English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2018, 12:02   #1
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 128
Lightbulb Generic RAM/ROM Expansion possible?

Hello Toni,

after experimenting with the CDTV-Extension SRAM 128KB and reading about Kick-Flash Projects (i.e. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94108) and 1MB-Kickstarts comes my question:

Is it possible to integrate a generic RAM/ROM-Expansion with selectable size and address plus a possibility to preload that memoryarea (like a ROM-File for a HD-Controller or a freezer)?

This would make development for such things a lot easier.
sigma63 is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 13:03   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,128
User configurable (autoconfig or hardwired) RAM board is already possible using GUI.

ROM or RAM with data loaded from file is not (yet?) supported but it would be easy to add (would require config file editing, path pointing to file that gets loaded, not needed in GUI).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 September 2018, 15:59   #3
sigma63
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
not (yet?) supported but it would be easy to add
OK, than i would really like it to happen - please Toni.
sigma63 is offline  
Old 14 September 2018, 18:35   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,128
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.7z

fastmem/z3mem_options=filesize=X,fileoffset=Y,offset=Z,file=<path>,readonly

X = Number of bytes to load (0 = all or size of RAM if file is larger).
Y = File byte offset.
Z = RAM byte offset relative to start address of RAM.
readonly = obvious. (may not work in JIT mode)

Path is mandatory, other entries default to zero.

Append to end of fastmem_options if it already exists. Special characters must be escapted (\ = \\) in path. Load and save the config to see if escaping was correct.

Thanks for noticing that (at least beginning of) hardware/driver development can be much easier when using emulation
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 multi-upgrade (Chip RAM + Fast RAM + ROM + IDE2CF) Astrofra Hardware pics 15 18 February 2014 22:27
Help with 500 RAM expansion jimbob support.Hardware 5 13 June 2013 09:57
a1200 ram expansion sqward MarketPlace 11 11 October 2009 19:11
need a 2MB RAM expansion for A-570 CD-ROM ? Overdoc Amiga scene 0 22 March 2003 02:34
A3000 RAM Expansion jmmijo support.Hardware 5 18 April 2002 04:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06038 seconds with 13 queries