English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 June 2015, 04:51   #1
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
CLI based antivirus that boots from its own floppy? (ADF)

Hi, a user on here sent me a file containing the ebola virus. I've been getting constant program errors and am unable to run or install anything without a "Suspend / Reboot" dialog.

Is there by any chance an antivirus program that will boot on a floppy disk (ADF file that I can copy to a floppy using Amiga Explorer) that will then run from CLI an scan my infected DH0: and DH1:? Anything I run from Workbench ends up crashing the system as the virus doesn't want me to do that.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 01 June 2015, 05:42   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 63
Posts: 3,966
I'm probably the last person you want to get files from but I've made a bootable floppy just for you.

I've already scanned it and it's clean, it's here if you want it.

Last edited by Arnie; 27 June 2015 at 01:09.
Arnie is offline  
Old 01 June 2015, 06:04   #3
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Very kind of you. Nothing to lose now, so I will try it.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 01 June 2015, 07:55   #4
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Hooooo

Well, that found about 20 ebola infected files on both HD partitions and disinfected them. All scans come up clean now. But... the crashing remains. I assume there's nothing else I can do at this stage?

I was holding off restoring the CF card backup because I had no means to test whether the backup actually worked or not onto my Mac. So when I restore the backup, I will wipe the real CF card. If the backup did not work originally, I will be left with no original HD and no backup, hence my ruling out all other options.

And how about the timing of the "ebola" virus coming back to haunt us in 2015...
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 01 June 2015, 08:40   #5
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 63
Posts: 3,966
You could always buy another CF Card and restore your backup to that. Then if your backup doesn't work you still have the original (albeit, non working) CF Card.
Arnie is offline  
Old 01 June 2015, 09:57   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,219
You can also restore the backup into a HDF and test it with UAE. (I suppose that the backup already is a HDF, so just make a copy of it).

While you are at it you could extract single files from the backup and use them to repair your system. Hopefully you still have a list of the infected files, so you can replace them with copies from the backup.

Given that everything started from Workbench crashes, it's probably workbench.library which is compromised.

If you have an accelerator, it could also be that the CPU library is missing (68040.library or 68060.library).

A common reason for crashes on systems without a FPU is a missing math#?.library or the wrong version of it. This can perhaps be fixed by http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/SetPatch_43.6b (install this only if your SetPatch is version 40 or less. Do not replace SetPatch version 44 or higher).
thomas is online now  
Old 02 June 2015, 22:47   #7
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,145
Thanks guys. I'm pleased to report the Mac CF backup process I detailed at http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=78333 had worked and I am now back to my pre-virus HD installation. WHEW!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 11 September 2020, 09:52   #8
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 167
Virus Z is reporting I have Ebola virus in memory. Does anyone have a disk like the one mentioned by Arnie to try and clean up my harddisk? Thanks!
Octopus66 is offline  
Old 11 September 2020, 10:29   #9
Octopus66
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: London
Posts: 167
Think I have a clean partition around actually to fix this.. thanks
Octopus66 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best antivirus AMIGrAve support.Apps 15 05 November 2018 05:43
Antivirus? Mr B support.Apps 4 25 March 2011 17:19
Cyclone 20 - idea for homemade USB-based floppy controller (Catweasel-ish) RichAplin support.Hardware 969 14 May 2010 18:47
McAfee Antivirus - ADF files. Si-Pie support.Other 33 14 September 2008 02:04
antivirus hal Retrogaming General Discussion 3 29 September 2002 18:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07283 seconds with 13 queries