English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 July 2018, 15:51   #1
mntmn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Berlin / Germany
Posts: 9
New product: MNT ZZ9000

Hi all,

I'm offering a new Amiga 2/3/4000 expansion for preorder, sort of a "big sister" to the VA2000 graphics card, the ZZ9000:

https://shop.mntmn.com/products/zz90...amiga-preorder

It is a mix of RTG graphics card, AGA scandoubler, network interface and dual 666 MHz ARM coprocessor. It is more expensive but also more powerful than the VA2000. Insights and driver improvements will also feed back into updating VA2000.

Cheers
Lukas / mntmn
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zz9000-1280.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	389.5 KB
ID:	58779  
mntmn is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 16:15   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,150
Nice. I have some ZynQ FPGA's on my desk.

Where can I read about the technical capabilities of the ZZ9000?
alexh is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 17:31   #3
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,198
Does it do 1280x1024 24bit?
trixster is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 17:41   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 36
Posts: 2,446
Check the page Trixster (RTG: Up to 1920x1080 FHD screen resolution at 8bit 256-colors "Chunky", 16bit or 32bit color depths) .. Very interesting product !!
kriz is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 17:48   #5
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,198
Sorry, didn’t read properly! Looks like a very intererting product.
trixster is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 22:06   #6
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 162
Sign me up for one! I think I can replace a few cards with this.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 23:09   #7
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 30
Posts: 486
Wait, how does the ARM co-processor work? You piqued my interest.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 10 July 2018, 23:45   #8
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,198
It would be good if it gave usb as well as ethernet
trixster is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 00:06   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,427
Looks pretty rad, very interesting.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:45   #10
watman
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Poland
Posts: 29
Would it work in A500 thru a sideport-to-Z2 adapter?
watman is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 11:48   #11
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 856
Looks awesome! Is this a complete own design or is it sort of a single board computer on a zorro adapter?
spudje is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 12:00   #12
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Looks awesome! Is this a complete own design or is it sort of a single board computer on a zorro adapter?
It's an off the shelf $119 Zynq FPGA devkit with a Zorro adapter.

A bit like MiSTer which is a DE10 nano FPGA with adapter boards.

Last edited by alexh; 11 July 2018 at 12:07.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 12:24   #13
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
It would be good if it gave usb as well as ethernet
Ethernet is mentioned and the board has USB_OTG, so I gues in theory, if a driver can be developed for Poseidon or other stack, USB would be possible too. Or am I wrong here.
spudje is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 13:15   #14
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Ethernet is mentioned and the board has USB_OTG, so I guess in theory, if a driver can be developed for Poseidon or other stack, USB would be possible too. Or am I wrong here.
Yes, I've looked at the Zync TRM and exposing the EHCI core over Zorro to the Amiga CPU should be possible. They must already be using the PL->PS layer to access the Ethernet

Last edited by alexh; 11 July 2018 at 13:25.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 July 2018, 20:51   #15
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 644
be nice to have PCI compatibility maybe add some headers for on the back or something to use a breakout board or riser
nexus is online now  
Old 12 July 2018, 00:08   #16
Kitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Christchurch / New Zealand
Posts: 45
Preorder placed
Kitch is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 00:25   #17
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 587
How does the RTG work... P96 is it? How much of the 1gb ram is available to the Amiga (if any)? any lag with the scan doubler? (especially when changing screen resolutions in pinball games for example - the indi is terrible for that). Also if pre-ordered, when will payment be taken?

Does the gfx card perfromance equal or surpass a CV64/3D etc? If i'm running a widescreen workbench, then run an aga game for example will it be displayed 4:3 as instended or stretched out?

Last edited by -Acid-; 12 July 2018 at 00:44.
-Acid- is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 01:23   #18
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,427
Also does it operate at Z3 speeds, or only Z2 speed?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 16:43   #19
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
be nice to have PCI compatibility
Why? Ultimately it will have to plug into a Zorro bus. So why go through an expensive PCI->Zorro bridge?
alexh is offline  
Old 12 July 2018, 20:25   #20
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Why? Ultimately it will have to plug into a Zorro bus. So why go through an expensive PCI->Zorro bridge?

so i can use PCI on other amiga's
and why would it be expensive to add PCI?
plenty of power on that board
nexus is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MNT VA2000, an Amiga 2000 Graphics Card (Zorro II) mark_k support.Hardware 15 30 March 2017 10:10
AmigaKit.com Product News amigakit.com News 3 31 July 2016 16:50
Product Warning! Mounty MarketPlace 7 14 May 2015 22:02
Help identifying Commodore product ! Foul request.Other 9 25 April 2010 05:17
Need a manual for a Commodore product? Paul_s support.Hardware 13 07 December 2006 18:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08916 seconds with 14 queries