English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 January 2018, 05:53   #1
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
WinUAE slow to start?

Been awhile since I have explored WinUAE (been playing in Pi-land ) ..

I'm seeing EXTREMELY long WinUAE load up times. Not loading Amiga content - I mean LAUNCHING WinUAE. From the time I double click the icon until I get a WinUAE screen - we're talking 49 seconds(!) ... no hyperbole. I timed it.

This is Windows 10 64-bit.

Has anyone else seen anything like this? All my searching online for a solution deal with CONTENT long load times (adf loading, etc).

Thanks - and sorry if I couldn't find this with a search.
darkuni is offline  
Old 23 January 2018, 08:01   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
Append -log to your short cut icon (or run it from command line with -log parameter), log window opens, note line which is the last line before long delay, attach winuaebootlog.txt and include note which line was last before delay.

Note that first run can be longer due to automatic rom image scanning.

EDIT: Another debug method is to open windows task manager (details), run winuae, wait until nothing seems to happen (boot delay), select winuae.exe in task manager, right click, select create dump file. Attach dump file.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 January 2018 at 12:25.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 January 2018, 13:59   #3
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
Excellent advice! Log attached.

The delay is in:

DirectInput enumeration .. Game controllers..

Thoughts?

I use an Xbox Wireless Elite with the latest Microsoft adapter. I tried removing both - same situation.

Windows 10 thing?
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuaebootlog.zip (58.2 KB, 20 views)
darkuni is offline  
Old 23 January 2018, 14:18   #4
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
I popped WinUAE into my Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit) and Windows 10 (Pro - fresh install - 64bit) virtual machines (just for fun).

Windows 7 runs as expected - like 3-4 seconds launch time.

Windows 10 (VM) - I can't even get it to run. Crashes during start up (I assume something to do with VM - yet Win 7 VM worked fine). I've attached the DMP file for inspection purposes. I did try to run as administrator too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuae_x64_3.6.0_R_2018.01.23_05.15.39.zip (14.2 KB, 18 views)
darkuni is offline  
Old 23 January 2018, 14:42   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
Do you have any other USB devices connected? I remember someone having some weird behavior when some non-game controller USB device was inserted which appeared as normal USB HID device.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 January 2018, 14:51   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkuni View Post
Windows 10 (VM) - I can't even get it to run. Crashes during start up (I assume something to do with VM - yet Win 7 VM worked fine). I've attached the DMP file for inspection purposes. I did try to run as administrator too.
This is known bug, Windows 10 build 10240 (first release) causes crash due to stupid bug in D3D11 check code. Any newer works fine.

I assume 3.5 also has same slowdown?

EDIT: try -nodirectinput command line parameter. It skips DI enumeration. (It is still enabled by default because there are USB to analog joystick adapters that require calibration, USB HID mode does not know nothing about calibration)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 23 January 2018 at 15:30.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 01:12   #7
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
-nodirectinput did the trick. Loads a LOT faster now!

I will try to troubleshoot the offending USB device so I can share the information with others.

Thanks a bunch!
darkuni is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 01:24   #8
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
Gee ... think it could be one of these??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2018-01-23 17_23_52-Device Manager.png
Views:	69
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	56388  
darkuni is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 01:34   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,417
...then disconnect all non-essentials and reconnect one at a time until you figure out which device is giving your grief
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 01:44   #10
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46


I went the DEVICE MANAGER way.

One of the "HID-compliant vendor-defined device" was the culprit - but of course came right back after a scan.

I'll narrow it down until I find it Least I can do.
darkuni is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 02:13   #11
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
Wow, now HERE is a strange find ...

The "culprit" was my Corsair K55 Gaming Keyboard. Once I unplugged it - WinUAE ran faster than EVER.

That's not the odd part.

When I plugged it back in - WinUAE continued to start up quickly/properly.

A HARDWARE SCAN within Device Manager? Brought the issue right back. Nutty.

I don't tend to use "hardware TSR" type tools, so I did not have the Corsair stuff installed.

Leaving no tern unstoned, I figured I'd install the included software; Corsair Utility Engine.

No change. WinUAE still hung during start.

So - no solution, but we have a root cause. At least I can work around it.

Thanks.
darkuni is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 09:24   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,926
Really strange. You can try disabling that device in device manager. It shouldn't cause any problems if it is only related to some extra led lightning stuff etc..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 17:56   #13
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkuni View Post
Wow, now HERE is a strange find ...

The "culprit" was my Corsair K55 Gaming Keyboard. Once I unplugged it - WinUAE ran faster than EVER.

That's not the odd part.

When I plugged it back in - WinUAE continued to start up quickly/properly.

A HARDWARE SCAN within Device Manager? Brought the issue right back. Nutty.
I have the Corsair K70 RGB Rapid fire. But have no issues with it. I also
have it connected to my computer via a USB 3.0 hub. I'm not positive but
could you be having issues with the direct connect to the PC? Maybe try
a HUB and see if that clears it up?

Just some thoughts. I have no clear idea why it's happening.
Saghalie is offline  
Old 24 January 2018, 20:45   #14
darkuni
RetroGaming Radio

darkuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 46
I'll try that. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
I have the Corsair K70 RGB Rapid fire. But have no issues with it. I also
have it connected to my computer via a USB 3.0 hub. I'm not positive but
could you be having issues with the direct connect to the PC? Maybe try
a HUB and see if that clears it up?

Just some thoughts. I have no clear idea why it's happening.
darkuni is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 23:01   #15
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,321
Has this been fixed? -nodirectinput fixes it for me but cannot get it to work on default when I double click on an ADF file in Windows.

EDIT: I got it working when I edit the Command line in FileTypesMan tool to this: "C:\Emulators\WinUAE\winuae.exe" "%1" -nodirectinput

Now it starts up and boots an ADF right away!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 19:07   #16
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 183
This suggests a drive might be corrupted or didn't install correctly. Have you narrowed which USB driver it is? I have a program that runs Task Manager and enables showing which drive is active when a USB device is connected. Makes it really handy for identifying and removed a LOT of searching and checking. I'll attach it if you want to give it a go? Also promise it is viri free.

Sometimes USB devices don't install 100% correctly even though they seem to..I've also encountered this with Windows 10 - (strong dislike towards the interface).

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkuni View Post
Wow, now HERE is a strange find ...

The "culprit" was my Corsair K55 Gaming Keyboard. Once I unplugged it - WinUAE ran faster than EVER.

That's not the odd part.

When I plugged it back in - WinUAE continued to start up quickly/properly.

A HARDWARE SCAN within Device Manager? Brought the issue right back. Nutty.

I don't tend to use "hardware TSR" type tools, so I did not have the Corsair stuff installed.

Leaving no tern unstoned, I figured I'd install the included software; Corsair Utility Engine.

No change. WinUAE still hung during start.

So - no solution, but we have a root cause. At least I can work around it.

Thanks.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow start of FS-UAE neoman support.FS-UAE 2 29 July 2014 11:33
Slow WinUAE Vipered support.WinUAE 3 04 March 2009 17:08
Slow Down Winuae Wish ancalimon request.UAE Wishlist 4 10 February 2009 08:50
WinUAE 1.4 crash on start andyc1864 support.WinUAE 20 26 April 2007 12:25
Help! Why is WinUAE so slow?? The Rose support.WinUAE 13 17 February 2005 15:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09392 seconds with 16 queries