English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 December 2017, 14:52   #1
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun
 
Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 41
Posts: 3,450
Smooth Scroll and Sprite Channel 7

I am doing some tests here....

Whenever I set my screen (using initcoplist) to use Smooth Scrolling, I can't get sprite channel 7 to show.

Is there anyway to do it? From what I understand, when a sprite doesn't show up is because there's no more DMA time left for it. I didn't know smooth scrolling would affect that though. I've read something about shrinking the display width a little bit to use less DMA, but I have no idea of how any of this works.

Is there anything that can be done?
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 15 December 2017, 16:05   #2
Raislin77it
Zone Friend
 
Raislin77it's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: italy
Age: 46
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I am doing some tests here....

Whenever I set my screen (using initcoplist) to use Smooth Scrolling, I can't get sprite channel 7 to show.

Is there anyway to do it? From what I understand, when a sprite doesn't show up is because there's no more DMA time left for it. I didn't know smooth scrolling would affect that though. I've read something about shrinking the display width a little bit to use less DMA, but I have no idea of how any of this works.

Is there anything that can be done?

Quote:
from the manual :

SmoothScrolling
By setting the smooth scrolling flag the extended form of DisplayBitmap may be used which allows the bitmap to be displayed at any offset. This enables the programmer to scroll the portion of the bitmap being displayed. See BlitzMode programming chapter for an explanation of hardware scrolling.

Notes:

* Always use the extended form of DisplayBitmap with smoothscrolling set, even when offset is 0,0.

* DisplayBitmap accepts quick types for the x offset and will position the
bitmap in fractions of pixels on AGA machines.

* The width of the display will be less than the default 320/640/1280 when smooth scrolling is enabled.
yes, reduce the display


Quote:
DisplayAdjust CopList#,fetchwid,dUfstrt,dUfstop,diwstrt,diwstop 127
Temporary control of display registers until I get the width adjust parameter working
with InitCopList. Currently only standard width displays are available but you can modify the width manually (just stick a screwdriver in the back of your 1084) or with some knowledge of Commodores AGA circuitry. No to be quite serious I really do not have a clue how they cludeged up the Amiga chip set. When ECS was introduced suddenly all display fetching moved to the right. Now they seem to have done the same to sprites so it is near impossible to have them all going without limiting yourself
to a seriously thin display.
If you hack around with the system copperlists you'll find they actually change fetch modes as you scroll a viewport across the display and commodore say you should not use sprites anyway so as to be compatible with their new hardw are which is rumoured to run WindowsNT, yipeee. By then we will be hopefully shipping the Jaguar lib for Blitz.
there is some example in one of the bum's
Raislin77it is offline  
Old 27 December 2017, 01:31   #3
earok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 3,542
I think you can get away with nudging the display a little to the right (though maybe this'll put it in the overscan area? Not totally sure)

Statement ResizeWidth{clist.l,amount.l,xadjust.l}

diwstrt.l = xadjust*8
diwstop.l = diwstrt + amount*8

dUfstrt.l = Int(diwstrt/2)
dUfstop.l = Int(diwstop/2)

DisplayAdjust clist,amount,dUfstrt,dUfstop,diwstrt,diwstop

End Statement

Try something like ResizeWidth{copperlistid,0,2}.
earok is offline  
Old 21 November 2023, 08:32   #4
carrion
Registered User
 
carrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Warsaw area
Posts: 152
Gents
Sorry for digging out old thread but I've encountered the related issue.
In my case I only scroll up and down and I want to use DisplayBitmap for this. Scrolling up and down IMO doesn't need setting up scroll for side scroll.
When I setup InitCopList with $15 (I have 5 bitplanes) id shrinks the screen on sides.
My question is there a trick to scroll up/down without setting up copper list with scrolling param $15?
carrion is offline  
Old 21 December 2023, 13:20   #5
carrion
Registered User
 
carrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Warsaw area
Posts: 152
Bump.
My goal is to have scrolled up/down bitmap and 7 or even eight sprites.

So let me rephrase the question:
Is there a way to scroll a bitmap up and down without using DisplayBitmap or without setting the scroll bit in InitCopList?

Maybe changing the pointer of the bitmap? But I don't know where and how to do it.
carrion is offline  
Old 22 December 2023, 23:40   #6
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,604
Vertical scrolling only shouldn't affect the visible width of display, and therefore not the number of usable sprites, unless the width is overscan. Even in the case of only vertical scrolling, you must put a scroll value of 0 for both playfields. It may be wrongly initialized by some other code or Copper list, like the Workbench or the previous program you ran.

This is from the HW, I don't know if languages coerce a software scrolling flag into 8-way or no way.

From reading the thread it looks like you can control the HW registers, so it should definitely be possible.

It's only horizontal scrolling that removes a sprite on OCS/ECS (and potentially more on AGA depending on FMODE).
Photon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smooth Scroll Text KS1.3 Octopus66 support.WinUAE 2 01 July 2017 23:54
Sprite Channel Question LuMan Coders. Blitz Basic 2 17 March 2016 16:51
Scroll with the mouse? BarrySWE support.Apps 14 29 May 2012 22:16
help me smooth scroll rusty71 support.WinUAE 7 21 November 2011 15:36
Scroll not totally smooth with sound on of FullScreen: known problem? Gaula92 support.WinUAE 21 08 May 2009 16:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:03.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07038 seconds with 13 queries