English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2017, 19:46   #1
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Amiga 500 Plus boot help

Hi all

Just bought a A500 Plus of ebay

( Amiga is working but internal drive refuses to load any disks. )

So I have rerplaced it with a working drive BUT it will NOT boot the drive, and I have test it with Gotek floppy drive and that does not boot to

I do have two more A500 plus but both only show white screen so I dont know if these can be repaired so I bought another one so I am back to square one.

does anyone know what else I can try to get the main drive booting

thank all

Last edited by iowtheme; 11 May 2017 at 19:58.
iowtheme is offline  
Old 11 May 2017, 19:54   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Two things to pay attention to:

- Make sure you plugged the floppy data cable the right way.
- If you are using disks, make 100% sure the disks aren't bad before blaming the drive.
- If you are using the Gotek, do you have it flashed with the Cortex Amiga-compatible firmware?
Akira is offline  
Old 11 May 2017, 20:06   #3
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
hi Akira

flashed with the Cortex Amiga-compatible firmware ( 105a yes )

Make sure you plugged the floppy data cable the right way ( YES )

The drive what came with the amiga is completely dead, I have test it with my A500
the drive in the A500 I took out of to test in the A500 Plus
iowtheme is offline  
Old 11 May 2017, 20:11   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Ok now that we discarded the obvious (always the first step ) we could get into the more specific.

- Have you reseated all chips that lie on sockets on the motherboard? Especially the CIAs, as one of those is responsible for floppy drives working (the one next to the floppy connector).
- Did you check the motherboard for battery leaking damage?
(if not replaced, the battery must be replaced immediately to avoid leaking, if it didn't happen already)

Here's a pic of the motherboard for reference: http://www.bigbookofamigahardware.co...s_rev8a1_2.jpg
Akira is offline  
Old 11 May 2017, 20:20   #5
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Akira the battery as be rerplaced with NEW CR3v battery and in the past it has leaked from what I can see on the board but it looks like not too bad a leak.





Have you reseated all chips ( YES )

I only received it this morning 11-5-17

Last edited by iowtheme; 11 May 2017 at 23:06.
iowtheme is offline  
Old 11 May 2017, 23:09   #6
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
I have now test with my spare A500 Plus floppy drives and I am getting nothing from any of the drives and no click click sound
iowtheme is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 06:00   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Well battery leaking could be a problem, can't see much from the pic, but it's worth investigating.

Your second suspect here would be the CIA chip close to the floppy drive. Perhaps you can swap a known working one, but if there is a problem with the motherboard because of the leak, and there's a short, you don't want to ruin a working CIA. So not really sure how to proceed from here.

Let's try one more stupid suggestion first: have you tried with different data and power cables for the floppy drive?
Akira is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 08:20   #8
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Yes I have tried three date cable and still the same result

Can I take all chip from a STD A500 and put it in to the A500 plus ?

Will a external drive work ?

Last edited by iowtheme; 12 May 2017 at 08:56.
iowtheme is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 11:18   #9
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,622
You can't swap every chip, but you can swap out those which have anything to do with the floppy, since they're identical in both machines.

By all means, try to use an external drive; the A500+ will boot from it as well, unlike Kickstart 1.2 or 1.3.

If you have a multimeter, I suggest you go to amigapcb.org and select the A500+ schematics, click on each pin of the floppy connector and follow the traces backwards.
idrougge is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 15:54   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I guess if your CIA is fucked, an external drive should not work either, right?
Akira is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 23:16   #11
iowtheme
Registered User
iowtheme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Ok Akira now test it with external drive getting nothing

At boot up option only show DF0 and no DF1 when external drive is connected.

look at http://beta.amigapcb.org/# thank idrougge but this is looks very complicated I only know the basics.

I think I have bought a dud A500 Plus and it was a fair bit of money
iowtheme is offline  
Old 12 May 2017, 23:33   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
From your description it sounds to me at least one CIA is damaged.
Maybe this helps? http://www.gamesx.com/wiki/lib/exe/f...ice_manual.pdf
Akira is offline  
Old 13 May 2017, 14:55   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,622
Try to swap over the 8520 CIA chips from a working A500, as well as the Paula.

Use a flat screwdriver, insert it in the socket under the chip and twist it around its axis. Repeat on the other end of the socket.
idrougge is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 02:16
Amiga 500 REV 5 Don't Boot Screen White and Grey danko support.Hardware 8 21 September 2015 10:33
Amiga 500 won't boot h4tt3n support.Hardware 7 18 April 2012 18:29
Bought Amiga 500+ and will not boot power light flashing green kernoman support.Hardware 47 30 August 2009 21:03
A 500+ won't boot HRMeinert support.Hardware 43 09 April 2009 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07183 seconds with 13 queries