everyone's different. I must say the new OS sounds very interesting and it would be cool to have one to play with
Old 28 April 2006, 16:02   #3
_ThEcRoW
Amiga NetRunner

There are no Amiga Ones available, and i think they never will. I suggest you if want to develop amigaish applications take a look at Aros www.aros.org or at Morphos.
Old 28 April 2006, 16:23   #4
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flink
Has anyone here jumped on the new Amigas PowerPC based platform?
If you mean AmigaONE - no. But I had a Pegasos with MorphOS (which is a PowerPC OS with AmigaOS 3.1 compatible API and 68k Emulator to run old software) for 3 years.
Old 29 April 2006, 01:23   #5
Parsec

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ThEcRoW
There are no Amiga Ones available, and i think they never will. I suggest you if want to develop amigaish applications take a look at Aros www.aros.org or at Morphos.
Really? I thought Eyetech were selling the boards at one point, although weren't they running Linux until the updated OS shipped?