English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 June 2008, 23:24   #1
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Hard Disk Uninitalizing???

Need some Help!!!!

Have an issue after reformating and reinstalling OS3.5 that after about 500meg or so of information installed that partitions become uninitalized and become non accessable.

All the Partitions on my 10gb hard drive are 1.5gb so i thought way underneath the 4.3gb limit because at the mo i just seem to have to format the drive and change partition sizes when re installing.

Also have already used re org to unfragment the HD.

The HD 3.5inch HD connected via an eyetech 4 way adaptor.

Also running an apollo 1260 Processor with 64mb of ram

Its a A1200 Tower if you had not already guessed lol

Any help and advice on this subject would be useful
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 03 June 2008, 23:29   #2
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,249
@Paradroid90

It might be an idea to have a look at this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=32256

There are limitations as to the size of your hard disc with different versions of Rom and Workbench. This could help you understand what and why it is happening

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 03 June 2008, 23:54   #3
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Thanks for the response davideo!

Running 3.1 Kickstart roms

And OS 3.5

If thats any help

Have downloaded SFS will try this!
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:00   #4
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Thanks for the response davideo!

Running 3.1 Kickstart roms

And OS 3.5

If thats any help

Have downloaded SFS will try this!
To be honest I'm using 3.1 roms but 3.9 OS and using the upgraded FFS from the 3.9 CD. I've had no problems to date with my 40GB HD in my 4000D

But SFS is supposed to be the dogs do dahs

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:03   #5
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Is it better to Format from OS3.5 then reinstall then?
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:10   #6
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Is it better to Format from OS3.5 then reinstall then?
I haven't used SFS but I'd look in the instructions.

I'd guess you'd have to load SFS into the RDB of the hard drive and then do a reinstall from scratch. But I'm not sure.

I did when I upgraded my drive in the 4000 to the newest version of FFS but then it was a new blank drive - so I didn't have a lot of choice

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:39   #7
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Thanks for your help davideo will give it a bash
Paradroid90 is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:49   #8
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradroid90 View Post
Need some Help!!!!

Have an issue after reformating and reinstalling OS3.5 that after about 500meg or so of information installed that partitions become uninitalized and become non accessable.

All the Partitions on my 10gb hard drive are 1.5gb so i thought way underneath the 4.3gb limit because at the mo i just seem to have to format the drive and change partition sizes when re installing.

Also have already used re org to unfragment the HD.
...
Never use reorg in FFS's OS3.5 and up!

Those old programs simply will scramble the data in the partition!
rkauer is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 00:51   #9
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,249
I'd like to add that you also shouldn't do a full format. A quick format should be enough for newer drives.

Dave G
davideo is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 08:01   #10
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Never use reorg in FFS's OS3.5 and up!
Those old programs simply will scramble the data in the partition!
As long as you stay below 4 GB I'll see no problems - like I never had with ReOrg. And there is DiskMonTools, if you really need to tinker over 4 GB barrier (the lonely one tool to work).
zipper is offline  
Old 04 June 2008, 10:21   #11
Paradroid90
Open Source Guru
Paradroid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 134
Hopefully sorted the problem thanks for all your help!!!
Paradroid90 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 hard disk pjtb New to Emulation or Amiga scene 75 07 December 2008 01:20
O.S 3.9 Hard disk problems adgloride request.Apps 5 19 September 2004 01:44
Failing Hard Disk Paul support.Hardware 11 12 February 2003 13:52
clone the hard disk dmrvf Retrogaming General Discussion 10 27 January 2003 16:01
Emulating a Hard Disk? Ricky55 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 23 June 2002 20:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08473 seconds with 15 queries