English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2013, 21:44   #1
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 199
QWERTZ keyboard, a way to fix this?

I have a chance to get a hold of a german A500 and A1200 - both of which are with the very weird QWERTZ keyboard layout. I have some spare parts from old scandinavian Amigas - amongst which a QWERTY keyboard available for both, plus kickstart roms.

Will replacing either the keyboards or roms change them to QWERTY?
jizmo is offline  
Old 17 November 2013, 22:01   #2
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,149
You only need to change the keycaps, not the ROM. Get a keycap extraction tool and it should be easy if you have a spare donor keyboard.

Doing it that way, you shouldn't need to open the computer casing.
mark_k is offline  
Old 17 November 2013, 22:28   #3
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 199
That way the keyboard will remain as QWERTZ even though it shows QWERTY. It needs to work as well.

In other words, I need to know if the keyboard layout is stored in the rom file or the keyboard itself.
jizmo is offline  
Old 17 November 2013, 23:04   #4
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,149
No it won't. Only the US keymap is in the Kickstart ROM. All others are loaded from disk using the SetMap command.
mark_k is offline  
Old 17 November 2013, 23:10   #5
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
No it won't. Only the US keymap is in the Kickstart ROM. All others are loaded from disk using the SetMap command.
Oookay, so if the startup sequence is cancelled without SetMap loading, every german Amiga - even the AGA ones - will type Z's as Y's and vice versa.

That's pretty funky
jizmo is offline  
Old 18 November 2013, 00:33   #6
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 3,149
Yep, though it's not as strange/unusual as it sounds; PC keyboards work the same way.
mark_k is offline  
Old 18 November 2013, 02:16   #7
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,086
Best thing to try is change the keyboard since you have a spare available. The keyboards are probably hardwired, so changing the caps won't work.

That's what I know of it, may not be accurate.
Thorham is offline  
Old 18 November 2013, 07:38   #8
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,294
The keyboard layout is not in the ROM or the keyboard, just select the Finnish/Swedish keymap in the preferences and it'll work as such, whether you change keycaps or not.
ajk is offline  
Old 18 November 2013, 08:32   #9
jizmo
Registered Abuser

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia / Spain
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
The keyboard layout is not in the ROM or the keyboard, just select the Finnish/Swedish keymap in the preferences and it'll work as such, whether you change keycaps or not.
Yeah, I've known that's the case for scandinavian Amigas with ä,ö and å:s, but always thought the german ones were hardwired to qwertz.

Good to know, thanks everyone.
jizmo is offline  
Old 21 November 2013, 15:12   #10
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,442
I personally would not bother risking damage to the keyboard by swapping the keys, just leave them as they are. It's not like you need to look at the keyboard to know which key does what.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 09:50   #11
Turran
Moderator

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 1,120
I usually just switch the Z and Y keys. The tilting of the keys are a bit off but who cares...

Edit: Rather, >I< dont care =)
Turran is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 19:27   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,524
I'd be so distracted by the incorrect angle of the keycaps that I'd swap them right back.

Who cares what it says on the keycaps as long as the number of keys matches what keymap you're running in the OS.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 November 2013, 20:01   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Agreed with Jope. I never paid attention.
My first computers were all QWERTZ. The C128 had no "mapping" so it worked as an american one (unless I pressed that special key in C128 mode) and the Amiga was always mapped to an american keyboard. I just don't look at it, I KNOW where the Y and Z should be. I would also feel very distracted by the slant difference!!

To this day, no matter what computer it is on, I follow the same rules, and never look at where the keys are, and if I look at it and I see a Z, I still press it thinking a Y will come out
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB- A600 Keyboard Membrane Or Full Keyboard! hansel75 MarketPlace 1 02 November 2012 07:51
Wanted: Amiga 600 keyboard membrane (Blue) or full keyboard assembly RetromanIE MarketPlace 8 19 August 2012 15:48
I need a Fix! kipper2k support.Apps 3 08 September 2009 18:54
using any Amiga keyboard with an A1000's keyboard socket boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 03 January 2007 03:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07935 seconds with 13 queries