English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 December 2018, 13:37   #1
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 731
Question WinUAE development compatibility questions

Not sure this is the correct forum, but it's a question about WinUAE so I thought I'd start here.

I've been working on/off on a few Amiga related things and I realised there are a few things I can't test on my own hardware because I lack the proper hardware to test it on. I'd like to verify if these things can be tested somehow in WinUAE and deliver the same results as real hardware.

The things I'd like to be able to test using WinUAE are:
  1. Interrupt handling on 68060's (where on some systems interrupts can fire twice because Paula is too slow in propagating the acknowledge signal IIRC)
  2. Keyboard compatibility with A2000 Cherry keyboards (which need a much longer handshake than standard)
  3. Amiga Technologies floppy drives for A1200's that lack the /RDY signal (so they need a different trackloader)
Can I test my software's compatibility with the above issues using WinUAE? And if so, what settings do I need to use to achieve this?

Thanks for any help
roondar is offline  
Old 25 December 2018, 15:31   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,223
1: No because it would require very accurate CPU internal timings, it isn't simple yes/no problem. Technically it can happen in emulation (only if cycle-exact is ticked) but there is no guarantee it is correct.

But in my opinion it isn't really needed because this is easy to check manually.

2: No because no one has measured whats the required minimum time. and AFAIK it is not static value but depends also what the keyboard MCU is doing.

I can add config file manually configured minimum handshake time value that logs a message when handshake period is too small.

3: Set floppy drive type to "3.5" ESCOM".
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 December 2018, 22:49   #3
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
1: No because it would require very accurate CPU internal timings, it isn't simple yes/no problem. Technically it can happen in emulation (only if cycle-exact is ticked) but there is no guarantee it is correct.

But in my opinion it isn't really needed because this is easy to check manually.
I suppose I could indeed manually verify that enough time is spent waiting (i.e. add an extra custom chip access) whenever I have an interrupt handler. I do that as is, but there's always the chance I get it wrong - hence my question.


I understand why it won't change though, so I'll just have be careful.

Quote:

2: No because no one has measured whats the required minimum time. and AFAIK it is not static value but depends also what the keyboard MCU is doing.

I can add config file manually configured minimum handshake time value that logs a message when handshake period is too small.
That would be a nice addition indeed
Quote:

3: Set floppy drive type to "3.5" ESCOM".
Thanks, I'll do that!

Last edited by roondar; 25 December 2018 at 22:55.
roondar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Development. Better than the real thing...yet? antiriad76 support.WinUAE 6 18 May 2017 15:25
Is there a way to make ClassicWB/WinUAE run quick whilst maintaining compatibility? Macca Amiga scene 17 19 May 2016 10:04
WinUAE - Windows 2000 compatibility Borg_Number_One support.WinUAE 29 29 January 2011 07:14
DosFellow compatibility list and compatibility of specific games ruffian support.WinFellow 8 24 May 2010 20:23
WinUAE Questions Titler support.WinUAE 5 18 November 2002 01:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09336 seconds with 15 queries