English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.TOSEC (amiga only)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 March 2011, 22:59   #281
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sektor 83 View Post
Is that right? First time doing this, y'see!
Much better
TCD is offline  
Old 09 March 2011, 19:27   #282
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GER
Posts: 4,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sektor 83 View Post


TOSEC/Diskmags/G

Grapevine - Issue 19 (1994-04-12)(LSD)(Disk 1 of 3) - crc: 7BA17A22
-> Grapevine - Issue 19 (1994-04-12)(LSD)(Disk 1 of 3)[v Eleni]

TOSEC/Compilations/Applications

ACU Compact Disk 05 (19xx)(ACU) - crc: 98E4E89D
-> ACU Compact Disk 05 (19xx)(ACU)[v CList]

Tribe Utilities 05 (19xx)(Tribe) - crc: DC07FA31
-> Tribe Utilities 05 (19xx)(Tribe)[v CCCP]
Member "Crashdisk" has reportrd this viruses already, see post:
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=228
Its fixed in current WIP, thanks anyway.
mai is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 06:47   #283
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
Some extended information regarding the Embryo ADFs (the "Disk 1"s anyway)...

There are two known revisions of the game, 196 and 197. The following ADFs below seem to vary with these two. They are also cracked differently from one another.

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX].adf c4305162
Revision 197, cracktro, all patch code in executable, but gurus upon pressing Return on the manual protection screen due to a bad BRA setting in said code.

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][a].adf 87e9526e
Revision 196, no cracktro, patch code divided between executable and seperate patch file, both protection and checksum cracked so game starts okay.

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][a2].adf 029fa494
Revision 196, no cracktro, patch file, exe matches that of [a].

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][a3].adf e9ec57ff
Revision 197, cracktro, exe matches that of the first one (including the BRA cockup, so this also gurus).

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][a4].adf bf9975c5
This is actually another copy of the ATX trained disk, so should at least have "[t +2 ATX]" in the name. Aside from that:
Revision 196, cracktro, patch file, exe matches that of [a]. Only problem with loading both a cracktro and a trainer is that they both eat up enough memory on a 512k/512k/AR3 setup for the game to complain of not finding enough spare memory (after the company logos) and will quit out upon pressing LMB.

Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][t +2 ATX].adf
Revision 196, no cracktro but the ATX trainer loads instead, patch file, exe matches that of [a]. Looking at the contents of this disk suggests that this uses files from Prodigy's crack fix for the Paradox release (presumably they must have noticed the typo in the code also =P), which must explain the "doit" file I've come across previously. So while they fudged up the German crack they also managed to correct PDX's own little gaffe!


Another interesting note: with all the r196 disks, you have to fill the code space in full on the protection screen before the Return/Enter key will do anything, whereas with the r197 disks you can press Return/Enter at any time (after the scrolling has finished) to trigger the rest of the code.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 10:18   #284
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
MethodGit, you are using an old TOSEC release, the [cr SR] bit is already added, try to update your TOSEC collection.
For example :

Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][a4].adf bf9975c5
This is actually another copy of the ATX trained disk, so should at least have "[t +2 ATX]" in the name. Aside from that:
Revision 196, cracktro, patch file, exe matches that of [a]. Only problem with loading both a cracktro and a trainer is that they both eat up enough memory on a 512k/512k/AR3 setup for the game to complain of not finding enough spare memory (after the company logos) and will quit out upon pressing LMB.
is already 'Embryo (1994)(Black Legend)(M3)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr PDX][f crack PDY][t +2 ATX]' in the latest DAT.
TCD is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:03   #285
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
I can only get by what's currently available at eab.whdownload.com. Having already spent an epic age downloading the last major collection, I'm not really in a rush to do the same for another update so soon. Perhaps if someone were to mirror the latest TOSEC collection file-by-file (if they had the resources of course), I wouldn't be so desperately out-of-date with my findings. =P
MethodGit is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:13   #286
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
I can only get by what's currently available at eab.whdownload.com.
You could at least rename the ones you have with the DATs form the TOSEC page. You can even just download the DATs and check the CRC32 in a text viewer/editor before reporting. So many options not to make useless posts
TCD is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:23   #287
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GER
Posts: 4,893
@MethodGit:
Dont understand me wrong, i like your investigations, but as TCD wrote, you wasting your time, if you post corrections, which are already done in last TOSEC release.
It is required, that you first update your TOSEC collection.
mai is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:23   #288
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,890
Methodgit that is the lamest excuse ever.

Man up you Wuss
BippyM is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:38   #289
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
So how much of a hammering has your ratio taken grabbing the TOSEC set on UG, bippy?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:42   #290
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
So how much of a hammering has your ratio taken grabbing the TOSEC set on UG, bippy?
It hasn't. I don't us ug. I use pleasuredome if a need to and all my sets are torrentzipped. This means I will only Dl what I need and even so I can upload at 500kb/s so errr it isn't an issue.

And finally if you update using the dats and you won't post wrong information.
BippyM is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:45   #291
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 35
Posts: 2,731
I could DAT-update the set, sure, but wouldn't I still be without any new ADFs that may have been added to the set since then?

Anyhow, looking inside the latest Amiga TOSEC DAT, I can see many of the things I mentioned have been acknowledged in the new filenames, with the exception of one thing: the revision numbers. Surely that's still worth taking into account?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 21:48   #292
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MethodGit View Post
I could DAT-update the set, sure, but wouldn't I still be without any new ADFs that may have been added to the set since then?
No, fairies will sprinkle some dust on your HDD and the files will be created
TCD is offline  
Old 13 March 2011, 22:01   #293
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,890
Does it matter if you don't have the missing files. If they are missing you won't be renaming them again which is th3 whole point isn't it.
BippyM is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 19:11   #294
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GER
Posts: 4,893
Can anyone tell me, what "BAM-copy" means, for example in set:
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 3 of 3)[m BAM-copy]
??
mai is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 19:34   #295
PandMonium
Registered User
PandMonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 408
good question! I have the same doubts, i thought it could be a scene group but i excluded that option:

Quote:
"BAM-copy" used in:
Tactical Manager (1994)(Black Legend)(Disk 1 of 2)[cr ATX][m BAM-copy]
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 2 of 3)[m BAM-copy]
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 2 of 3)[m BAM-copy][a]
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 3 of 3)[m BAM-copy].
Its not a group or scener. Its a [m] descriptor.
I have this note, don't know who checked to see if it was a scene group. Hope someone can solve this so i can save the information
PandMonium is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 19:50   #296
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GER
Posts: 4,893
I suppose its any type of copy method.
mai is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 20:37   #297
PandMonium
Registered User
PandMonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portugal
Posts: 408
Maybe it is "BAMCOPY" / "BAMCOPY+". One of 4 different copy methods of a tool named XCopy, at least according to this: http://amiga-manuals.xiik.net/applic...Manual-ENG.pdf
PandMonium is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 20:53   #298
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GER
Posts: 4,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by PandMonium View Post
Maybe it is "BAMCOPY" / "BAMCOPY+". One of 4 different copy methods of a tool named XCopy, at least according to this: http://amiga-manuals.xiik.net/applic...Manual-ENG.pdf
Yes, (but i have no clue, how to investigate it)for me is the question, if there is any reason to call it "modified".
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 3 of 3)[m BAM-copy]
for example is
original disk 3 of "SR" release.
mai is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 21:02   #299
Crashdisk
Moderator

Crashdisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,316
may be [a BAM-copy] is better. The problem is that outside the areas of data used by original disk, the data are random!
Faster but not a really good copy...
Crashdisk is offline  
Old 16 March 2011, 21:52   #300
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Can anyone tell me, what "BAM-copy" means, for example in set:
A-10 Tank Killer v1.5 (1991)(Dynamix)(Disk 3 of 3)[m BAM-copy]
??
BAM = B.lock A.llocation M.ap, BAM-Copy simply copies only allocated blocks and skips the rest which means less time is needed to copy a disk.
StingRay is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TOSEC Amiga Correction Help!!! mai project.TOSEC (amiga only) 78 26 March 2012 15:42
Old TOSEC Amiga Correction Thread [idoru] project.TOSEC (amiga only) 668 24 March 2009 13:17
tosec.amiga.me (Your New TOSEC Source) is open! Magix News 31 19 March 2009 19:03
HUE correction [was colour correction] Marcuz request.UAE Wishlist 6 17 September 2008 23:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12031 seconds with 14 queries