English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2010, 12:15   #1
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Clockport Expander A1200

Hi:
I was going to solder the clockport expander cables directly to the motherboard when I saw a related phipscube photo:

http://picasaweb.google.com/lrailton...82507359486194

Shoudn't the cables be soldered to pins 5 and 6 instead of 6 and 7?
Or perhaps is it only my Clockport rev A instead of his B one?
This is how it comes:

Last edited by Retrofan; 22 September 2012 at 12:40.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 December 2010, 13:27   #2
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I don't have all day...
Do I undo something?

Last edited by Retrofan; 22 September 2012 at 12:40.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 13:44   #3
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Hi:
I was going to solder the clockport expander cables directly to the motherboard when I saw a related phipscube photo:

http://picasaweb.google.com/lrailton...82507359486194

Shoudn't the cables be soldered to pins 5 and 6 instead of 6 and 7?
Or perhaps it's only my Clockport rev A instead of his one B?
This is how it comes:
Arent they soldered to 36 and 34 in that pic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I don't have all day...
Do I undo something?
35 and 34 in this pic?

Last edited by FOL; 30 December 2010 at 13:57.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 13:53   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I'm not sure about pins numbers. I send a better photo:
http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7491/abcd0002cx.jpg

Yesterday I had a similar "problem" with the cable of the fast ata: in a photo of fitzsteve it seemed it had to go to the 2º pin on the right, and it was the 3rd (as in the manual and as told in other forum). It seems you can't use only the photos as guide...

Last edited by Retrofan; 30 December 2010 at 16:02.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 13:56   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I'm not sure about pins numbers. I send a better photo:
http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7491/abcd0002cx.jpg

Yesterday I had a similar "problem" with the cable of the fast ata: in a photo of fitzsteve it seemed it had to go to the 2º pin on the right, and it was the 3rd (as in the manual and as told in other forum). It seems you can't use only the photos as guide...
Your pic looks like they are connected to 36 and 35. Can you take a closer pic of board straight on.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 14:35   #6
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/1116/abcd0003q.jpg

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/6575/abcd0004h.jpg

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/8273/abcd0005f.jpg
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 14:46   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Now that looks the same as the ROM socket in first post.
So your using Orange for Positive +?

Is there a link to this mod, not just pictures?
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 15:43   #8
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
(Those photos are mines)
The best mod I've seen is that: the Phipscube's one:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ghlight=A1200d

But the photos of his project aren't in the thread but here:
http://picasaweb.google.com/10692986...552/A1200Mods#

His clockport expander is rev B and mine is rev A. Perhaps they changed where the cables must go, as in my kickstart socket the clockport is clearly using different pins (the ones where I've solder mines in the mb).

I only find three possibilities: or he did a mistake, soldering them where they don't go (and he had luck that it worked) or it goes that way with his revision, but I'm not going to solder mines as he did if I don't find a good reason, or that the error is in my Clockport, that they didn't notice and changed pins to solder...

EDIT: Orange as positive? Do you have something against orange?
I'm using thinner rigid cables and I don't have black (neither red).

Last edited by Retrofan; 01 January 2011 at 23:51.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 16:02   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
(Those photos are mines)
The best mod I've seen is that: the Phipscube's one:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ghlight=A1200d

But the photos of his project aren't in the tread but here:
http://picasaweb.google.com/10692986...552/A1200Mods#

His clockport expander is rev B and mine is rev A. Perhaps they changed where the cables must go, as in my kickstart support the clockport is clearly using different pins (the ones where I've solder mines in the mb).

I only find three possibilities: or he did a mistake, soldering them where they don't go (and he had luck that it worked) or it goes that way with his revision, but I'm not going to solder mines as he did if I don't find a good reason, or that the error is in my Clockport, that they didn't notice and changed pins to solder...

EDIT: Orange as positive? Do you have something against orange?
I'm using thinner rigid cables and I don't have black.
Rev should'nt matter.

Orange, I ment Positive as in Voltage, .

His mod is on 35 and 34 of the ROM socket.
Yours appear to be on 36 and 35.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 16:04   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Rev should'nt matter.

Orange, I ment Positive as in Voltage, .

His mod is on 35 and 34 of the ROM socket.
Yours appear to be on 36 and 35.
Yes, that's what I'm saying. I've done just as in the rom socket that comes with the Clockport expander... What do I do? Can it be he did a mistake then or that my Clockport came wrong soldered (DJBase mistake)?

Orange is gonna be "red", positive. Still I haven't soldered them in the Clockport.

Last edited by Retrofan; 30 December 2010 at 16:18.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 16:54   #11
phipscube
WipEout Fanboi
phipscube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hillerød / Denmark
Age: 41
Posts: 262
Hi RetroFan

To line my wires up I basically plugged in the rom extender socket for the clockport expander and noted where the wires were connected, then simply desoldered them, fed them through the HDD holder hole and soldered them in the same places they had been on the socket. Are you sure you had the rom sockets in the correct place? there is one extra set of pins on the A1200 mainboard that shouldn't be used.

Look at this photo: -



can you see the spare unused pin on the rom socket near the oscillator? you have to be sure that you line up the clockport expander rom socket in the same place as the Amigas rom, this can be the difference between a and a

I've only just got back from holidays and my stuff is all over. Once I get the Miggy out (in the next few days) i'll be able to help more with exact pin numbers etc. But rest assured mine works with a Subway and a Delfina. I think the pins have to be the same for all revisions, AFAIK the only difference with the revisions is physical board layout. I don't think you can fluke the connections so just be careful, don't go rushing into anything...
phipscube is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 17:06   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks for the answer.
Wow, yes what a mistake! YES you are true, although they are soldered on pins 5 and 6 (EDIT: from left to right) as the Clockport socket will use one less of each file on the mb, the ones to solder have to be 6 and 7 (from left to right)... I didn't realice.

I will solder them the right way when I get home.
Thanks so much. THREAD CLOSED, YUJU!

Last edited by Retrofan; 30 December 2010 at 18:55.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 17:36   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Thanks for the answer.
Wow, yes what a mistake! YES you are true, although they are soldered on pins 5 and 6, as the Clockport socket will use one less of each file on the mb, the ones to solder have to be 6 and 7... I didn't realice.

I will solder them the right way when I get home.
Thanks so much. THREAD CLOSED, YUJU!
Remember, your counting back from 40. As the pinout reads from left down and then right up.


ROM SOCKET

1___ 40
2___ 39
3___ 38
etc___ etc

I say this as you keep saying pin 6 and 7, they are on the other side of the rom socket.

I would go with what phipscube said, with the working socket as it is, line it up and make a note.

Last edited by FOL; 30 December 2010 at 17:43.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 18:00   #14
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks. Got it:


Yes, I said that, but I'm referring counting from left to right. I said I didn't know about pin numbers... (now I do)

..."Line it up and make a note"... now it isn't necessary, I've got it in my head. It was just that I was seeing the clockport socket and comparing it with the mb pins, while the first has two pins less, just like the roms.

Last edited by Retrofan; 30 December 2010 at 18:21.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 18:25   #15
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Thanks. Got it:

That pic you posted is wrong. IDE cables are wired differently.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 18:40   #16
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I don't understand. The photo of how I soldered them? YEs, now I know it's wrong, I've told that. I will solder them in the next pin, just like Phipscube did.
Perhaps you say the one in black&white?
Perhaps I will keep counting pins from left to right or viceversa...
BTW I will connect the cables to the lower part of the clockport board instead of in the upper side as he did:
http://picasaweb.google.com/10692986...05085972061810
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 20:19   #17
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
I don't understand. The photo of how I soldered them? YEs, now I know it's wrong, I've told that. I will solder them in the next pin, just like Phipscube did.
Perhaps you say the one in black&white?
Perhaps I will keep counting pins from left to right or viceversa...
BTW I will connect the cables to the lower part of the clockport board instead of in the upper side as he did:
http://picasaweb.google.com/10692986...05085972061810
Sorry,

I thought I might have confused things.
I was trying to explain this (See attached);

However you just remided me that the rom socket has two extra pins unused, .
So they would have to be considered when counting (i.e. ignore them).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ROM.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	44.2 KB
ID:	27449  
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 20:35   #18
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Sorry,

I thought I might have confused things.
I was trying to explain this (See attached);

However you just remided me that the rom socket has two extra pins unused, .
So they would have to be considered when counting (i.e. ignore them).
Ok, but then the pins in the Ide connector for the Hard drive, they aren't counted the same way? I mean, in the IDE connector, pin 39 is the second or the third looking in front of the Amiga of the file of the right, starting from the upper part? Because it seems 39 is the 3rd, and following your link it should be the second. -

Last edited by Retrofan; 31 December 2010 at 20:19.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 22:07   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 5,485
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Ok, but then the pins in the Ide connector for the Hard drive, they aren't counted the same way?
Correct.

Look at what I posted and that ide picture, you can see then.

Rom, goes down one side and up the other.
IDE, goes across, up and down along the connector.

Its hard to explain.
FOL is offline  
Old 30 December 2010, 23:15   #20
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,576
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Well, definitely I'm going mad... Ok, the cables go on the next pin, and when I've arrived home I've seen the photo of Phipscube and as he has the red cable on the left, I've thought I had mistaked that too, so I've soldered orange on the left (to be as red). The thing is that if you see my photo of the rom socket you will see it has black on the left.
I've thought that perhaps he changed the other side where it plugs on the Clockport, but no: http://picasaweb.google.com/10692986...05085972061810

And this is how it comes:


Ok, I won't have to desolder nothing, but to turn the connector so it'll keep ok.
This is what I have now:
http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/8725/abcd0007ba.jpg

And this is the connector I've done:
http://img574.imageshack.us/img574/3682/abcd0006f.jpg

What it seems to me is that now my orange is black (as it is in the original clockport rom socket), and that the black cable goes first from down to the clockport board. Phipscube has soldered them in the motherboard on the contrary (compared with the clockport socket photo) , but he keeps leaving black first on the clockport board.
Don't you see it?





EDIT: Just compare both photos in my first post and tell me if the color of the cables aren't on the contrary, and then see the photo showed in this post and compare it with the first link of this post of Phipscube's photo (they are connected exactly the same way to the clockport board)

Last edited by Retrofan; 02 January 2011 at 00:59.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4-way clockport expander DJBase Hardware mods 231 09 January 2017 17:52
SUBWAY USB CONTROLLER (A1200 Clockport) CFOU! support.Hardware 59 01 January 2014 02:53
Prelude a1200 Clockport Soundcard SkippyAR support.Hardware 2 24 May 2008 21:31
A1200 and On-Board Zorro Expander alewis support.Hardware 13 02 December 2006 22:08
A1200/600 Clockport? Akira support.Hardware 19 07 August 2002 20:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26503 seconds with 13 queries