English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2019, 18:15   #2261
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Bah, seems I didn't name the manual for "Prince of Persia 2" in the same way that I do all other "cheats, hints, level codes, manuals, maps, strategies, tips, walkthroughs" in my collection

Me being a perfectionist and all that; I've updated the archive and re-uploaded yet again...

That should be it though; I hope

See post #2263

Last edited by DamienD; 26 August 2019 at 19:35.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 18:22   #2262
zoodah
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Norfolk, USA
Posts: 65
Playing Mac on Amiga.

I almost feel dirty.
zoodah is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 19:30   #2263
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Having an absolute nightmare with these MAC games...

I just tested the 2 x "SaveStates" for "Prince of Persia" and "Prince of Persia 2".

I made these on an older version of the .HDFs; so this means that "JoyMouse" was enabled along with old movement / button assignments (as I didn't test with my Xbox 360 controllers); so when you load the "SaveStates" they are still there despite using updated .HDFs

Anyway, have now re-created again

So, hopefully for the last time; archive updated and re-uploaded.

Just do the following:
  • Deleted the directory "C:\WinUAE\Games\Prince of Persia 2 MAC".
  • Re-download from here.
  • Extract into "C:\WinUAE".

Last edited by DamienD; 26 August 2019 at 20:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 20:10   #2264
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoodah View Post
Playing Mac on Amiga.

I almost feel dirty.
Emulating an Amiga on a PC; and then inside Amiga emulation, emulating a MAC

Yeah I know, crazy
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 00:36   #2265
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Emulating an Amiga on a PC; and then inside Amiga emulation, emulating a MAC
Yeah I know, crazy
As long as you don't become mad, crazy is OK

By the way, now that you are adding some CD32 & CD games, do you remember my post #1346 ?

Thanks again for your dedication to this Collection Damien !
reInstallDDWC updated


by the way, regarding this post, change has been done.
Also replaced the animated gif. Now contains the full set.

Last edited by malko; 27 August 2019 at 11:01.
malko is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 21:05   #2266
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Yet again thanks to wairnair; here's another MAC game to play on your Amiga

This time it's Alone in the Dark.

I've just created a standalone .HDF by taking files out from his "multi-game" CD32 TF330 image and then slightly modifying for my own needs...



I've kept the button assignments that wairnair set i.e:



The manual has been downloaded / included in the <gamedir>.

So, please just download from here and extract into "C:\WinUAE"
DamienD is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 21:14   #2267
enigma776
Bringer of Death

enigma776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 141
Wasn't sure that was possible, nice never did play the original.

Thanks.
enigma776 is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 22:26   #2268
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
[...] here's another MAC game to play on your Amiga
This time it's Alone in the Dark.
[...]
For sure my netbook won't run it, but anyway : Nice !
It's a game I enjoyed a lot. Did finish the fist three games on PC BitD. I less enjoyed the 2001 sequel (The new nightmare) and thus never played the 2008 game (Near death investigation).
malko is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 23:08   #2269
speshady
Registered User

speshady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: currently in Glasgow, from Derbyshire/England
Age: 46
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Having an absolute nightmare with these MAC games...

I just tested the 2 x "SaveStates" for "Prince of Persia" and "Prince of Persia 2".

I made these on an older version of the .HDFs; so this means that "JoyMouse" was enabled along with old movement / button assignments (as I didn't test with my Xbox 360 controllers); so when you load the "SaveStates" they are still there despite using updated .HDFs

Anyway, have now re-created again

So, hopefully for the last time; archive updated and re-uploaded.

Just do the following:
  • Deleted the directory "C:\WinUAE\Games\Prince of Persia 2 MAC".
  • Re-download from here.
  • Extract into "C:\WinUAE".

Not sure if im doing something wrong but the title/screen shots no longer show for PoP 2.

edit: ^^ ignore that, fixed it.

Last edited by speshady; 27 August 2019 at 23:11. Reason: fixed
speshady is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 23:40   #2270
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
For sure my netbook won't run it, but anyway : Nice !
It's a game I enjoyed a lot. Did finish the fist three games on PC BitD. I less enjoyed the 2001 sequel (The new nightmare) and thus never played the 2008 game (Near death investigation).
Ok, just for you I've modified the .HDF to be like wairnair's original i.e. reduced resolution.

Check your PMs and let me know if that works better for you on your Netbook
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 01:05   #2271
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I've kept the button assignments that wairnair set i.e:

Oh shite... from looking at the manual, there are functions that haven't been assigned to buttons i.e <J>, <Z> and <T>:


Problem is that there's not enough buttons on a CD32 controller
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 01:26   #2272
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Oh shite... from looking at the manual, there are functions that haven't been assigned to buttons i.e <J>, <Z> and <T>:


Problem is that there's not enough buttons on a CD32 controller
can these not be accessed from the menu (like 'use' can be, afaik)?
if not then joypad combinations would be required like e. g. Liberation has.
now there's an example application in the cd32 dev pack with source that does that but a) it has a gui etc, it's not a cmd line tool b) needs an actual coder to modify it

(erm, I only read the short intro doc that tells you the basic controls and got my buttons from there )
wairnair is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 01:50   #2273
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Yeah just played around; "Use" and "Throw" (for items) can be accesses via the "Inventory" and then by highlighting the item.

So, I think I'm going to set these buttons:
  • Red = <O> i.e. "Open/Search mode".
  • Blue = <F> i.e. "Fight mode".
  • Green = <J> i.e. "Jump mode".
  • Yellow = <Z> i.e. "Push mode".
  • Play = <Return> i.e. "Inventory".
These will be left the same:
  • RWD = <Space> i.e. "Open the item / Search" (when in Open/Search mode) or "Attack" (when in Fight mode).
  • FFW = <Shift> i.e "Run".
This way all modes are assigned to coloured buttons... and everything required is accessed from the CD32 controller

Last edited by DamienD; 28 August 2019 at 02:35.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 02:03   #2274
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, just for you I've modified the .HDF to be like wairnair's original i.e. reduced resolution.

Check your PMs and let me know if that works better for you on your Netbook
Thank you Damien.
After trying both, I have to say that there is not a big difference between the two resolution. 320x200 is slightly faster (only slightly) than 640x400.

It's this netbook that is not powerful enough to emulate an AGA Amiga. ECS is well emulated (speed speaking) but not AGA.

Thus the game is not really playable as it is too slow in both resolution.
malko is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 10:04   #2275
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yeah just played around; "Use" and "Throw" (for items) can be accesses via the "Inventory" and then by highlighting the item.

So, I think I'm going to set these buttons:
  • Red = <O> i.e. "Open/Search mode".
  • Blue = <F> i.e. "Fight mode".
  • Green = <J> i.e. "Jump mode".
  • Yellow = <Z> i.e. "Push mode".
  • Play = <Return> i.e. "Inventory".
These will be left the same:
  • RWD = <Space> i.e. "Open the item / Search" (when in Open/Search mode) or "Attack" (when in Fight mode).
  • FFW = <Shift> i.e "Run".
This way all modes are assigned to coloured buttons... and everything required is accessed from the CD32 controller
I'm going to steal these if you don't mind
wairnair is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 10:20   #2276
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Of course, be my guest
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:20   #2277
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Have now updated the CD32 button configuration for Alone in the Dark to use the following:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yeah just played around; "Use" and "Throw" (for items) can be accesses via the "Inventory" and then by highlighting the item.

So, I think I'm going to set these buttons:
  • Red = <O> i.e. "Open/Search mode".
  • Blue = <F> i.e. "Fight mode".
  • Green = <J> i.e. "Jump mode".
  • Yellow = <Z> i.e. "Push mode".
  • Play = <Return> i.e. "Inventory".
These will be left the same:
  • RWD = <Space> i.e. "Open the item / Search" (when in Open/Search mode) or "Attack" (when in Fight mode).
  • FFW = <Shift> i.e "Run".
This way all modes are assigned to coloured buttons... and everything required is accessed from the CD32 controller
So, please just download from here and extract into "C:\WinUAE"
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:26   #2278
enigma776
Bringer of Death

enigma776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 141
Heh from what was originally a part update has now turned into a pain in the arse hasn't it

We do appreciate it DamienD.
enigma776 is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:45   #2279
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma776 View Post
Heh from what was originally a part update has now turned into a pain in the arse hasn't it
Yeah a little bit I guess... but once everything is perfect it then stays forever and I don't need to mess around again
DamienD is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 22:31   #2280
MageMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 90
A little late as life gets busy sometimes.
Thanks for your hard work and recent update!
MageMaster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
Martecx, Pixelfill
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[DamienD] WinUAE v3.2.2 - Games "DAT File" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 29 10 February 2016 01:02
DamienD's SNES DVD... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 282 03 November 2008 10:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14264 seconds with 14 queries