English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2008, 02:31   #1
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,740
Macrosystem Falcon 1240 accelerator

Hi all, i have a Falcon 1240 accelerator made by Macrosystem for an a1200. I am trying to upgrade the 68040 cpu with a 68060. Does any of you know how to do this upgrade or perhaps have the manual for this accelerator? (Some brochures i found on internet say its upgradeable, but then there is no precise info whatsoever).

Thanks
gulliver is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 02:39   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,183
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
I looked at BBOAH and amiga hardware database. No more info there I am afraid.

Yours is the first Falcon 1240 that I have heard of that is in use.... I think it must be a rare card.

The pictures on BBOAH are quite poor. Maybe you could take some better high resolution ones and send them to the BBOAH team?
DDNI is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 02:41   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
heys gulliver

if its anything like the Blizzard or Apollo 040's then you will need a ROM update and a voltage regulator to step down from 5 volts to 3.5 volts.

It might be wise to get into contact with Per Gunnar from amiga.org he upgrades a lot of 040 accelerators.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 03:11   #4
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,740
Thank you all !!! (I hope i get lucky and someone uploads the manual)

@Zetro I understand that i will need a voltage regulator, but a rom update, why?
Anyway, i will contact Per Gunnar
gulliver is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:15   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@gulliver

well as i understand it, in a non-technical explanation, the 68060 in a lot of ways has to re-interpret a fair few 68000 instructions and then map them to its own. an 040 and an 060 have a different set of mapped instructions, thus you need a different ROM to tell it how and what to do.

essentially an 060 emulates a 68000 chip, argaubly so does an 040, but not to the same degree.

A smidgeon more technical

Another interesting fact about the FPU of the 040/060 is that dont have the full instruction cache of the 68881/2 FPU, infact although its comparible on speed it loses a lot of this due to having to implement an instruction handler as it transposes 68881/2 instructions to function in the 040/060, have a look for HSMaths this will explain a lot more, and this can drastically IMPROVE your computers ability (in speed) to calculate floating point math

anyway i hope that ramble helps
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:18   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 2,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
the full instruction cache of the 68881/2 FPU
Set?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:28   #7
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
yeah yeah

its early.... i haven't had my cornflakes

(all thats left is to say.... match.... and game )
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2008, 12:41   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
Accelerator's ROM only (*) disables 68060's FPU (writes to 68060-only PCR register). Thats basically the difference between 68060 booting or crashing.

Kickstart FPU detection routine crashes because 68060 FPU has longer FPU stack frame which overwrites Kickstart's data structures..

68060.library patches FPU routines and re-enables the FPU.

* It can also include RAM initialization, accelerator enable/disable feature etc but that has nothing to do with 68060 support. Blizzard 1260's ROM is very simple for example.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 04:01   #9
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,740
Thanks for the technical information, now i understand the rom issue!
gulliver is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 04:28   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
@Toni

have you tried HSMaths on WinUAE ? i havent as of yet, just curious if you have and if you noticed a difference running in 060 mode compared to the fpu implementation ?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 09:37   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@Toni

have you tried HSMaths on WinUAE ? i havent as of yet, just curious if you have and if you noticed a difference running in 060 mode compared to the fpu implementation ?
No, not interested. (and there are no sources available)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 May 2008, 11:52   #12
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
No, not interested. (and there are no sources available)

I can certainly understand that
Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Falcon 1240 - Information / Manual Zetr0 support.Hardware 45 24 March 2016 19:14
For Sale: A1200 Falcon 1240@40Mhz + 128MB RAM Zetr0 MarketPlace 2 22 June 2012 18:00
I urgently need Falcon 1240 jumper information gulliver Hardware mods 11 20 April 2010 19:58
MacroSystem Falcon 1240 - disable CPU? Yod@ support.Hardware 5 02 March 2010 01:40
FA: Apollo 1240 68040 A1200 accelerator DDNI MarketPlace 1 03 June 2008 23:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07591 seconds with 13 queries