English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2010, 13:43   #1
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Tubular Worlds AGA sound issues with WUAE

Tubular Worlds AGA seems to have some strange sound issues (tested with WUAE 2.0.1 and 2.0.2 beta3 2010.01.10):
1. timing is ok ONLY if you select "Sound emulated 100%"...
2. ...but sound fx (explosions etc.) are strange and it's like they are played at wrong frequency.
hexaae is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:10   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
it works great here..... please tell us how your sound is configurated.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:21   #3
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
it works great here..... please tell us how your sound is configurated.
Pay attention to sound fx (music is ok), they sound "downsampled" to me... is it just my impression?

hexaae is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:26   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
use 22050hz or 44000hz. Use 30% for stereo seperation and no emulated audio filter.
Ah i forgot use directsound

It should behave like a real A1200.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:33   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Think about it: What does sound settings have to do with this if MUSIC sounds fine but SOUND EFFECTS does not..

Perhaps it shounds wrong, perhaps not but this is too difficult to confirm.

EDIT: also 44100Hz suggestion is nowadays bogus, 48000Hz may be sound cards "native" rate..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:39   #6
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
I miss my real A1200.. I can't confirm infact it was the same on the real Amiga...
Toni, WASAPI seems the fastest mode (no sound delay etc.) to me, better than DirectSound. Is it correct?
hexaae is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:43   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
I miss my real A1200.. I can't confirm infact it was the same on the real Amiga...
Toni, WASAPI seems the fastest mode (no sound delay etc.) to me, better than DirectSound. Is it correct?
I am too lazy to load it in to A1200, sorry

Yes, WASAPI usually has lower latency. Basically the only reason why it was added.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:53   #8
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Think about it: What does sound settings have to do with this if MUSIC sounds fine but SOUND EFFECTS does not..
Good point. Maybe I'm just too paranoid
It's the first game I see where sound settings influence timing (try it without Sound 100% accurate)...
hexaae is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 16:56   #9
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
WASAPI sounds better because it's more or less a kernel driver mode, but it's less stable in the long-run, from what I've experienced.
My tweaking options suggestion is different from Dlfrsilver's, yet it might still need a few addtional steps to solve the issue :
Revert to direct sound, don't swap channels, tick automatic switching, increase sound buffer by one unit.
I have written a short yet effective (yeah, I like to congratulate myself sometimes ) tutorial on how to install ASIO4ALL, in case your audio device (chipset ?) can afford it.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 17:02   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Not again....

Lets repeat: How it can be sound driver problem when music and fx play simultaneously and only fx has possibly wrong pitch..

No more offtopic stuff please.

It is either hearing problem or emulation bug (it is AGA after all which means timing is something..)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 17:10   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i have tubular worlds AGA installed on my A1200, and my PC just aside. I can compare anytime i want the sound (music or fx). What i got on my A1200 is what i get when i use winuae on my PC.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 17:23   #12
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
i have tubular worlds AGA installed on my A1200, and my PC just aside. I can compare anytime i want the sound (music or fx). What i got on my A1200 is what i get when i use winuae on my PC.
Well, this should put all doubts to rest.
hexaae is offline  
Old 10 January 2010, 18:25   #13
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
I played the game for a few minutes (ADF, cracked by Classic). As the soundtrack seems to be played at a louder level, I didn't hear much the sfx so I cannot say if they are correct or muffled.
I heard crackles at the very beginning... before the intro.

I know it's irrelevant, but now I remember I grabbed the MS-DOS version instead of the Amiga one for some reason.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 12 January 2010, 22:42   #14
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Very very strange... Today I tried an experiment: I edited the sound file tubenoise.sfx importing it with a higher frequency and the sound effects (it's an 8SVX file format) finally sound as they should!

Please Toni, investigate on the real Amiga because I'm afraid I was right and sounds are played at incorrect speed. Would also help if someone could find the original dumped disks, not these cracked ones...
hexaae is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 05:01   #15
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,730
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
This game has no copy protection. The ADF were made from original disks.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 13:04   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Very very strange... Today I tried an experiment: I edited the sound file tubenoise.sfx importing it with a higher frequency and the sound effects (it's an 8SVX file format) finally sound as they should!
What is correct frequency? and what is (approximately) "wrong" frequency?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 16:24   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
Music + Sound uses different fx frequency values than Sound FX only setting..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 18:59   #18
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
What is correct frequency? and what is (approximately) "wrong" frequency?
Importing them in Audacity as RAW with a freq of 44100 they sound more sensibly IMHO... Instead in the game it seems they are played at a VERY low freq... I may be wrong, it's just an impression but it's strange for me...
Unfortunately I don't have my real A1200 here to test the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Music + Sound uses different fx frequency values than Sound FX only setting..
I can't notice a big difference...

Last edited by hexaae; 13 January 2010 at 19:16.
hexaae is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 19:09   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 24,691
You can't play 44100Hz using Paula, max is about 28KHz.. (at least without doublescan tricks but this game is PAL compatible)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 January 2010, 19:51   #20
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,638
Yes, I know. But it's just an example: even if you import the sound fx file as RAW with 22.1KHz you can hear a big difference....
hexaae is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tubular Worlds ECS + AGA whdload :D dlfrsilver request.Old Rare Games 8 29 December 2009 14:41
CARE Request: Tubular Worlds AGA - CD32 Fix Heavy Stylus project.CARE 6 22 May 2009 12:03
TUBULAR WORLDS ecs [pdy] - no sounds Old Fool support.Games 5 04 April 2007 15:39
Ripping - Tubular Worlds maVado project.Sprites 2 08 August 2005 03:53
Tubular Worlds AGA Frog support.WinUAE 2 18 January 2005 11:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10408 seconds with 15 queries