English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2004, 16:21   #1
Jon-Vortexone
 
Posts: n/a
Odd Hardrive problem

I've been trying to upgrade the HD in my 1200 all morning with little success. I'm replacing an old Areal 65 meg HD with a Toshiba MK1403MAX 1.3 gig.

The problem is that workbench doesn't seem to want to recognise it even though everything seems fine in HDToolbox (I'm 99.9% sure that the jumpers are fine, too).

In HDToolbox, it'll recognise the drive parameters when defining a new drive type. Once defined, it'll happily verify data and find no bad blocks.

However, when I try to partition it and reboot, no icon for it appears on the workbench.

Having never actually set a HD up in an amiga before, it's possibly something I'm doing wrong.
 
Old 08 March 2004, 07:57   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,533
Re: Odd Hardrive problem

Quote:
Originally posted by Jon-Vortexone

However, when I try to partition it and reboot, no icon for it appears on the workbench.

Having never actually set a HD up in an amiga before, it's possibly something I'm doing wrong.
So, what filesystem did you use?
Is it correctly selected for the partition?
Is it installed into the RDB?
Is the mount-checkbox turned on for the partition?
Jope is online now  
Old 08 March 2004, 11:23   #3
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,352
Sounds like you haven't actually partitioned it. When you go on the partition screen for the drive, is the long bar black?
Enverex is offline  
Old 08 March 2004, 16:06   #4
Jon-Vortexone
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for replying.

Well, I'm starting to think it's a problem with the drive itself, it either being knackered or coming from a laptop with hard-drive protection turned on.

Here's what I do when I try to partition it:

Boot from the WB30 install disk and run HDToolbox. I then define the drive, letting it autodetect the HD parameters (which it does correctly). Then, I go to the partition screen. By default it shows two ~600 meg partitions, the first labelled TDH0, the second TDH1. Both Fast File System, TDH0 marked as bootable. Both selected to automount.

I resize the partitions so that TDH0 is around 200 megs, with TDH1 taking up the rest of the drive. I press 'save changes to drive', then reboot.

When I reboot, the no icons for the HD partitions appear on the workbench. Also, when HDtoolbox is opened the partition screen shows the default suggested partitioning scheme of two equal size partitions.

Also, when I hold down the mouse buttons during the boot sequence, the drive does not appear in the boot options menu.

It seem that although the drive will respond to low-level requests (giving it's parameters to software, verifying the HD for bad-blocks) it flatly refuses to do any normal read/write requests (it's a similar situation when I mount it in a PC - the bios can autodetect the drive, it appears in the disk-management tool in Windows Xp, but nothing can either format or partition the disk).

So, which is more likely: A) The drive is knackered, or B) The drive has come from a protected laptop, so the drive is refusing read/write requests unless it receieves the password from the laptop it came from?
 
Old 08 March 2004, 16:28   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,938
I'd makesure that the jumpers are 100% correct.

Rename the partions DH0: or HD0: (These are the most common) but it isn't necessary..

When you reboot goto a shel and type Format DH0:

If it asks for DH0: then the drive might just be knackered!
BippyM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hardrive problem penfold_t_mole support.Hardware 8 19 March 2010 23:15
Odd freezing problem jaycee support.WinUAE 7 18 July 2009 00:23
Really odd problem with A1000... Paul_s support.Hardware 11 21 July 2008 20:11
4000D Hardrive boot problem THX1138 support.Hardware 4 24 December 2005 01:12
future hardrive problem? dwood support.Hardware 3 17 November 2004 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07962 seconds with 13 queries