English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2008, 14:44   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
NEC 421000-80 help please, Google useless!

Hi all,

I have been searching with Google for about 2 hours now and all I find are REALLY SUSPICIOUS websites trying to sell me this stuff, but no specs...specs is what I need though!

After a client at work gave me some old PCs I came across this SIMM stick populated with 32 of the above-mentioned chips.

I want to figure out what capacity they are (to determine the memory capacity of the entire stick) so I can figure out if it's worth ordering a vertical SIMM slot for my soon-to-arrive Blizzard!

Soooo.........any chance one of you knows anything at all about these chips?

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 14:49   #2
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 324
Hi Fingerlickin,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Hi all,

Soooo.........any chance one of you knows anything at all about these chips?

PZ.
Here u go:

http://www.alldatasheet.com/datashee...421000-80.html

Cheers,
Red
RedskullDC is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 14:54   #3
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Thanks Red, I really do appreciate the help...BUT...I've tried loading the page 3 times now and it keeps making my browser (Safari) close "unexpectedly"

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 15:01   #4
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
Thanks Red, I really do appreciate the help...BUT...I've tried loading the page 3 times now and it keeps making my browser (Safari) close "unexpectedly"

PZ.
No probs,

Copy of the datasheet in the zone for you.

Red
RedskullDC is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 15:04   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,524
1M x 1(1M) according to http://jope.fi/conversionchart.htm
Jope is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 15:04   #6
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedskullDC View Post
No probs,

Copy of the datasheet in the zone for you.

Red
How cool is that?!?!

Thanks heaps man!

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 15:09   #7
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Thanks to you too Jope!

Thanks to both of you...now I know it's a 32mb stick...not bad for free

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 15:24   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,234
Using NEC 421000-80 chips (1Mx1) you would require 256 chips to make 32 Megabytes.

Your SIMM has 32 so it is 4 Megabytes.

(32 * 1 Megabit / 8-bits per byte = 4 Megabytes)

A 4 MiB SIMM with 32-chips?!?

Bin it!

Last edited by alexh; 21 July 2008 at 15:33.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 16:18   #9
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Using NEC 421000-80 chips (1Mx1) you would require 256 chips to make 32 Megabytes.

Your SIMM has 32 so it is 4 Megabytes.

(32 * 1 Megabit / 8-bits per byte = 4 Megabytes)

A 4 MiB SIMM with 32-chips?!?

Bin it!
Guess I missed something there (megabits vs megabytes? not sure, I'm a techo retard ).

If working I'll still keep it though...no working SIMM stick will ever see the bin at my place!

PZ.

Last edited by Fingerlickin_B; 21 July 2008 at 16:25.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 17:09   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,524
1 byte = 8 bits.

Memory chip sizes are always reported in bits. So 1Mx1 means 1Mbit of RAM.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google ads in HOL? Predseda HOL news 7 23 August 2013 04:34
Setting up Yam with Google mail onkelarie support.Apps 5 25 April 2010 14:49
Google Map of Amiga owners peo News 42 13 August 2009 21:26
EAB & Google Groups? alexh project.EAB 17 23 April 2009 22:26
Google newspaper Dizzy Nostalgia & memories 5 10 October 2008 14:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07787 seconds with 15 queries