English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 January 2019, 20:29   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Can WinUAE open zipped ADFs/DMSs/EXEs that are inside one ZIP file?

I know I can already access regular unzipped ADF/DMS/EXE files that are zipped within a single ZIP, but I am wondering if those could be zipped as well? It's most likely a strange question, but if I could do this, then I could add them to configurations involving the Disk Swapper facility and not have to tailor each main zip to the files inside, because a lot of multi-disk demos feature an ADF as one disk and a DMS for another, for some strange reason.
Foebane is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 18:45   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,223
It should work, at least in theory, archives are recursively scanned and unpacked.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 January 2019, 21:01   #3
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Thank you, Toni.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 10:31   #4
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 2,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
because a lot of multi-disk demos feature an ADF as one disk and a DMS for another, for some strange reason.
I've never seen that. Can you give an example?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 13:12   #5
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
I've never seen that. Can you give an example?
I download all my demos from Pouet.net, and a lot of the time for multi-disk Amiga demos, one of the download links (disk A, disk B, etc) are either ADF or DMS. It depends on what the links actually link to at the time (and they can be changed via moderator), but this is what I've discovered during my searches.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 13:24   #6
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
For Foebane

When you find mixed "ADF" and "DMS" demos, you can use ADF Workshop to convert the "DMS" back to "ADF"
chip is online now  
Old 10 January 2019, 15:15   #7
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
For Foebane

When you find mixed "ADF" and "DMS" demos, you can use ADF Workshop to convert the "DMS" back to "ADF"
I forgot about this possibility. Thanks for the suggestion, Chip.
Foebane is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 15:24   #8
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
I personally use it for the conversion when i find a .DMS

From my experience, conversion is always done in perfect way, except when the original DMS has errors or it is incomplete

In these cases you can force the conversion anyway

Just use the menu "Convert/Fix" ---> "ADF Options"
chip is online now  
Old 10 January 2019, 21:17   #9
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
I tested ADF Workshop with File/Batch Processing, and the converted files run identically, so far with the ones I've looked at.

I like this program, I will convert all my DMSs in a couple of days time and it also solves my initial problem here as well.

Thanks, Crashdisk and Chip!
Foebane is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 04:45   #10
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
Nothing Foebane, glad to help you

The converted images work as the originals since .DMS are just .ADF compressed in some way

Other compressed disk images exist like .WRP, .ZOM and .ZAP, but .DMS is the most common around

Last edited by chip; 11 January 2019 at 04:56.
chip is online now  
Old 11 January 2019, 18:49   #11
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
I batch-converted all of my DMS files earlier today, and all I did was extract the ADF Workshop archive, run the program and set the two ADF options under Batch (as you mentioned) and "Save ADF file", as well as check the Subfolders box.

Several messages appeared in red about "doscopy" or something, but the files seem to work. So are the above options all I needed to extract from DMS to original ADFs? I'm getting worried that the files may be damaged in some way, but I'm probably worrying over nothing, as usual.
Foebane is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 19:01   #12
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
Don't worry, be happy

The red messages are normal, a lot of "doscopy" disks exist

Other red messages also can happen

Anyway, what is present in the .DMS is replicated the same in the .ADF

So, if the .DMS is a "doscopy" disk also the .ADF is the same

As simple as that
chip is online now  
Old 11 January 2019, 19:25   #13
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Cool!
Foebane is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 19:40   #14
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
Yes, you can trust of ADF Workshop conversion

I personally use it for my demoscene project, so that i can have all ADFs

I don't like mixed types as sometimes happen on Pouet or Janeway
chip is online now  
Old 11 January 2019, 20:06   #15
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Yes, you can trust of ADF Workshop conversion

I personally use it for my demoscene project, so that i can have all ADFs

I don't like mixed types as sometimes happen on Pouet or Janeway
I found and used version v20150426.399 after googling it, I only hope it's the latest version.
Foebane is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 20:12   #16
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 864
I really think it's the last one, since we can find it in the TOSEC site
chip is online now  
Old 11 January 2019, 20:16   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I found and used version v20150426.399 after googling it, I only hope it's the latest version.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I really think it's the last one, since we can find it in the TOSEC site
Yes it's the latest version, see this thread: ADF-Workshop (formerly DMS-Workshop)
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 21:25   #18
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,482
Yep, that's where I got it from.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have all ADFs/DMSs on an HDD! Foebane Amiga scene 2 16 June 2015 16:22
Opening multi adf/dms files inside a zip file! amilo3438 request.UAE Wishlist 5 10 August 2013 07:23
WinUAE zip file problem DeafDaz support.WinUAE 2 03 December 2011 19:52
Probs using Zipped ADFs DeafDaz support.WinUAE 5 10 September 2011 00:59
Latest winUAE and zip file probs... Marlon support.WinUAE 3 12 December 2003 16:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08474 seconds with 13 queries