English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Old Rare Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2016, 00:31   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Super Bubble Remix v1.3 - "HD install" --> "ADFs"

Hello there guys,

My ultimate WinUAE collection is getting close to be completion (famous last words): http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80841

As some of you might have read on EAB; I only really use .ADF / .IPF files and haven't really delved into the world of hard drives / WHDLoad as yet...

Getting to the point, there are quite a few games that require hard drive installation and are not possible to run from .ADF / .IPF files that I would really love to be able to play

With some recently acquired new Amiga skills I thought I'd try to create an .ADF / .ADFs of some smallish "hard drive install" games...

So; I recently added "Bubble Ghost" & "Bubble +" to my collection and noticed that there was a cool shareware version "Super Bubble Remix": http://hol.abime.net/5570

I couldn't find the game anywhere so searched EAB and found these 2 old threads:

a) http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63494
b) http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=35847

Anyway; I've now successfully created a working .ADF of "Super Bubble Remix v1.3"

I've posted the .ADF in The Zone! for anyone who would like

Note: the game is supposed to be ECS / OCS but when loading / starting the game it says that it requires a 68020 CPU (and won't run with a 68000 CPU).

Also you use an AGA configuration it suffers from "lines" missing from text just like "Renegades Deluxe". See this post:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...8&postcount=38

Given all of the above; in WinUAE use a Quickstart "A600 - 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration" but change the CPU to "68020"
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 02:58   #2
butfluffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: In the Hills
Posts: 341
Thanks Damien. More goodies
butfluffy is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 12:43   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by butfluffy View Post
Thanks Damien. More goodies
No problem; it's fun trying to get these "hard drive install" games working from .ADFs

I have created a few other ones too but unfortunately as they are "APC & TCP" titles I won't be able to post here

... Gunbee F-99: The Kidnapping of Lady Akiko (well, really Arnie did this one)
... Marblelous II [ECS]
... Marblelous II [AGA]

I know for most of you that use HDFs / WHDLoad these are probably pointless... For me though (and hopefully anyone else who doesn't use HDFs) I think it's quite cool to be able to just insert an .ADF and go

Anyway; watch this space as I will hopefully be creating more over time
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 18:04   #4
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
As some of you might have read on EAB; I only really use .ADF / .IPF files and haven't really delved into the world of hard drives / WHDLoad as yet...

Getting to the point, there are quite a few games that require hard drive installation and are not possible to run from .ADF / .IPF files that I would really love to be able to play
Then fix yourself a hard drive. It costs you no money at all and less work than posting about ADFs here.
idrougge is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 18:09   #5
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Then fix yourself a hard drive. It costs you no money at all and less work than posting about ADFs here.
Yeah, I'll get around to installing Workbench etc. onto a HDF someday...
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 20:10   #6
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,191
Tried it on UAE as A1200 + 4 Meg = OK

Unexpanded = No Go
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Super Bubble Remix v1_003.png
Views:	139
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	48157   Click image for larger version

Name:	Super Bubble Remix v1_006.png
Views:	143
Size:	17.0 KB
ID:	48158  
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 10 April 2016, 22:31   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobby_UK View Post
Tried it on UAE as A1200 + 4 Meg = OK

Unexpanded = No Go
Ooops, sorry been working on something else...

Yup; use either one of the following configurations in WinUAE:

a) Quickstart "A600 - 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration" but change the CPU to "68020" (as mentioned above).

or

b) Quickstart "A1200 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration".

You have to remember that these games are supposed by "HD install" only... I just wanted to come up with a way to run from .ADF

...but due to only the way I could achieve this i.e. install to HD / LZX up files / created .ADF and then when running the game (extract the LZX file to RAM); it needs a bit of RAM.

Last edited by DamienD; 10 April 2016 at 22:37.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 15:50   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Note: the game is supposed to be ECS / OCS but when loading / starting the game it says that it requires a 68020 CPU (and won't run with a 68000 CPU).

Also you use an AGA configuration it suffers from "lines" missing from text just like "Renegades Deluxe". See this post:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...8&postcount=38

Given all of the above; in WinUAE use a Quickstart "A600 - 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration" but change the CPU to "68020"
Correction on this...

You can use a Quickstart "A1200 4MB Fast RAM expanded configuration" but only with "KS ROM v3.0 (A1200)" and not "KS ROM v3.1 (A1200)" otherwise the above will occur.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 19:10   #9
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,902
Hmm. strange. It works for me with A1200 default, kick3.1, 4mb fast. Maybe it's the kickstart images.
Arnie is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 19:21   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Hmm. strange. It works for me with A1200 default, kick3.1, 4mb fast. Maybe it's the kickstart images.
Game will work with KS 3.1 (A1200); it's just that the text is slightly cut off / funny on the following screen:

KS ROM v3.0 (A1200)



KS ROM v3.1 (A1200)


Last edited by DamienD; 15 April 2016 at 11:33.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 April 2016, 19:33   #11
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,902
Ah, i see. I never really took much notice. The writings too small for my "Mr Mgoo" eyes to see anyway.
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Non-cracked ADFs of Super Street Fighter II: The New Challengers AGA antonvaltaz request.Old Rare Games 15 26 August 2012 08:13
EAB/Lemon Super League 2012: Round 7 - Bubble Bobble Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 43 17 June 2012 02:06
Super Bubble Remix v1.2 Foul HOL contributions 5 15 March 2012 02:51
Last Ninja Remix fully 100% working crack adfs/ disks macce2 request.Old Rare Games 30 12 April 2010 23:44
Super Bubble Remix Old Fool request.Old Rare Games 2 05 April 2008 16:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08055 seconds with 16 queries