English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 August 2004, 01:04   #1
Ashakura
 
Posts: n/a
Mega-lo-Mania odd problem

Heya,

Recently tried WinUAE, and absolutely loved being able to play old calssics again. But i have a real problem with getting mega-lo-mania to run properly. it's all fine, right up to the points where I run out of elements.

I can see the disk indicator in the bottom right trying to read the disk, and it reads a couple of sectors, thenjumps from 40-something to 82...IIRC, sector 82 doesn't exist!

The game can't continue after that as the any disk access is locked as the game is still trying to load the speech file "You're running out of elements"

As it is near impossible to play the game without running out of elements, i've tried various configs to fix it, but with no luck. Multiple versions of MLM don't work either.

I really don't want to have to af my own copy, not least because the floppy drive conversion is beyond my technical skills.

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated,
Thanks
 
Old 27 August 2004, 02:18   #2
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
-Your adf might be faulty, try to find another.
-Setting floppy drive emulation speed to 100% might help.
-You might try the whdload version, it'll surely fix any problem.
-Remember, this game didn't work on a 500+ or 1200 (correct me if I'm wrong) so configure the emulator with this in mind or use the A500 quickstart setting.

That's all I can think of.
 
Old 27 August 2004, 03:12   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burseg
Remember, this game didn't work on a 500+ or 1200 (correct me if I'm wrong)
Right.
Amiga 500 with 0,5 Chip, and 0,5 Slow (Fast?) ONLY
But with some tricks with kickemu (...or something... you know a 1.3 rom emulator, quite popular in those days) i remember playin' it at my a600. But still it didn't work on a1200.
Shoonay is offline  
Old 27 August 2004, 04:46   #4
Adeptus
epun umop ap!sdn
Adeptus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 285
HD version is on AIAB if you can't find it.

(BTW, Burseg, love your new avatar! )
Adeptus is offline  
Old 05 September 2004, 21:06   #5
AGN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashakura
I can see the disk indicator in the bottom right trying to read the disk, and it reads a couple of sectors, thenjumps from 40-something to 82...IIRC, sector 82 doesn't exist!

The game can't continue after that as the any disk access is locked as the game is still trying to load the speech file "You're running out of elements"
Second floppy of ADF version is broken, try this one:

name: Mega-lo-Mania (1991)(ImageWorks)[cr FLT][a](Disk 2 of 2).adf
md5: 2beaa47fab05a3c1e3b258d99190cc8b

or better CAPS version (if You already have origianl floppies).

Regards
AGN is offline  
Old 05 September 2004, 21:23   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burseg
-Remember, this game didn't work on a 500+ or 1200 (correct me if I'm wrong).
Wrong

It ran just fine on my A600. And I'm talking about an original copy, not a pirate one.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 September 2004, 00:37   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I fully believe this.
Some so-called "crackers" solely used their standard A500s for building and testing the cracks, no matter what systems the original was compatible to.
No wonder that the additional compatibility given on the original version (i. e. here for the 600) usually went down the drain after that "procedure".
andreas is offline  
Old 06 September 2004, 02:05   #8
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,437
This used to happen at random with my copy. It wasn't common, but it happened more than enough for me to notice, and I am pretty sure it was a troubled disk.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 06 September 2004, 03:17   #9
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
I fully believe this.
Some so-called "crackers" solely used their standard A500s for building and testing the cracks, no matter what systems the original was compatible to.
No wonder that the additional compatibility given on the original version (i. e. here for the 600) usually went down the drain after that "procedure".
Indeed

I got fucking TIRED back then of copying games that were supposed to run in my A600 but in the end they didn't because the cracking process fucked the compatibility up
Akira is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mega lo mania 2 :) BippyM project.aGTW 17 23 December 2015 13:05
Mega lo Mania help dug26 request.Old Rare Games 1 07 August 2010 02:00
Mega Lo Mania Editor Hungry Horace Retrogaming General Discussion 10 06 July 2009 23:10
Mega-lo-Mania WHDload wakeupbomb request.Old Rare Games 2 24 May 2003 15:46
Mega Lo Mania Excelle support.WinUAE 4 17 May 2002 04:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06997 seconds with 13 queries