English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 December 2017, 23:47   #1
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
slam tilt intro problem

Starting from WinUAE 3500 it jumps over intro part in the Slam Tilt !?
Used config: Quickstart A1200 (basic)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 00:18   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,284
Provide the links where you got the files for Slam Tilt from, whether it's ADFs or WHDLoad, and the usual logs, of course.
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 00:24   #3
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Slam Tilt (1996)(21st Century)(AGA)[cr DLM](Disk 1 of 5).adf (CRC = A04CEC7A)

Not sure that log can help in this case!

When it shows the picture from newspaper, after that is should run an intro part, but in WinUAE 3500 and WinUAE 3600 betas it just jump over intro and starts to load... seems fine in WinUAE 3400.

Last edited by amilo3438; 07 December 2017 at 00:33.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 00:32   #4
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Slam Tilt (1996)(21st Century)(AGA)[cr DLM](Disk 1 of 5).adf (CRC = A04CEC7A)

Not sure that log can help in this case!
What website did you get this file from? If I could download it, I could test. Looks like TOSEC filename convention to me.
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 00:36   #5
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Dont remember, just type the name into google and it might be that.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 01:31   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Dont remember, just type the name into google and it might be that.
I found the first result on Planet Emulation, so I tried the first disk in that series there (no [a] or whatever) - it seemed to work fine.

What does the intro of Slam Tilt contain? I've seen the WHDLoad version, and it seems to be just a newspaper cutting that defines what Pinball is, a few credits and a pinball animation, and the menu.

And you're also saying that the ADF worked fine before, but has stopped doing so in the latest WinUAE? I'd say that's definite grounds to provide logs for Toni.
Foebane is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 02:23   #7
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What does the intro of Slam Tilt contain? I've seen the WHDLoad version, and it seems to be just a newspaper cutting that defines what Pinball is, a few credits and a pinball animation, and the menu.
Yes, a few credits after newspaper cutting is not shown in WinUAE versions after 3400!
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 06:22   #8
Rotareneg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 57
Just checked and 3.4.0 and 3.6.0 beta 10 play that particular cracked version differently: 3.4.0 partially plays the game intro and 3.6.0 skips over it as soon as the music starts. The intro runs in its entirety with 3.6.0 with the uncracked IPF. Here's a video showing the difference between 3.4.0 and 3.6.0 with the crack, and 3.6.0 with the IPF, with loading times edited out:

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Rotareneg; 07 December 2017 at 06:27.
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 06:34   #9
Rotareneg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 57
In 3.6.0 beta 10 if you use the A1200 4 meg fast RAM quickstart config the cracked version will get almost all through the intro, skipping at the point where the coin insert sound effect plays, right before the big "SLAM TILT the pinball game" logo comes up.
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 11:17   #10
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Thanks for checking and confirming!

EDIT: Now is left that someone check it on a real A1200! (basic configuration)
If it happens the same no problem, if not than the problem exist.

Last edited by amilo3438; 07 December 2017 at 12:45.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 12:03   #11
Tomislav
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Zagreb / Croatia
Posts: 135
WinUAE 3.4.0 and 3.4.0 b20 are ok

Problem starts with 3.4.1 b1. There are many changes in that b1 version: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85939

When I uncheck "Cycle-exact (Full)" intro runs.

(There was not 3.4.1 stable because it ends with 3.4.1 b9 and starts with 3.5.0 b10, then next stable is 3.5.0.)

Last edited by Tomislav; 08 December 2017 at 12:12.
Tomislav is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:33   #12
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
It is not a problem if it happens also on an real A1200 non-expanded, but this needs to be confirmed first by someone else. (thx for testing)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 17:49   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
It does not happen on real A1200 but reason is still the same as always with 68020 so there is nothing new.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 18:51   #14
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
Interesting is that the .ipf version (see post #8) runs fine on the emu, and only the crack version is problematic!
Also, does we know how it behaves on a real machine when the cache is disabled?

Last edited by amilo3438; 09 December 2017 at 19:00.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 19:38   #15
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 6,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Interesting is that the .ipf version (see post #8) runs fine on the emu, and only the crack version is problematic!
Also, does we know how it behaves on a real machine when the cache is disabled?
Have you tried running without the cracktro just on the off chance it does something?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 20:19   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
I didn't examine it much but it looks like code does something that takes a bit too long in emulation (if "cycle-exact") and flag that means something like "exit requested" is not cleared quickly enough and it is checked in vblank while main routine code hasn't reached the clear part yet.

Or something like that..

EDIT: It may be even as simple as crack changing timing slightly (time until next vblank), triggering bug in original code which didn't clear the flag early enough.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 09 December 2017 at 21:55.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 17:24   #17
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,130
If you enter into debugger, you can see that the cracked version runs with CACR=0 where the uncracked runs with CACR=1. If you change on the cracked version in the debugger to CACR=1 it will run fine as uncracked version.
So, if uncracked version works fine on a real A1200 (unexpanded) that could mean the emulation with cache turned OFF is maybe too slow.

Edit: In fact, for some still problematic demos is vice-versa, i.e. works "fine" (but too slow) only if cache is disabled.

Cheers!

Last edited by amilo3438; 11 September 2018 at 17:57.
amilo3438 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slam-Tilt CD32? Fingerlickin_B request.Old Rare Games 4 20 August 2012 19:13
Help with slam tilt aga Megamix support.WinUAE 1 18 February 2012 00:38
Slam Tilt plasmatron support.WinUAE 6 02 August 2009 15:38
Slam Tilt Problems Graham Humphrey support.WinUAE 7 25 May 2007 20:51
Slam Tilt Exodus support.Games 7 29 November 2002 02:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07950 seconds with 13 queries