English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2018, 20:42   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 388
JPEGDataType vs FastJPEG

Hello, I have loaded a jpeg picture with both JPEGDataType and FastJPEG and the result with FastJPEG look better (screenshot attached).

I have read the documentation that comes with FastJPEG and if I understand correctly the improved result is thanks to dithering. Is this correct? Or there is more to it?

Also is there no update for JPEGDataType so results look as good as with FastJPEG? Or this is not possible with data types?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	compare.png
Views:	111
Size:	230.5 KB
ID:	57777  
Sim085 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2018, 05:28   #2
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,026
I am just guessing from the images your provided but since the JPEG datatype example you show is displayed on a standard WB screen it seems likely that its color count is limited to that of the WB screen. This would explain why that image has very visible dithering.

The right hand side image however, clearly looks like a full screen HAM or HAM8 image and thus would be able to display way more colors than the max 256 of an AGA WB screen.

It is thus not surprising that the latter looks much better.
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 11 April 2018, 11:32   #3
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 388
Is there a way how to increase the number of colours in workbench to more than 256? (Without a graphics card). Why is there a limit of 256 colours in workbench when AGA can support more than this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadOnlyCat View Post
It is thus not surprising that the latter looks much better.

Last edited by Sim085; 11 April 2018 at 14:37.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 19:47   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,644
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=468004&postcount=14

It's only a proof of concept yet, though.
thomas is offline  
Old 12 April 2018, 22:47   #5
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=468004&postcount=14

It's only a proof of concept yet, though.
Is it somehow usable?
What I mean is if it would be a good addition as a checkbox option in a future screenmode prefs program?
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 April 2018, 17:28   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,644
You would have to rewrite more components than just screenmode prefs. Currently there is no software which supports or even considers WB in HAM mode. At least graphics.library knows that a HAM screen, although it has 8 bitplanes, has only 64 pens, so that WB does not accidently use HAM values for its GUI elements. One important component you would have to rewrite is picture.datatype so that it recognises HAM on the destination screen and returns a respektive bitmap. Otherwise only special programs like the ShowHAM program from my post linked above would make use of it.
thomas is offline  
Old 14 April 2018, 18:44   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,617
Thank you thomas.
I havent thought about the implications it might have on other OS components.
So whilst int theory usable it still will require reworking many OS structures and probably will not be compatible with a lot of 3rd party programs.
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 April 2018, 21:28   #8
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
You would have to rewrite more components than just screenmode prefs. Currently there is no software which supports or even considers WB in HAM mode. At least graphics.library knows that a HAM screen, although it has 8 bitplanes, has only 64 pens, so that WB does not accidently use HAM values for its GUI elements. One important component you would have to rewrite is picture.datatype so that it recognises HAM on the destination screen and returns a respektive bitmap. Otherwise only special programs like the ShowHAM program from my post linked above would make use of it.
Hum, I used to run Workbench in HAM8 because IBrowse (and aweb?) would then render images in HAM8, and I didn't find a way to open a HAM8 MUI screen. There are also HAM8 (and HAM6) icon packages on aminet, MUI screenmode has a "HAM" ticker... HAM mode for Workbench would be a nice addition in Amiga OS 3.1.4, hah.

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/hamwb
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/MUIScrMode1_5
http://aminet.net/package/pix/icon/HAM-Icons
kolla is offline  
Old 15 April 2018, 16:28   #9
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,617
@kolla

I also thought it could be a good addition to 3.1.4 ScreenMode prefs program and was thinking of formally requesting it, but if it is like Thomas says, it seems it requires major surgery for tiny gains, it is a no.
gulliver is offline  
Old 15 April 2018, 19:33   #10
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 388
Thanks Thomas, this worked great. I get a message "hamjpg failed return code 10" but i guess this is because it is still a proof of concept i suppose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=468004&postcount=14

It's only a proof of concept yet, though.
Hi Kola,

This package "hamwb" looks different from the one linked by Thomas. In it I can see "video6-drivers". Aminet readme says "all you have to do is double click the icon or drop it into WBStartup" but I can't understand to which icon it refers to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Hi Gulliver, well I would think more software would start to make use this feature while those that do not would look as currently already do. Isn't this so?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulliver View Post
@kolla

I also thought it could be a good addition to 3.1.4 ScreenMode prefs program and was thinking of formally requesting it, but if it is like Thomas says, it seems it requires major surgery for tiny gains, it is a no.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 16 April 2018, 19:22   #11
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,617
Well, I just took a leap of faith and requested it.

Now as usual I will get lots of complaints from the devs, and a hundred reasons why it shouldnt or cant be done
gulliver is offline  
Old 24 April 2018, 00:04   #12
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 388
I have installed MUIScrMode1_5
I don't seem to need hamwb because hamjpg works when HAM flag is checked from MUIScrModel1. Is this correct?

What I have left is a datatype to open the jpeg images in HAM mode. I have tried to use this but isn't working

http://aminet.net/package/util/dtype/WarpJPEGdt

I get the error message "Unknown datatype" when I try to open with Multiview.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Hum, I used to run Workbench in HAM8 because IBrowse (and aweb?) would then render images in HAM8, and I didn't find a way to open a HAM8 MUI screen. There are also HAM8 (and HAM6) icon packages on aminet, MUI screenmode has a "HAM" ticker... HAM mode for Workbench would be a nice addition in Amiga OS 3.1.4, hah.

http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/hamwb
http://aminet.net/package/util/wb/MUIScrMode1_5
http://aminet.net/package/pix/icon/HAM-Icons
Sim085 is offline  
Old 30 May 2018, 16:34   #13
Christoph Feck
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
There is a JFIF/JPEG DataType that can be configured to render JPEG to HAM modes.

http://aminet.net/package/util/dtype/jfif_dtc
http://aminet.net/package/util/dtype/jfif_FIX

While the readme says "New", it is rather old. Should work with original AmigaOS 3.0 or AmigaOS 3.1.
Christoph Feck is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07576 seconds with 13 queries