English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2008, 10:35   #1
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 477
Question A1200 4-Way IDE Adapter: IDEfix & CD-ROM support in OS3.9

I've just tried installing OS3.9 on a recently acquired A1200T.

It has a 4-way IDE adapter, and connected to it are two hard disks (on the same cable) and a CD-ROM drive (on its own cable).

The hard disk originally contained OS3.1 with IDEfix97 installed. All hard disks and CD-ROM drive worked perfectly. I created an OS3.9 Emergency Disk from within OS3.1, and it asked if I wanted to copy IDEfix and a few other things over to the Emergency Disk, so I said yes.

The Emergency Disk boots fine, and all hard disks and CD-ROM drive still work perfectly.

But then I installed AmigaOS3.9, followed by separate installation of CD-ROM support, and then installation of BB1 & BB2. The hard disks appear to be working fine, but CD-ROM drive support won't work. I've tried changing the unit number from 0 through to 5, and each time I boot I get an error message about atapi.device. The new CD0 in OS3.9 contains the same settings as the CD0 in OS3.1.

Now, I've read that IDEfix97 isn't needed for OS3.9, because IDEfix software (or some equivalent) is built-in. So I have three questions that I would greatly appreciate some answers to:

- How do I know that the IDEfix-equivalent software in OS3.9 is running and working properly?
- How do I get my CD-ROM drive working with OS3.9?
- Is the IDEfix software built into OS3.9 better than the latest version of IDEfix97?

Many thanks in advance for any advice, and sorry about the long post!

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:05   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@StevenJGore

Hmmmm indeed a pickle,

for fits and giggles have you tried re-installing IDEFix97 ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:37   #3
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@ steve

Os3.9 Cachecdfs is pretty good and should be fine,
But I am sure you need to copy the file IDEFIX over to your c directory and then run it from the startup sequence ( at the beginning) to enable the 2nd Port on the IDE Interface.

Good Luck
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 13:40   #4
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 477
Quote:
have you tried re-installing IDEFix97
Quote:
I am sure you need to copy the file IDEFIX over
Thanks for the suggestion, guys. I'll try installing the latest version of IDEfix97 tonight, and see if it makes a difference. I'm starting to wonder where it was that I read IDEfix97 was included in OS3.9. Maybe I dreamt it!

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 14:01   #5
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
@steve

Would suggest the IDEFix in c & add to startup-sequence first, then check CD0: settings.

If that doesn't help then try installing the Full IDEFix.

Let us know how you get on
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 14:19   #6
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 477
Ah, thank you. Whereabouts do I put it in the startup-sequence? Does it matter?
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 14:32   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
Ah, thank you. Whereabouts do I put it in the startup-sequence? Does it matter?

As long as you copy the file over to OS3.9 c directory first (Idefix)

Just add c:idefix as the first line.

TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 31 May 2008, 17:12   #8
StevenJGore
Amiga Fanatic

StevenJGore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 477
Well I tried just copying the idefix file to c: and adding it to the startup-sequence, but for some reason OS3.9 wouldn't even load after that.

So I did a full install of the latest version from Aminet, and it seems to work fine now, except for the fact that if I boot with a CD in the drive, it doesn't show up when workbench has loaded until I open the drawer and then close it again.

Anybody any idea why?

Steve.
StevenJGore is offline  
Old 01 June 2008, 01:27   #9
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenJGore View Post
Well I tried just copying the idefix file to c: and adding it to the startup-sequence, but for some reason OS3.9 wouldn't even load after that.

So I did a full install of the latest version from Aminet, and it seems to work fine now, except for the fact that if I boot with a CD in the drive, it doesn't show up when workbench has loaded until I open the drawer and then close it again.

Anybody any idea why?

Steve.
Steve I installed OS3.9 from CD onto my A1200 today, same config as yourself,
All I needed to do was include the IDEFix file into c & update the startup-sequence as described I above, It all works fine, even with BB2.
TheCorfiot is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS3.9 & 3.1 Rom blade002 MarketPlace 17 12 January 2018 23:38
Amiga 4000 & IDE CD-ROM Bootay support.Hardware 25 16 May 2009 02:46
A1200 PPC240/68060, BVision, Flicker Fixer,IDEFIX, SlimCD, 250 Watt PSU ...OS3.x/OS4 Hacky MarketPlace 14 03 October 2008 05:35
A600/A1200 internal IDE->CF adapter alexh support.Hardware 17 05 April 2008 01:35
IDEFix Express buffered IDE interface + OS3.9 HardStep support.Hardware 3 29 June 2006 09:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09575 seconds with 13 queries