English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 May 2020, 21:30   #1
digitalwarfare
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Farnham
Posts: 15
DevPac Enviroment

I am currently messing with code in Devpac 3. From what I can tell from the manual, the include and fd directory are for OS 2, which is fine, but I have the developers CD's 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3. Am I correct in copying the the includes_i and fd directory found in CD0:NDK/NDK_3.5/Include/Include_i/ to DH1: Devpac/Include and the same for CD0:NDK/NDK_3.5/Include/FD to DH1: Devpac/FD ? Do I replace them directly with NDK_3.5 or do i start with 1.3 and copy them incramentally through to 3.5? If I am going to targate os 3.1, do I use only upto 3.1, or still go up to 3.5? Most people use 3.0 to 3.1 I use OS3.9 on one machine, and 3.1 on another, and 3.1.4 on another. what is the compatibility issues? should I use the LOWEST im going to targate or the highest?
TIA
Reagards
Dave
digitalwarfare is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 21:55   #2
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,927
Is there a reason you are going with Amiga side development environments?
When I started I used Devpac but quickly found that using VASM was 1000 times faster giving a huge gain in productivity.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 22:36   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Is there a reason you are going with Amiga side development environments?
When I started I used Devpac but quickly found that using VASM was 1000 times faster giving a huge gain in productivity.

What this man says.. And he has a video on youtube showing how to setup using notepad++ and I have updated the language settings for amiga 68k with a lot of the address registers and names etc
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 22:39   #4
digitalwarfare
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Farnham
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Is there a reason you are going with Amiga side development environments?
When I started I used Devpac but quickly found that using VASM was 1000 times faster giving a huge gain in productivity.
Once I get to a better level, Ill use cross assembly, like I do on the speccy, but Im starting from the beginning. I am actually using it under emulation for coding because... Screen resoloutions working on an amiga without RTG would be too much of a nightmare, but devpac seems to be just fine, at the moment
digitalwarfare is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 22:42   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 9,123
Me too, and this is the environment I am using.. I restarted last night with amiga asm.. Not a total beginner, but close enough..


Tonights task is to read the HRM and then display an image on a screen. I plan to try this without looking at anything other than the HRM and other books..








Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalwarfare View Post
Once I get to a better level, Ill use cross assembly, like I do on the speccy, but Im starting from the beginning. I am actually using it under emulation for coding because... Screen resoloutions working on an amiga without RTG would be too much of a nightmare, but devpac seems to be just fine, at the moment
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard Image.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	149.5 KB
ID:	67217  
BippyM is offline  
Old 05 May 2020, 22:51   #6
digitalwarfare
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Farnham
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
What this man says.. And he has a video on youtube showing how to setup using notepad++ and I have updated the language settings for amiga 68k with a lot of the address registers and names etc
I was watching one of those videos last night. I will be moving to cross assembly, but I'm not doing anything particularly productive at the moment, Just experimenting with code at the moment. Cross assembling just seems an unnecessary step at the moment, while just doing very basic stuff. I do find devpac quite easy to use. But I WILL be watching those videos
digitalwarfare is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 06:30   #7
Auscoder
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 70
Devpac options should allow you to set the include path, would avoid copying over existing includes, rather path it correctly. I have only used 3.1 includes so can’t halo with the later stuff.
Auscoder is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 11:24   #8
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,717
Auscoder is right, you can set the default include directory over the menu in Settings -> Assembler -> Control, or Right-Amiga-1. Or use the INCDIR keyword wenn calling genam via the command line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalwarfare View Post
should I use the LOWEST im going to targate or the highest?
Depends on your project. I would either require Kickstart 1.3 and use the 1.3 includes or OS3.1 and use the 3.1 includes. Although 3.9 includes might work as well as long as you don't use anything of the new stuff (which is unlikely).
phx is offline  
Old 06 May 2020, 19:11   #9
digitalwarfare
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Farnham
Posts: 15
Thanks, Everyone. Some great advice. Especially with vasm. got my devpac env using newer libraries . I have another question, regarding libraries. should I ask it here or start a new thread? Just checking about proper etiquette here, before I make potentially messy threads
digitalwarfare is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devpac & Devpac 2 manuals? RetrogamerRhys Coders. Asm / Hardware 3 03 February 2020 16:47
Devpac II or Devpac 3 assembler with manual. RetrogamerRhys MarketPlace 2 01 February 2020 18:33
Changing WinUAE Setting from whithin the emulated enviroment? smoorke request.UAE Wishlist 35 14 October 2017 11:49
Devpac 3 BippyM MarketPlace 11 19 July 2012 18:21
What Enviroment is installed here? D4Ni3L3 support.Apps 7 03 November 2008 19:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07281 seconds with 16 queries