English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2008, 07:17   #1
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 52
Posts: 413
dead power supply modem

hello,

the power supply of my modem is dead.

dead:
input: 220v-50hz-200ma
output: 9v-1500ma- ~

new: uniross:
input: 220v-50hz-350ma
output: 9v - 1200ma - (see symbol explanation)

continu: (symbol explanation)
horizontal bar upper part
litle horizontal babrs lower part

original modem:

input: 220v-50hz-9v - 1000ma to 1500ma - ~


can I use the uniross power supply (see symbol) for my modem when the dead original power supply give ~ ????
mrodfr is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 09:14   #2
smoorke
Registered User
smoorke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ghent/Belgium
Age: 38
Posts: 247
Send a message via MSN to smoorke
if i understand your explanation correctly it might not work as your old one had Alternating Current (~) while your new powersupply outputs Direct Current (=) that and the maximum current it gives is 300 mA lower than whats needed
smoorke is offline  
Old 29 August 2008, 23:46   #3
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Any step transformer with 9V A(lternate) C(urrent) will be OK. Notice 9Vcc is not OK, since the step transformer always have a little less voltage (say about 8.5V AC) and the raised voltage is done by the capacitors after rectification. Or the transformer have a +5V over the output and use a regulator inside.

Go to a electronics shop and buy a proper replacement.
rkauer is offline  
Old 31 August 2008, 07:44   #4
mrodfr
Registered User
mrodfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 62-France
Age: 52
Posts: 413
hello,

what are the specifications of your power supply modem ???

Alternating Current (~) allways: 110-220V.
Direct Current (=) allways: 3-6-9-12V.

Maybe the made in china power supply for my modem has wrong specification written on the power supply.

universal adaptor uniros : ref: u0152181.
mrodfr is offline  
Old 31 August 2008, 20:01   #5
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Nope. External modems usually use 9 to 12V alternate current. I still have an old (for me) Boca 33.6 around and it uses 9V ac (rectification is done inside the modem).

Those mini step transformers are quite common in electronic shops. Just ask for one who is at least 1A capable.
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
For Sale: Dead A3000D mainboard and possibly working power supply brett71 MarketPlace 3 27 July 2010 15:20
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 15:55
Dead 500 power supply Dave_wb support.Hardware 5 12 September 2007 20:42
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 02:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06171 seconds with 13 queries