English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 December 2018, 22:51   #41
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
LOL. Yeah I read somewhere I needed OSEmu.400 so I stuck it in there.

Quick question regarding formatting a DH0:NDOS for the future. I left Fast File System, International Mode and Directory Cache unticked. Mostly because I don't know what they are. Trashcan, now I do know what that is so I only ticked that when formatting my DH0 Workbench/System drive. What are those other options and should I tick 'em?
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 23:04   #42
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
Mostly because I don't know what they are. Trashcan, now I do know what that is so I only ticked that when formatting my DH0 Workbench/System drive. What are those other options and should I tick 'em?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_Fast_File_System
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 23:19   #43
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Alright that answers that, thanks. What about International Mode and Directory Cache, do I need those?
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 26 December 2018, 23:24   #44
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,265
All these new questions etc. and yet you still haven't read the PM that I sent you 5 hours ago... don't know why I bother sometimes, really have to try to be less helpful in future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Please also read the PM that I sent you; it has important information contained within that will help
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 09:29   #45
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
What about International Mode and Directory Cache, do I need those?

In the attached Wikipedia link you will also find the functions of International Mode and Directory Cache
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 14:22   #46
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ok he screwed me english, 1:1 this time we equalize , it is always nice and interesting to discuss count, if I have time I will look for other games that require "OSEmu.400", let's see if I'm lucky
Ciao Damiano, sorry again, i quickly found two WHDLoad titles that require "OSEmu.400" (Guardian_v1.0_CD32 and Populous2_v1.3_0079), also in here "OSEmu.400" it is in the "Data" folder, I do not know if even here some fixes have been made to eliminate "OSEmu.400".

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 28 December 2018 at 15:05.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 14:51   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,265
Good find

I guess that with a few of jotd's old slaves "OSEmu.400" will be needed; but considering this file is inside the "data" folder then there's no need to make sure you have this in the "C" folder (which is the point I was trying to make).
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 15:43   #48
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
If I remember correctly, not everyone has "OSEmu.400" in the folder "Data", for example the games "Trolls CD32", "ClassicPucman", "Quadralien", they have "OSEmu.400" in the primary folder of the game.

Other games that use "OSEmu.400" in the "Data" folder i'm JungleStrike CD32, Elf, DisposableHero, DisposableHero CD32, SuperMethaneBros CD32, BiplaneDuel

To copy"OSEmu.400" in C: which is a system folder costs nothing, maybe it could help for some particular game where the path is not well defined, here on AEB we have good WHDload developers who could advise us better.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 16:28   #49
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
All these new questions etc. and yet you still haven't read the PM that I sent you 5 hours ago... don't know why I bother sometimes, really have to try to be less helpful in future.
Sorry Damien, I've replied to your PM and explained why I forgot! Well I did reply, can't actually see it so wondering if it even worked. Let me know!
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 16:32   #50
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Anyone know if there's a zip containing all the Amiga games here? ftp://grandis.nu/Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/ rather than download games individually I mean. Might be a pretty large zip though!
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 16:43   #51
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
Sorry Damien, I've replied to your PM and explained why I forgot! Well I did reply, can't actually see it so wondering if it even worked. Let me know!
Got it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
Anyone know if there's a zip containing all the Amiga games here? ftp://grandis.nu/Commodore_Amiga/Retroplay/ rather than download games individually I mean. Might be a pretty large zip though!
Unfortunately not as far as I know.

...but, since you have over 50 posts, just do the following:
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 20:14   #52
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Got it


Unfortunately not as far as I know.

...but, since you have over 50 posts, just do the following:
Oh, okay. Didn't know I could do that. I've noticed some WHDLoad games have strange audio glitches. Gods for example. I hear metal clanging noises when walking and some sounds don't play. Compared to the same game running from .adf it sounds pretty bad. Is this common?
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 20:25   #53
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,265
To be honest; you're asking the wrong person as I'm not really a WHDLoad user...

In my collection currently containing 2643 games, there are only 16 x WHDLoad .HDFs.

These were only added due to major bug fixes over the floppy versions.
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 December 2018, 21:36   #54
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soopytwist View Post
Gods for example. I hear metal clanging noises when walking and some sounds don't play. Compared to the same game running from .adf it sounds pretty bad. Is this common?

There are no differences in sound between the floppy version and WHDLoad, you probably did not use the right audio setting, or the Sound Card is in use on Windows.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 December 2018, 15:12   #55
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
There are no differences in sound between the floppy version and WHDLoad, you probably did not use the right audio setting, or the Sound Card is in use on Windows.
If I run an .adf of Gods and then the WHLoad version there are differences in the audio and they're both using the same sound options in WinUAE.

EDIT

You'll have to forgive the crudity of these two videos. I can't use video output in WinUAE it slows the game right down to 1 frame a second. As does using FRAPS, so my only option was to record the game with my iPad at an angle so I could rest the tripod on my desk. Also the volume isn't great so turn it up a bit.

You can clearly tell the differences in audio quality between the two. The WHDLoad version is a mess. Also, not captured here is at the end of a level rather than music it plays a cacophony of random sound effects!

Gods ADF version (A500) - good sound: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7xm7a4pzne...dsADF.MOV?dl=0
Gods WHDLoad (A1200) - bad sound: https://www.dropbox.com/s/378derh8oi...sWHDL.MOV?dl=0

Last edited by Soopytwist; 28 December 2018 at 15:48.
Soopytwist is offline  
Old 28 December 2018, 16:26   #56
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,074
The audio recording made with Microphone does not allow me to evaluate, what seems strange to me is that the mode uses the same files
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 December 2018, 16:43   #57
Soopytwist
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
The audio recording made with Microphone does not allow me to evaluate, what seems strange to me is that the mode uses the same files
Yeah, the iPad recording isn't great but output and FRAPS wouldn't work.



Anyway I've solved it! Turns out I needed Cycle-exact turning on in the Chipset settings. Not sure why I thought of that - I suppose I exhausted all the audio settings so the only thing left to try was twiddling with the chipset.
Soopytwist is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE: Mount Two Hardfile AMIGASYSTEM support.WinUAE 5 22 December 2018 21:04
Creating a HardFile of 3GB NightShadowPT support.WinUAE 3 23 June 2018 23:09
Help creating large hardfile for WinUAE spacedmonkeys support.WinUAE 7 15 May 2017 17:37
Creating hardfile problem Malakie support.WinUAE 15 07 October 2007 22:16
Winuae Hardfile littleb2005 support.WinUAE 3 03 May 2007 21:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08952 seconds with 15 queries