English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2008, 02:52   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition

Hi all,

Can any existing users of this device please give me some advice.

It has 2x IDE connectors (1x 2.5", 1x 3.5") & Matt from Amigakit told me that a total of 4 devices can be connected to it.

I'm wondering, are the 2 connectors for 2 different buses (since usually you can only connect 2 devices per bus)?

This would make sense, but I'm not 100% sure if it is the case.

The reason for asking is that I just purchased one & would like to figure out which cables I need to buy/make/borrow before it arrives, so I can use it straight away

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 06:36   #2
Brakus
Registered User
Brakus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 100
G'day,

The Buddhas are great, I've got one in my 2000 running my CD Drive and I'm trying to install another in my 3000 with a CF as a HD, however,
I had assumed it's two devices per bus, but now you've given me something to think about!

The Buddha comes with a 3.5 cable, I didn't have much luck finding a 2.5 cable so bought a few of them from Amigakit at the same time...
Brakus is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 10:05   #3
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
It has 2 Ports for two devices giving 4 in total,

Some versions have 1x 44Pin(port 1) 1x 40pin(port2).

If you get this version don't forget to suppy power via the Molex floppy type connector in order to power the drives.

My Mate rave has one & apart from CF issues he is very enthusiastic about it.

Good luck both

TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 31 May 2008, 13:57   #4
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Corfiot - Cheers man, that's very good news since I don't have a SCSI controller for my new A2000 (picking it up some time next week)

Oh, and that A601 went out in the post on Friday

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 01:23   #5
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Hey Fingers

Congrats on the A2000, You will love it & Welcome to the club, Keep an eye out for a GVP HC+8 (SCSI +8MB) they are pretty good and you can disable the SCSI Autoboot & just use the memory, maybe even connect up some ZIP drives to it for data transfer.

Cheers for the A601 & Best wishes
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 02:50   #6
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
connect up some ZIP drives to it for data transfer.
Good idea...you know I love Zip drives!
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 04:53   #7
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Oooooh, just received my A2000

Now, my '030 accelerator & Buddha haven't arrived yet...plus I'm at work & it's not even midday yet, so over 5 hours until I can get it home to start playing around!

How torturous!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 10 June 2008, 10:10   #8
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Oooooh, just received my A2000

Now, my '030 accelerator & Buddha haven't arrived yet...plus I'm at work & it's not even midday yet, so over 5 hours until I can get it home to start playing around!

How torturous!

PZ.

We want piccies, We want piccies.

Enjoy your A2000 mate, As much as I love AGA machines, My A2000 is still my fave.
Pickup a Microway flicker fixer too and you can use a nice Big Screen VGA monitor, Now that's a complete package. (see my Album)

Best of luck with your new Miggy
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 13 June 2008, 17:56   #9
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,237
Ah yeah!

This thing arrived today, at first didn't seem to work, turned out the first HDD I tried was dead, stuck in another...now works great!!!!

Boot time may not be as good as SCSI, but it sh!ts all over A600 or A1200 IDE boot times!

Pics WILL be taken for those lovers of hardware pr0n, not that it's very special, but I'll take them (later, when I've actually got the machine screwed together) anyway!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition o0Nosferatu0o MarketPlace 4 23 June 2013 15:51
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition question for AMIKIT lost_loven support.Hardware 3 08 May 2010 16:55
Buddha Flash Phoenix & CF hese support.Hardware 4 05 November 2009 14:52
For Sale: Buddha Flash Gold Phoenix edition keropi MarketPlace 7 27 February 2007 18:06
Buddha Flash Phoenix Edition is an IDE controller for all Zorro based Amigas. CFOU! support.Hardware 15 22 June 2006 19:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07140 seconds with 13 queries