English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2008, 15:45   #1
flipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: newark england
Posts: 19
oops can i undue bad things to harddrive + bribe for toni

hi all
ive connected my amiga 4gb seagate harddrive to my pc via usb only 1.97 gigs showed up in windows and in hdtoolbox in the past i could delete partitions and put them back and the data would just reapear by magic when quick formatted - didn`t work on winuae how can i get my data back i have a backup copy on the harddrive in the partitions i cant access

toni help me and i have a third edition hardware reference manual in MINT condition its yours!!
flipper is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 16:35   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper View Post
hi all
ive connected my amiga 4gb seagate harddrive to my pc via usb only 1.97 gigs showed up in windows and in hdtoolbox in the past i could delete partitions and put them back and the data would just reapear by magic when quick formatted - didn`t work on winuae how can i get my data back i have a backup copy on the harddrive in the partitions i cant access
Quick format? Why?...

Tried DiskSalv? But I don't think I can help if Windows shows wrong size in Disk Manager.. Try normal IDE connector?

Quote:
toni help me and i have a third edition hardware reference manual in MINT condition its yours!!
I'll try
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 September 2008, 17:33   #3
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper View Post
ive connected my amiga 4gb seagate harddrive to my pc via usb only 1.97 gigs showed up in windows and in hdtoolbox in the past i could delete partitions and put them back and the data would just reapear by magic when quick formatted - didn`t work on winuae how can i get my data back i have a backup copy on the harddrive in the partitions i cant access
This isn't WinUAE-specific, but before doing anything else to the drive you should make a "forensic quality" image file from it. And save the image file to DVD or flash drive or whatever in case you screw up again. The way I would do that is to download a special Linux boot CD like Helix. Boot your PC from that CD then connect the hard drive and create an image file using it. (I can give more instructions, but probably another forum would be a better place to talk about that.)

Then you can make (possibly-destructive) changes to the data on the HD, since you can always restore it from the image file if something goes wrong.
mark_k is offline  
Old 14 September 2008, 02:31   #4
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
(I can give more instructions, but probably another forum would be a better place to talk about that.)
Really as this is Amiga related, and would be an ideal future knowledge resource i'm sure. There is plenty of space and on this forum, such as the prb.hardware section or it's sub forums.
exoticaga is offline  
Old 16 September 2008, 22:30   #5
flipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: newark england
Posts: 19
Thanks guys great advice did some more research and found this is a windows problem not winuae cant even get a fat32 disk to be assigned a letter many others have same problem have sent email to microsoft with all information i can

will try the linux approach to get the data already have dual boot so shouldn`t be a problem.

sorry about posting in the wrong forum

would love to see a amiga solution to the windows problem though i have freinds who have similar problems (amiga`s rescueing lost fat32 disks- just a thought)

toni read that you where after a 3rd edition hardware ref manual if still wanted you can have it you deserve it for all the work you have done email me or something let me know
flipper is offline  
Old 17 September 2008, 01:33   #6
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
You have a few options, quick help.

- Important > Don't use or power the drive until you have imaged it.
- Google a freeware DOS imaging tool.
- Boot into DOS with imaging tool. Image the drive to another drive, as an image file is prefered.
- Now you can work with the image file, after make a backup of it. Use the imaging tool to extract all your needed files, or write the image to another drive.
- For advice how to proceed in detail. Google for a hard drive repair forum.

If this helps you out, send the book to Toni as he needs it more than you do.
exoticaga is offline  
Old 17 September 2008, 14:35   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper View Post
Thanks guys great advice did some more research and found this is a windows problem not winuae cant even get a fat32 disk to be assigned a letter many others have same problem have sent email to microsoft with all information i can

will try the linux approach to get the data already have dual boot so shouldn`t be a problem.
I am quite sure it is USB adapter problem. Old/"ancient" drives do not always work with USB adapters. My guess is that they expect UDMA modes that old drives do not support or adapter only supports newer ATA specced drives.

Direct IDE connection should work as long as drive isn't really buggy (=something like some smaller than 500M IDE drives..)

Quote:
toni read that you where after a 3rd edition hardware ref manual if still wanted you can have it you deserve it for all the work you have done email me or something let me know
pm sent.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 September 2008, 22:23   #8
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I am quite sure it is USB adapter problem. Old/"ancient" drives do not always work with USB adapters. My guess is that they expect UDMA modes that old drives do not support or adapter only supports newer ATA specced drives.

Direct IDE connection should work as long as drive isn't really buggy (=something like some smaller than 500M IDE drives..)



pm sent.
I should back to school i missed reading both of those points usb and it's yours. Maybe its an age related thing, not reading a post completely. I will endevour to read all text of posts in future, before replying.
exoticaga is offline  
Old 18 September 2008, 01:45   #9
flipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: newark england
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by exoticaga View Post
You have a few options, quick help.

- Important > Don't use or power the drive until you have imaged it.
- Google a freeware DOS imaging tool.
- Boot into DOS with imaging tool. Image the drive to another drive, as an image file is prefered.
- Now you can work with the image file, after make a backup of it. Use the imaging tool to extract all your needed files, or write the image to another drive.
- For advice how to proceed in detail. Google for a hard drive repair forum.
thats something i`d not thought of will look into it at weekend cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by exoticaga View Post
If this helps you out, send the book to Toni as he needs it more than you do.
ok you might be right

toni pm received will send it at weekend no charge
flipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-Amiga things that remind you of Amiga things? Fingerlickin_B Retrogaming General Discussion 858 02 November 2018 17:30
oops, hot swapped CF HD clueless support.Hardware 21 21 February 2010 04:56
Oops!, looks like my lucky day (I think) kipper2k Hardware pics 9 07 March 2009 23:45
Oops I burned something! oldpx support.Hardware 3 13 June 2004 02:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06995 seconds with 13 queries